Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: avast anti virus

  1. #1
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 32 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    190
    Reputation
    314

    Default avast anti virus

    Hi I am trying to get to mygov australia but my avast keeps blocking me , threat secured , url phissing ,,, is it just me or has the government site been hacked thanks for any info



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19,384
    Thanks
    6,968
    Thanked 14,389 Times in 6,533 Posts
    Rep Power
    5318
    Reputation
    224916

    Default

    The website is working OK for me.

    Perhaps your AV is just blocking it because the page is asking for login details.

    Ensure you have the correct URL... Google mygov and you should get the correct URL: which takes you to the login page.
    Please consider Premium Membership. Without Premium Member contributions Austech cannot operate.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    wotnot (01-08-22)

  • #3
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 32 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    190
    Reputation
    314

    Default

    thanks for the info , but its still doing it so I will delete avast and see if I can log in to mygov

  • #4
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    2,473
    Thanks
    1,132
    Thanked 2,228 Times in 1,174 Posts
    Rep Power
    1007
    Reputation
    44570

    Default

    The website is working OK for me.
    +1

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    30

    Default Avast blocking MyGov

    Quote Originally Posted by wazza811 View Post
    Hi I am trying to get to mygov australia but my avast keeps blocking me , threat secured , url phissing ,,, is it just me or has the government site been hacked thanks for any info
    I have the same problem trying to login to MyGov from my PC. No problem logging in from my iPhone. Did it work when you deleted Avast? I tried entering my.gov.au as an exception in Avast which gets me a little further but blocks after logging in!

  • #6
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    2,473
    Thanks
    1,132
    Thanked 2,228 Times in 1,174 Posts
    Rep Power
    1007
    Reputation
    44570

    Default

    FTR....I'm running debian linux + firefox-esr + uBO adblock (uBlock_Origin)...no 'anti-virus' software of course =)

    It works fine here, however I do note this ;



    I'd suspect they might be doing a parallel website upgrade ; there's every chance the site's cookie data may have changed.

    If that were so, it'd be worthwhile clearing your web-broswer's cache/cookies for the mygov website, and trying again --- it would be useful if someone so effected might try this, and report back as to whether or not such fixes the issue =)
    Last edited by wotnot; 01-08-22 at 05:58 PM.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to wotnot For This Useful Post:

    epaclm (01-08-22),Tiny (02-08-22)

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    30

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wotnot View Post
    FTR....I'm running debian linux + firefox-esr + uBO adblock (uBlock_Origin)...no 'anti-virus' software of course =)

    I works fine here, however I do note this ;



    I'd suspect they might be doing a parallel website upgrade ; there's every chance the site's cookie data may have changed.

    If that were so, it'd be worthwhile clearing your web-broswer's cache/cookies for the mygov website, and trying again --- it would be useful if someone so effected might try this, and report back as to whether or not such fixes the issue =)
    I cleared cache/cookies and the login now works, Thank you!

  • The Following User Says Thank You to epaclm For This Useful Post:

    wotnot (01-08-22)

  • #8
    Senior Member
    Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Commonly found in a pantry or the bottom of a fridge, searching for grains, fermented or distilled
    Posts
    6,125
    Thanks
    2,181
    Thanked 4,210 Times in 2,405 Posts
    Rep Power
    1935
    Reputation
    77698

    Default

    I make it a rule to use only a specific browser for all money/business/government activity.
    I use always updated Firefox set up to 'never remember history' which turns it into permanently private mode.
    So while I am using it, cookies are stored and referrals read by the website it is being used for and when I am finished I close that browser before I use it again.
    If I want to do do banking and trading at the same time I open a second private window.

    I keep a completely different browser (Epic with proxy) always open with hundreds of tabs for general and browsing.

    And a different browser, Vivaldi for online shopping (Ebay) which I also keep open all the time and allow fingerprinting so I am deliberately identified so I don't have to constantly log in the whole time.
    I am an arrogant, irritating RSole.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Uncle Fester For This Useful Post:

    enf (02-08-22)

  • #9
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    68
    Posts
    16,723
    Thanks
    15,738
    Thanked 31,400 Times in 8,244 Posts
    Rep Power
    12199
    Reputation
    573209

    Default

    +1

    I have a browser exclusively for all matters to do with money and privacy. MyGov included. No history, no passwords.
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.

  • #10
    Senior Member
    Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Commonly found in a pantry or the bottom of a fridge, searching for grains, fermented or distilled
    Posts
    6,125
    Thanks
    2,181
    Thanked 4,210 Times in 2,405 Posts
    Rep Power
    1935
    Reputation
    77698

    Default

    I got around to doing my tax return today, was procrastinating but for the sake of this thread I wanted to see what was going on.

    my.gov asked if I wanted to try their beta and I clicked don't bother me again and stayed old school.
    Everything went super easy, despite a message on top saying my browser(Firefox) was not compatible. That was on the linked through ATO site though.

    I hope their change 'for the sake of changing things' doesn't become a problem when they decide to make it permanent.
    Last edited by Uncle Fester; 02-08-22 at 11:22 PM.
    I am an arrogant, irritating RSole.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Uncle Fester For This Useful Post:

    Al Bundy (04-08-22),enf (03-08-22)

  • #11
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    68
    Posts
    16,723
    Thanks
    15,738
    Thanked 31,400 Times in 8,244 Posts
    Rep Power
    12199
    Reputation
    573209

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Uncle Fester View Post
    ............................

    I hope their change 'for the sake of changing things' doesn't become a problem when they decide to make it permanent.
    Ummmm, based on years of Govt IT experience.......it probably will but they'll make it permanent anyway....
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to enf For This Useful Post:

    Al Bundy (04-08-22)

  • #12
    Premium Member
    Al Bundy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Tazzie
    Posts
    4,053
    Thanks
    1,795
    Thanked 4,558 Times in 1,679 Posts
    Rep Power
    1916
    Reputation
    80150

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Uncle Fester View Post
    I got around to doing my tax return today, was procrastinating but for the sake of this thread I wanted to see what was going on.

    my.gov asked if I wanted to try their beta and I clicked don't bother me again and stayed old school.
    Everything went super easy, despite a message on top saying my browser(Firefox) was not compatible. That was on the linked through ATO site though.

    I hope their change 'for the sake of changing things' doesn't become a problem when they decide to make it permanent.
    Quote Originally Posted by enf View Post
    Ummmm, based on years of Govt IT experience.......it probably will but they'll make it permanent anyway....
    I wonder if this is all just leading in to our Proxy Australia Card, without the card, just digital. I think I already know the answer to that one, its taken 36 years but its almost here...

    Cheers
    Ted (Al)

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Al Bundy For This Useful Post:

    wotnot (05-08-22)

  • #13
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    2,473
    Thanks
    1,132
    Thanked 2,228 Times in 1,174 Posts
    Rep Power
    1007
    Reputation
    44570

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Al Bundy View Post
    I wonder if this is all just leading in to our Proxy Australia Card, without the card, just digital. I think I already know the answer to that one, its taken 36 years but its almost here...


    They no longer need it -- they can just ask google B)

  • The Following User Says Thank You to wotnot For This Useful Post:

    Al Bundy (05-08-22)

  • #14
    Premium Member
    Al Bundy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Tazzie
    Posts
    4,053
    Thanks
    1,795
    Thanked 4,558 Times in 1,679 Posts
    Rep Power
    1916
    Reputation
    80150

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wotnot View Post
    They no longer need it -- they can just ask google B)
    lol, yes
    Cheers
    Ted (Al)

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Al Bundy For This Useful Post:

    wotnot (05-08-22)

  • #15
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 32 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    190
    Reputation
    314

    Default

    I made an exception and it works now , very easy in the end , thanks for all the info everyone

  • The Following User Says Thank You to wazza811 For This Useful Post:

    Al Bundy (05-08-22)

  • #16
    Premium Member
    Al Bundy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Tazzie
    Posts
    4,053
    Thanks
    1,795
    Thanked 4,558 Times in 1,679 Posts
    Rep Power
    1916
    Reputation
    80150

    Default

    Sorry to take it off topic wazza
    Cheers
    Ted (Al)

  • #17
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    2,473
    Thanks
    1,132
    Thanked 2,228 Times in 1,174 Posts
    Rep Power
    1007
    Reputation
    44570

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wazza811 View Post
    I made an exception and it works now , very easy in the end , thanks for all the info everyone
    I'm no fan of putting in domain-name exceptions into something like an anti-virus (or many other) software programs ~ in essence, what you're instructing said software program with, is that you totally trust that domain-name will never serve malicious content to your computer, and that there's no chance at all, ever, that said domain-name/site will ever be 'spoofed', and that equally there's no chance at all the website of that domain-name will ever get hacked itself and end up serving you malicious content.

    This is particularly so with business/corporate computing environments ~ you see on the news of one or another computer system being hacked, and that how all that website's clients/customers go on to hacked as well (ransomware typically) --- you would (*not* =) be surprised to find how many business/corporate LANs all have reliance on some external/3rdparty website for operations, and every single computer is running anti-virus software...that has an exception for aforesaid external/3rdparty websites...which get hacked --- I know, I've been there in times past in audit and mopping up =)

    The elephant in the room of course....and I thank 'epaclm' for putting my hypothesis to the test.... is that you didn't need an exception ...<grin>... I never use the stuff myself, but understand how so called anti-virus softwares work, so when I saw mygov were shilling their new beta website...to -me-, it's like "I'll bet you avast is having a hissyfit about cookie session ids when the landing page proffers a login alternate...you'd have to change cookie data to pull that off anyway server end, so the browser's probably stuck with invalid/stale cookies"....from a netops view it's a pita when ecommerce websites do this, when you've got 2 different sites as it were, accessing/changing the same database, with pay portals weaved inbetween...just 'yuk'....it causes shit like this to happen, frigging ebay do it all the time with minor site updates.

    IMHO though, I'd remove the exception (so avast can keep doing it's job), and clear your browser cache/cookies for mygov

    This is not me wearing a tinfoil hat nor being unjustifiably paranoid, it's just a technical reality coupled with a healthy respect for Murphy's Law ~ if ever anyone effectively spoofs mygov, or mygov itself is somehow compromised and starts delivering malicious content, you're probably gunna be screwed B^)

    I would temper that with the following thought ; if there is another world war, the internet will most definitely be one of the battlegrounds....

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •