Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Frustrating problem Blaupunkt Bpsb21dw

  1. #1
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    344
    Thanks
    320
    Thanked 112 Times in 66 Posts
    Rep Power
    190
    Reputation
    1980

    Default Frustrating problem Blaupunkt Bpsb21dw

    Good morning everyone, compliments of the season to you all
    I purchased a little blaupunkt 2.1 soundbar for my wife to go on our foxtel box and sanyo tv, the tv is quiet old

    Soundbar had aux in, optical in and hdmi arc

    I thought my best bet was to by an active hdmi splitter and run 1 cable to tv and other to soundbar
    No audio when hdmi input selected, nothing direct from hdmi out on foxtel iq4 to soundbar
    Offto jbhifi and purchased toslink optical cable, we get audio but itís really crappy background crackle

    Wheni checked Bluetooth with my iphone the sound from the soundbar is really quite good

    So firstly it does show itís a hdmi arc input, should it work directly from the hdmi out on the foxtel box or is it completely different?

    Secondly, the optical out port on the iq4 didnít have any dummy cover plug, itís a good few years old, could it be dirty and thus cause the crackling

    Or

    Is my $16 cable from jb hifi the issue ?

    I have nothing else to test the sound bar in optical mode to rule out the cable but it was brand new

    Thank you in advance from someone needing help

    Mike



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19,534
    Thanks
    7,118
    Thanked 14,568 Times in 6,601 Posts
    Rep Power
    5400
    Reputation
    228496

    Default

    A direct HDMI ARC connection from the iQ box to the soundbar should work.

    You need to ensure your HDMI cable is ARC compliant.

    Any cable from V1.4 upward should work.

    An HDMI splitter would need to be ARC compliant.
    Please consider Premium Membership. Without Premium Member contributions Austech cannot operate.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    wotnot (26-12-22)

  • #3
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    2,767
    Thanks
    1,346
    Thanked 2,537 Times in 1,309 Posts
    Rep Power
    1147
    Reputation
    50750

    Default

    Weird one ... blaupunkt don't actually state which HDMI standard they're using. and at the same time foxtel iq4 states it only supports HDMI 2.0 ports (HDCP2.2).

    As 'HDMI/ARC' appeared as of HDMI v1.4, it'd be nice to know what the soundbar is using (and if it doesn't support HDCP2.2 then it's likely have problems with protected content) --- as you mention iq4 - direct to soundbar not working, that asides the HDMI splitter from the scenario.

    There are 2 types of HDMI cable....okay, reneg...make that 3 types if you include cheap chinese made crap...<grin>....but typically they're either standard(cat 1) or high speed(cat2)....ie; there's really no difference between a HDMI 1.4 & HDMI 2.0 cables.... a standard(cat 1) HDMI 2.0 cable doesn't have bandwidth enough to do 4K 60 FPS signal....and a high speed(cat2) HDMI 1.4 cable does... HDMI cables can come with/without ethernet connectivity ..

    Toslink is digital ...it's shouldn't crackle like audio signals used to sound (loose speaker wire syndrome), however toslink is limited in bandwidth () so I'm not sure how the DACs in the soundbar would behave if say the iq4 was throwing dts or dolby encodings at it.

    What model sanyo teevee is it out of curiosity?

    I grew up knowing Blaupunkt as an awesome German brand of audio equipment.... 'After the 2011 take-over, became a managed brand name with all production outsourced to China' ....now it's just rebranded 'junk' by comparison =)

  • #4
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    344
    Thanks
    320
    Thanked 112 Times in 66 Posts
    Rep Power
    190
    Reputation
    1980

    Default

    Found a dvd layer with optical out, plugged in the soundbar and away it went.
    Put the toslink back into foxtel box and it was happy. Stuffed if I know what was the issue but itís now happy

    I have learnt a lot about hdmi from what mtv and wotnot posted,thank you for that.

    This site is so worth it, thanks
    Mike

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •