Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Intelsat 19

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Lightbulb Intelsat 19

    I am a new member of this forum and looking for an advise for why I do not receive good signal from INTELSAT 19 satellite.
    The fact that even I was not able to locate it properly ?

    Histo
    ry:
    For many years I was able to receive very good TV stream on the OPTUS D2 satellite, which I have located and tuned on.
    Now the TV channel owner/company decided to leave OPTUS D2 and join to INTELSAT 19 satellite.

    My receiver system comprise the following parts:


    1. Diameter 800 mm AZURE Dish
    2. SRT-4950E STRONG Decoder
    3. Universal LNB for Ku-Band
    4. RG6 Coax Cable, about 6 metres from the roof to the wall socket


    As I mentioned this setup was working very well on the OPTUS D2/152deg.E.

    My location is PERTH/Beechboro, so I have realigned the Dish as INTELSAT 19 recommended it to:
    • 166deg.E.; Elevation: 25.5deg./Azimuth: 65.2deg. LNB Skew : -49.9deg. ?

    (interesting that Dishpointer.com has slightly different setup suggestion, but LNB Skew: +51.0deg. ?)
    On the above listed setup parameters I was not able to receive any useful signals.
    I have the SF-99 Satellite finder, Freq.: 0.95-2.15 GHz, Power: 13-18V DC, did not show signal.

    On the SRT4950E decoder/TV display I have seen max 67-70% signal, however with 0% quality
    and no any TV or Radio channel was detected, no matter how fine I tried to tune the direction of the Dish
    and the LNB Skew. I have a clear view to the direction of the Satellite, no any obstruct in the line ?
    Please give some advise about the matter and many thanks in advance for the help.

    Kind Regards
    BOTOND



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19,629
    Thanks
    7,168
    Thanked 14,658 Times in 6,634 Posts
    Rep Power
    5443
    Reputation
    230296

    Default

    If you have good signal strength but poor signal quality, that usually suggests your LNB SKEW is wrong.

    Dishpointer etc alignment figures are only approximate and you need to make very small adjustments whilst watching levels on a meter/decoder.

    What transponder settings are you using on your meter and decoder?

    Which specific transponder/service are you trying to receive?
    Please consider Premium Membership. Without Premium Member contributions Austech cannot operate.

  • #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Lightbulb Intelsat 19

    Dear MTV Administrator,

    Many thanks for your immediate reply!
    I have made attempt to tune on the INTELSAT 19 Ku-Band 12726/H/28066 3/4 FTA channels, (Duna World)
    The SRT-4950E did the auto scan, while I tried the manual scan as well, without any result.
    I suspected the LNB to be faulty, but was not dare to declare it to myself.

    Kind Regards
    BOTOND



  • #4
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19,629
    Thanks
    7,168
    Thanked 14,658 Times in 6,634 Posts
    Rep Power
    5443
    Reputation
    230296

    Default

    You said your LNB was working OK on D2.

    Looking at your IS19 elevation of 25.5deg, that's quite low.

    Are you sure you have a clear path from your dish to the satellite... no obstructions?
    Please consider Premium Membership. Without Premium Member contributions Austech cannot operate.

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BOTOND View Post
    I am a new member of this forum and looking for an advise for why I do not receive good signal from INTELSAT 19 satellite.
    The fact that even I was not able to locate it properly ?

    Histo
    ry:
    For many years I was able to receive very good TV stream on the OPTUS D2 satellite, which I have located and tuned on.
    Now the TV channel owner/company decided to leave OPTUS D2 and join to INTELSAT 19 satellite.

    My receiver system comprise the following parts:


    1. Diameter 800 mm AZURE Dish
    2. SRT-4950E STRONG Decoder
    3. Universal LNB for Ku-Band
    4. RG6 Coax Cable, about 6 metres from the roof to the wall socket


    As I mentioned this setup was working very well on the OPTUS D2/152deg.E.

    My location is PERTH/Beechboro, so I have realigned the Dish as INTELSAT 19 recommended it to:
    • 166deg.E.; Elevation: 25.5deg./Azimuth: 65.2deg. LNB Skew : -49.9deg. ?

    (interesting that Dishpointer.com has slightly different setup suggestion, but LNB Skew: +51.0deg. ?)
    On the above listed setup parameters I was not able to receive any useful signals.
    I have the SF-99 Satellite finder, Freq.: 0.95-2.15 GHz, Power: 13-18V DC, did not show signal.

    On the SRT4950E decoder/TV display I have seen max 67-70% signal, however with 0% quality
    and no any TV or Radio channel was detected, no matter how fine I tried to tune the direction of the Dish
    and the LNB Skew. I have an view to the direction of the Satellite, no any obstruct in the line ?
    Please give some advise about the matter and many thanks in advance for the help.

    Kind Regards
    BOTOND
    Hello Botond, welcome to the forum! I'm sorry to hear that you're having trouble with INTELSAT 19.

    So one thing to consider is the condition of your coaxial cable. Over time, cables can become damaged or degraded, which can affect the quality of the signal. Make sure your coaxial cable is in good condition and properly connected to your receiver*

    Another thing I suggest checking is the alignment of your dish. Even small deviations from the correct alignment can cause a significant reduction in signal quality. You can use a more precise method for aligning your dish, such as using a digital satellite signal meter.

    Finally, it's worth noting that the INTELSAT 19 satellite operates on a different frequency band than the OPTUS D2 satellite. It's possible that your LNB may not be optimized for the Ku-band frequencies used by the INTELSAT 19 satellite, that's all. I would purchase a dedicated LNB designed specifically for Ku-band reception.

    Even if these points don't help you, it will mean you need a specialist(

  • #6
    Senior Member
    B52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    774
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 364 Times in 206 Posts
    Rep Power
    340
    Reputation
    6356

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BOTOND View Post
    [SIZE=3][FONT=times new roman]advise for why I do not receive good signal from INTELSAT 19 satellite. BOTOND
    Step 1. If you are located in the southeast adjust the LNB orientation about 70 counter clock wise, Looking at the LNB using a clock dial for reference, for optimum D2 signal the F Connectors would be facing 7:30. Rotate the lnb so it is pointing to 4:30
    Step 2. Manually tune in to your receiver any the Intelsat Horizontal Ku band transponders.
    Step 3. Drop the elevation slightly about 2, slowly move the dish east (clock wise) about 5 whilst moving the dish monitor the signal quality bar on the box, you should get some signal then tweak azimuth and elevation for best signal.
    Remember that as you start panning to the est you'll see strong signal from Optus D3/10 and further east you'll run into Optus D1 before reaching Intelsat 19.

    Hope this helps
    Last edited by B52; 25-03-23 at 10:46 PM.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •