Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: lenovo Ideapad screen part fail?

  1. #1
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    64
    Posts
    6,429
    Thanks
    11,025
    Thanked 5,462 Times in 2,668 Posts
    Rep Power
    2169
    Reputation
    89577

    Default lenovo Ideapad screen part fail?

    I suspect this is the beginning of the end?
    Laptop is 7 years old. Just happened on boot today & nothing tried will reset it..

    Sorry it doesn't come out in screen pics. It's a foreground tear in the screen.
    Last edited by Tiny; 29-05-23 at 07:44 PM.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    3,359
    Thanks
    1,497
    Thanked 3,070 Times in 1,573 Posts
    Rep Power
    1413
    Reputation
    62269

    Default

    Can't diagnose what I can't see sorry ....could be display, display logic board, or connectors/cable between mainboard/display.

    No model number (can't search model failure history)..... you've given us nothing to work with here B^)

  • #3
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    64
    Posts
    6,429
    Thanks
    11,025
    Thanked 5,462 Times in 2,668 Posts
    Rep Power
    2169
    Reputation
    89577

    Default

    Sorry about that, had a brain fart & forgot that i could just take a pic with my phone.
    Ok model is Lenovo Ideapad 300-15ISk

    I think new screen would be doable like this one
    Edit: Actually that looks like just cover & bezel. This one is screen.


    How hard to replace without breaking the bezel & lid?

    This is what it looks like & if touched in the area it sends out more vertical lines.

    Last edited by Tiny; 30-05-23 at 09:41 AM.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • #4
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    64
    Posts
    6,429
    Thanks
    11,025
    Thanked 5,462 Times in 2,668 Posts
    Rep Power
    2169
    Reputation
    89577

    Default

    Looks pretty easy actually.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • #5
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    10,683
    Thanks
    11,933
    Thanked 7,115 Times in 3,371 Posts
    Rep Power
    3181
    Reputation
    133672

    Default

    Given the age of the laptop, is it worth spending the money on it? You can plug in an external monitor if you only use it at home on the desk. I've not purchased a new laptop in over 10 years. I either purchase ex-govt at auction or I "inherit" one from a son. My current lappy is/was worth spending some money on as it is a Toshiba P70A i7 with 16Gb of Ram. I put new drives in it (because I had them) and they can be re-purposed if the machine goes west and I put a new battery in it. If anything major goes wrong, I'll just pull the drives and pension it off.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following User Says Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (30-05-23)

  • #6
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    3,359
    Thanks
    1,497
    Thanked 3,070 Times in 1,573 Posts
    Rep Power
    1413
    Reputation
    62269

    Default

    Yeah, cracked display (impact damage) ~ display panel needs replacing

    As lsemmens points out, this is a cost effectiveness exercise ~ as you've seen, they're not all that difficult to fit.

    At $67+ postage it's probably worth replacing ; at $115 + postage you have to consider if it'd be better to put that money towards a new machine.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to wotnot For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (30-05-23)

  • #7
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    64
    Posts
    6,429
    Thanks
    11,025
    Thanked 5,462 Times in 2,668 Posts
    Rep Power
    2169
    Reputation
    89577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wotnot View Post
    Yeah, cracked display (impact damage) ~ display panel needs replacing

    As lsemmens points out, this is a cost effectiveness exercise ~ as you've seen, they're not all that difficult to fit.

    At $67+ postage it's probably worth replacing ; at $115 + postage you have to consider if it'd be better to put that money towards a new machine.
    $67 is only replacement lid & bezels, no screen.

    I ordered the $115/postage included one.
    I figure it's still worth fixing, It's already got 4GB RAM, 64bit W10 & Intel Core i7, as I only put a 1TB Samsung SSD in it a couple of years ago & it does everything I need.
    It also has my licensed accounting program on it, which still has 3 years left on the license & I'd have to pay $180 per year to replace & a couple of licenced video editing progs.

    It would be different if I had to pay someone the 5mins it should take to replace the screen. lol.
    Last edited by Tiny; 30-05-23 at 02:48 PM.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Tiny For This Useful Post:

    wotnot (30-05-23)

  • #8
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    387
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 81 Times in 44 Posts
    Rep Power
    79
    Reputation
    1630

    Default

    Probably a ribbon fail or cracked display. My solution is get a decent but economical HD display and use the HDMI on monitor #2
    I will be dumping my Lenovo when I get my HP Z workstation up and running.
    The Lenovo is fine, just too small and no horsepower.

  • #9
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    64
    Posts
    6,429
    Thanks
    11,025
    Thanked 5,462 Times in 2,668 Posts
    Rep Power
    2169
    Reputation
    89577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hunchback Tech View Post
    Probably a ribbon fail or cracked display. My solution is get a decent but economical HD display and use the HDMI on monitor #2
    I will be dumping my Lenovo when I get my HP Z workstation up and running.
    The Lenovo is fine, just too small and no horsepower.
    Already replaced as above with screen I ordered.
    Too easy to replace, & if I took your advice I'd just have a laptop that I'd have to cart a screen around for it.

    It's my portable, I already have a dedicated PC with large screen.

    What I did discover was it was my fault, as I had a habit of grabbing the lid/screen in that area to turn the lappy to show my wife something. It cracked the screen.
    Solution: Screen replaced & my bad habit removed.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2023
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Yep, screen is faulty. You hit it accidentally

    Assuming you know what you are doing, remove the screen and look at the label at the back. Then order one from eBay based on that number (will be cheaper than trying to find a screen by model number).

    Rudolf

  • #11
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    19,961
    Thanks
    7,544
    Thanked 15,112 Times in 6,779 Posts
    Rep Power
    5670
    Reputation
    240225

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rudolfl View Post
    Yep, screen is faulty. You hit it accidentally

    Assuming you know what you are doing, remove the screen and look at the label at the back. Then order one from eBay based on that number (will be cheaper than trying to find a screen by model number).

    Rudolf
    Pointless responding, as the OP has already fixed it.

    "Solution: Screen replaced"

    Thread closed.
    Please consider Premium Membership. Without Premium Member contributions Austech cannot operate.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (13-12-23)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •