Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Remote monitoring

  1. #1
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    10,683
    Thanks
    11,933
    Thanked 7,115 Times in 3,371 Posts
    Rep Power
    3181
    Reputation
    133672

    Default Remote monitoring

    I'm still away from home but son called in the other day and found that the power to my rumpus room was off. I suspect we had a power flick and the breaker tripped. Anyway that meant all the meat in my freezer was also off. (Insurance covered that). I got me thinking, can any of you suggest a device that can alert me if the power goes off and stays off. Normally my security would do that but the rumpus room is on a separate circuit which means that security comes back on when power is restored to the house, but not the rumpus room.

    I just need something to advise me if the power has not been restored to the rumpus room when the rest of the power is back up.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    3,359
    Thanks
    1,497
    Thanked 3,070 Times in 1,573 Posts
    Rep Power
    1413
    Reputation
    62269

    Default

    ?

  • #3
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    10,683
    Thanks
    11,933
    Thanked 7,115 Times in 3,371 Posts
    Rep Power
    3181
    Reputation
    133672

    Default

    Thanks for that, I've looked at that one and it is a subscription based service i.e. a monthly fee for monitoring. It's good at what it does but a little over the top for my needs
    All I really need is something that (ideally) can connect via wifi (if the power in the house is also off, I'd know anyway) and/or set off an alarm/light inside the house. Many I looked at are battery backed and set off an audible alarm on the device. However, that is not going to work if the device is in a separate building. I suspect that I am going to have to build something simple myself when I get home.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #4
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    3,359
    Thanks
    1,497
    Thanked 3,070 Times in 1,573 Posts
    Rep Power
    1413
    Reputation
    62269

    Default

    Ahh...didn't appreciate what you were after =) A simple circuit would do then (easypeasy) ...if you wanted to get clever, an UPS unit =)

  • #5
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    10,683
    Thanks
    11,933
    Thanked 7,115 Times in 3,371 Posts
    Rep Power
    3181
    Reputation
    133672

    Default

    Ill Probably just Get a relay and latch it on so that once it releases it won't re-energise without manual intervention. A simple enough circuit, I was hoping that something like that was already being marketed.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #6
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    3,359
    Thanks
    1,497
    Thanked 3,070 Times in 1,573 Posts
    Rep Power
    1413
    Reputation
    62269

    Default


  • #7
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    60
    Posts
    6,385
    Thanks
    267
    Thanked 4,604 Times in 1,952 Posts
    Rep Power
    1826
    Reputation
    70688

    Default

    just go to bunnings and buy a cheap grid connect plug in switch.

    set the app to notify you if it goes offline.

    Last edited by hoe; 19-07-23 at 02:51 PM.

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    shred (19-07-23),Softek2 (21-07-23),VroomVroom (20-07-23)

  • #8
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    10,683
    Thanks
    11,933
    Thanked 7,115 Times in 3,371 Posts
    Rep Power
    3181
    Reputation
    133672

    Default

    That project, wotnot is almost exactly what I have designed in my mind to implement when I get home, two more weeks in Godzone, then back to the ice and snow "down south". The problem with the power monitor, Hoe, is that it requires power to work, if the power goes off, so does that. If the power goes off and comes back on again, I don't care! It's when it goes off ans STAYS off is where I have the problem.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #9
    Senior Member
    Reschs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Outside a few schooners
    Posts
    3,103
    Thanks
    925
    Thanked 2,186 Times in 1,078 Posts
    Rep Power
    952
    Reputation
    34018

    Default

    Just put a relay on your freezer and connect to your alarm system.
    In a power failure to that circuit, the alarm will notify you.
    If power returns the alarm zone will then reset.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Reschs For This Useful Post:

    Softek2 (25-07-23)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •