Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: HP Elite x2 1012 g1 - tablet

  1. #1
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    10,653
    Thanks
    11,919
    Thanked 7,098 Times in 3,361 Posts
    Rep Power
    3173
    Reputation
    133332

    Default HP Elite x2 1012 g1 - tablet

    I just picked up one cheap at auction and, as there was no charger with it and it charges via USB-c I thought it would charge up via a normal phone charger. It appears that I am wrong. Upon research some USB chargers actually put out 12v, 15v, 20v and more. What I am uncertain of is, what happens if I attempt to use one of these Hi-voltage chargers to charge my phone? Yes I have got an HP charger on order.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,508
    Thanks
    246
    Thanked 990 Times in 465 Posts
    Rep Power
    1191
    Reputation
    40447

    Default

    dedicated usb " C " chargers are multi voltage capable unlike your standard usb charger
    .With the usb "c " ones The item asks for x and the chargers only allows that they also
    have different amps through them unlike standard usb
    Last edited by fandtm666; 02-09-23 at 11:39 AM.
    dont say linux if i wanted it id install it

  • #3
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    10,653
    Thanks
    11,919
    Thanked 7,098 Times in 3,361 Posts
    Rep Power
    3173
    Reputation
    133332

    Default

    SO they are "intelligent" ? Only supplying that which the device requires?
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #4
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    3,338
    Thanks
    1,495
    Thanked 3,049 Times in 1,565 Posts
    Rep Power
    1403
    Reputation
    61849

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lsemmens View Post
    SO they are "intelligent" ? Only supplying that which the device requires?
    They supply what the device asks for

  • #5
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    10,653
    Thanks
    11,919
    Thanked 7,098 Times in 3,361 Posts
    Rep Power
    3173
    Reputation
    133332

    Default

    Finally got around to trying to pull it apart in anticipation of the arrival on my new M.2 drive for this beast! Aaaaarggggggh! Frustrated, to say the least, the service manual mentions a P0 and P1 philips screwdriver as "special tools. so, the first thing I need? Torx screwdrivers, No mention of needing those in the service manual. Yes, I do possess some, just NOT that small! Off for a ride to Jaycar in the morning!. According to the manual I have only to remove 8 screws across the back and the screen should just "pop" off. (despite not having the correct bit, I managed to remove said screws but, although I can loosen the screen it seems to be held in place by the "prop" which, according to the service manual should not be holding it. (Sadly, one torx screw on that is not about to come loose, so I shall have to get a propper screwdriver to remove it.

    ANYWAY? Has anyone experience in removing the screen on these things. What am I missing?
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #6
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    3,338
    Thanks
    1,495
    Thanked 3,049 Times in 1,565 Posts
    Rep Power
    1403
    Reputation
    61849

    Default

    Search youtube for 'HP Elite x2 1012 g1 teardown'

  • #7
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    10,653
    Thanks
    11,919
    Thanked 7,098 Times in 3,361 Posts
    Rep Power
    3173
    Reputation
    133332

    Default

    Already have done, that, wotnot, is where I got the service manual from. According to the videos it should just pop off, however it sticks at the same point on both sides. I shall have to risk brute force and ignorance I think
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #8
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    10,653
    Thanks
    11,919
    Thanked 7,098 Times in 3,361 Posts
    Rep Power
    3173
    Reputation
    133332

    Default

    Yeah, brute force and ignorance has won the day. New battery installed, just waiting on HDD to arrive. It shows as being with the courier to deliver and he usually turns up here around now.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #9
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    3,338
    Thanks
    1,495
    Thanked 3,049 Times in 1,565 Posts
    Rep Power
    1403
    Reputation
    61849

    Default

    ...I wouldn't get by without these essentials.... spudger & pry ...


  • #10
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    10,653
    Thanks
    11,919
    Thanked 7,098 Times in 3,361 Posts
    Rep Power
    3173
    Reputation
    133332

    Default

    Aaaaargh! New drive arrived and installed. Now the machine will not boot from the installation medium. It does boot from Tails, just not Linux mint. More investigation required!
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •