Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Ness PIR red light constantly on

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2023
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Ness PIR red light constantly on

    Howdy.

    I have a Ness D8x alarm system, with 3 PIRs. The keypad was showing low battery icon which at times will go away by itself.
    I replaced the battery and the low battery icon doesn't show anymore.
    But now, one of the PIR is constantly red (as if its activated) and the keypad shows the number for zone that has the constantly lit PIR.
    I can arm the alarm but the siren chrips and asks me to exclude that zone.

    Please help.
    Is there anything I can do to fix this PIR?



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    19,779
    Thanks
    7,301
    Thanked 14,866 Times in 6,711 Posts
    Rep Power
    5542
    Reputation
    234456

    Default

    Possibly something on the sensor (spiders, insects etc) or the sensor is faulty.
    Please consider Premium Membership. Without Premium Member contributions Austech cannot operate.

  • #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2023
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Thanks @mtv.

    Do PIRs have a tamper switch as well? (I know the Ness Panel has it but not sure about PIR itself).
    I had opened the PIR cover to check if there was any insects inside last week.
    Just opened it again. I can see there is a "Tamper N/C" written on the board and there is a black push button switch beside it as well for LED On.

    Do I need to press something to clear tamper if I open up the PIR case?
    Not sure how to upload a photo here otherwise I could have added the photo of the opened PIR.
    Thank you.

  • #4
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    19,779
    Thanks
    7,301
    Thanked 14,866 Times in 6,711 Posts
    Rep Power
    5542
    Reputation
    234456

    Default

    To post photos:

    Upload to then post the link here.

    Most PIR's have a tamper switch, which if triggered with activate the alarm.

    Once the tamper switch is reset, you would need to clear the alarm.
    Please consider Premium Membership. Without Premium Member contributions Austech cannot operate.

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2023
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Here is the photo. I have drawn red arrows on the top of the case, showing the LED push button switch (plunger switch) and the blue cable going to the "Tamper N/C".



    Last edited by doogie; 12-11-23 at 12:26 PM.

  • #6
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    19,779
    Thanks
    7,301
    Thanked 14,866 Times in 6,711 Posts
    Rep Power
    5542
    Reputation
    234456

    Default

    The tamper switch (push button) isn't connected.

    The terminal block is just being used for convenience to join the EOL resistor into the line.

    If you move the white wire to the resistor that will bypass the PIR in the circuit.

    If the alarm clears, then the PIR is faulty. If it doesn't clear, you have a cabling/connection issue somewhere.
    Please consider Premium Membership. Without Premium Member contributions Austech cannot operate.

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2023
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Thanks @mtv.

    The alarm cleared (didn't show the zone with the PIR that is constantly lit) when I connected the white wire to the resistor.

    Can I buy these PIRs myself or do I need to go via an installer? Unfortunately, all installers charge a service fee upwards of $200, which makes it quite expensive.

  • #8
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    19,779
    Thanks
    7,301
    Thanked 14,866 Times in 6,711 Posts
    Rep Power
    5542
    Reputation
    234456

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by doogie View Post
    Can I buy these PIRs myself or do I need to go via an installer?
    Anyone can purchase them.
    Please consider Premium Membership. Without Premium Member contributions Austech cannot operate.

  • #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2023
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Any recommendations on where I can buy it? I called Ness last week and they said I can only buy it from the installer.
    I tried Bunnings but they donít have it.

  • #10
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    19,779
    Thanks
    7,301
    Thanked 14,866 Times in 6,711 Posts
    Rep Power
    5542
    Reputation
    234456

    Default

    Amazon, Ebay, electrical/electronics/security supplies, Jaycar, Altronics, etc... Google
    Please consider Premium Membership. Without Premium Member contributions Austech cannot operate.

  • #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2023
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Thank you 👍

  • #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 58 Times in 55 Posts
    Rep Power
    183
    Reputation
    604

    Default

    The PIR was made in 2003, so it is 20 years old. Probably wise to now replace all of your PIRs, not just this one. You don't have to use Ness PIRs - any brand will work. I personally recommend Bosch.

  • #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2023
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Hi @alarmman.
    Curious - how did you find out that my PIR was made in 2003?
    Thank you.

  • #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 58 Times in 55 Posts
    Rep Power
    183
    Reputation
    604

    Default

    The photo you posted shows the code 1303 in the bottom right corner. This most likely means Week 13, Year 03. This code is often used to date when items are made.

  • #15
    Senior Member
    Reschs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Outside a few schooners
    Posts
    3,058
    Thanks
    892
    Thanked 2,127 Times in 1,045 Posts
    Rep Power
    920
    Reputation
    32838

    Default

    Before you rush of and buy one, disconnect the positive wire.
    The light should go out.
    Give the relay a few taps with your screwdriver and then reconnect the positive.
    If all well you can just return to normal. Common problem.
    If not replace.

  • Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •