Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Picking a new laptop with thunderbolt 4

  1. #1
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    346
    Thanks
    333
    Thanked 113 Times in 67 Posts
    Rep Power
    206
    Reputation
    2000

    Default Picking a new laptop with thunderbolt 4

    Good afternoon on a cracking Melbourne day
    I need a new laptop and I need to run the local screen plus two (2) additional touchscreens externally

    The 2 external touchscreen’s just need to be 1920x1080 fhd

    If i get a good quality docking station with 2 hdmi and 2 usb and that docking station connects with thunderbolt 4 protocol do I necessarily need to get a super high spec gaming machine for the graphic/screen processing for the 2 external touchscreen’s and the local laptop screen to still function reasonably well or will anything that supports thunderbolt 4 be sufficient?

    My plan is to basically run just 1 user application called magicq pc which is a professional dmx lighting control software package

    Any advice appreciated
    Thank you
    Mike
    Last edited by mrtor; 17-03-24 at 05:32 PM.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    10,613
    Thanks
    11,898
    Thanked 7,075 Times in 3,347 Posts
    Rep Power
    3160
    Reputation
    132872

    Default

    I run two screens on an old I5 computer with no issues. So I'd suspect that three would not be a problem at all. Unless the software you are using is super fussy. Check the specs of the software and system requirements. Given that you also want touch screen capability, I'd be checking the system requirements of the screens, too.

    I'm no expert in this field so, please wait for someone here who may be more knowledgeable of you specific needs.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #3
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    346
    Thanks
    333
    Thanked 113 Times in 67 Posts
    Rep Power
    206
    Reputation
    2000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lsemmens View Post
    I run two screens on an old I5 computer with no issues. So I'd suspect that three would not be a problem at all. Unless the software you are using is super fussy. Check the specs of the software and system requirements. Given that you also want touch screen capability, I'd be checking the system requirements of the screens, too.

    I'm no expert in this field so, please wait for someone here who may be more knowledgeable of you specific needs.
    Thanks for taking the time to respond

    Appreciate it
    Mike

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mrtor For This Useful Post:

    lsemmens (20-03-24)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •