Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Remote Desktop Connections and Banking Issues.

  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Perth
    Age
    64
    Posts
    750
    Thanks
    942
    Thanked 246 Times in 141 Posts
    Rep Power
    276
    Reputation
    4545

    Default Remote Desktop Connections and Banking Issues.

    Hi everybody,

    I bought a new computer last year and had someone help me with some operating issues with a Lenovo intel i5 laptop.

    What has happened now is a bank has locked us out and refuses to unblock us?

    i need to clear the recent previous connection(s) on Remote Desktop Connections.

    I have done the process Start > regedit > HKEY current user > software > microsoft > terminal server client > default and then delete MRU log ins.

    The trouble is guys I cannot find the > terminal server client on the computer after microsoft?

    Can anyone please help?


    Thank you.

    Regards..



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    wotnot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Scenic Rim, SE Qld
    Posts
    3,383
    Thanks
    1,513
    Thanked 3,091 Times in 1,581 Posts
    Rep Power
    1422
    Reputation
    62689

    Default

    At first glance, my guess is the remote access software initially installed, is considered 'high risk' ...too high a risk for your bank to be sure of a secure connection.

    If it were me, and considering it's windows -> save all personal data to usb drive, reinstall windows =)

    The remote access software could be anything...ie; 'AnyDesk', 'TeamViewer' ...and a multitude of others.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to wotnot For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (19-03-24)

  • #3
    Shut your dog up!!
    Jma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Somewhere in the darkness...
    Posts
    530
    Thanks
    460
    Thanked 446 Times in 224 Posts
    Rep Power
    333
    Reputation
    8840

    Default

    I may be ignorant of this, but I've never heard of accessing a bank via remote access, only via logging in with an app or logging in with a web browser.
    As far as I know the banks should never want to access your computer by remote access either.
    It's none of their business what your last remote access connections were.

    Websearching for "banking via remote access" turns up many results about remote access banking scams.
    And nothing at all about the correct way to access a bank via remote access, one would think that if it was legit then there'd be instructions or how to's that are easy to access.
    When I log onto my CBA online banking and use their own search for the words "remote access" the only thing that comes up in the top FAQ's is results about remote access scams.

    Hopefully this isn't the case and I'm wrong about it, but it doesn't add up to me with the little information provided so far.
    Last edited by Jma; 18-03-24 at 07:20 PM. Reason: More Info
    I do not acknowledge the so-called traditional custodians of the land and waters on which we operate.
    Stop using acronyms!!

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Jma For This Useful Post:

    shred (18-03-24)

  • #4
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Perth
    Age
    64
    Posts
    750
    Thanks
    942
    Thanked 246 Times in 141 Posts
    Rep Power
    276
    Reputation
    4545

    Default

    Thanks wotnot and Jma.

    To start with I have a basic home edition package Lenovo i5 and don't actually have remote access on the computer. From memory around 6 months ago I think the person asked for the computer description number of the computer and tapped onto the computer to help out as I had a google log in problem and I had a clone of my wife's saved desktop, icons etc on my new laptop computer.

    it is a matter of clearing the desktop IP address connections (MRV's) through software and microsoft through regedit. For some reason I don't have the terminal server client to do that on the computer.

    Jma we aren't going through remote access to a bank. It is normal means through internet.

    As you said if I wan't normal bank activity with this particular "one bank" and cannot find the terminal server client through regedit might be probably best just to reinstall windows.

  • #5
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    10,706
    Thanks
    11,954
    Thanked 7,123 Times in 3,379 Posts
    Rep Power
    3185
    Reputation
    133832

    Default

    Haven't used windows in years! If you type "cmd" into the search bar (on the menu IIRC) you will be presented with a "terminal window" (Command prompt in windoze speak) However, you'll then need the appropriate dos commands to find that which you are looking for. TBH, re-install windoze and do not permit anyone to have remote access to your computer at ANY time. 'Tis one reason why I dislike windows intensely.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    David071 (18-03-24),tristen (26-03-24)

  • #6
    Shut your dog up!!
    Jma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Somewhere in the darkness...
    Posts
    530
    Thanks
    460
    Thanked 446 Times in 224 Posts
    Rep Power
    333
    Reputation
    8840

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by David071 View Post
    Thanks wotnot and Jma.

    To start with I have a basic home edition package Lenovo i5 and don't actually have remote access on the computer. From memory around 6 months ago I think the person asked for the computer description number of the computer and tapped onto the computer to help out as I had a google log in problem and I had a clone of my wife's saved desktop, icons etc on my new laptop computer.

    it is a matter of clearing the desktop IP address connections (MRV's) through software and microsoft through regedit. For some reason I don't have the terminal server client to do that on the computer.

    Jma we aren't going through remote access to a bank. It is normal means through internet.

    As you said if I wan't normal bank activity with this particular "one bank" and cannot find the terminal server client through regedit might be probably best just to reinstall windows.
    As I mentioned above I might be wrong (hopefully I am), but I've never heard of a bank asking anyone to clear anything from the registry.
    Mostly it's just advice to clear the browser history, cookies, cache etc. then logging in again.
    I guess another possibility is your IP address has found it's way into a blacklist or spammerlist of some kind and the bank's software has flagged it when you try to login.

    Are you 100% positive it's actually the bank you're getting this information from?
    If you don't have remote access on the computer why are they asking you to clear previous remote desktop connections?
    If it were me, I'd be asking for an explanation I could understand with regards to why they wanted me to do this.
    If they couldn't provide one I would be asking to speak their supervisor, if they refused I would then contact the banking Ombudsman.
    Some of these scammer grubs are pretty good at what they do and can be quite convincing.

    Why I chimed in on this thread is I've seen similar happen before and it turned out to be a scam.
    My late Uncle might have handed over thousands of dollars to scammer scum if I hadn't been there with him when it was going on and advised him to not go ahead with what they were asking him.
    When he couldn't find what they wanted him to delete, which I believe was a deliberate ploy, they then asked him to install remote desktop software so they could find it and delete it for him.
    I believe if he had done that, they'd have had full access to his computer and could have done anything they wanted.
    I do not acknowledge the so-called traditional custodians of the land and waters on which we operate.
    Stop using acronyms!!

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Jma For This Useful Post:

    David071 (18-03-24),Tiny (19-03-24),tristen (26-03-24)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •