Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: ABC & SBS DTV moves to Eutelsat 172B

  1. #1
    Premium Member beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Queensland - servicing rural Aust & Sth Pacific
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    210
    Thanked 172 Times in 95 Posts
    Rep Power
    200
    Reputation
    1300

    Default ABC & SBS DTV moves to Eutelsat 172B

    Have you lined up ABC or SBS via 172B Eutelsat yet?

    So, both ABC and SBS recently sent rural communities that transmit TV from self help sites advice that they have to repoint their satellite dishes or move to VAST.
    They didn't mention that there is potentially significant expense in these options. Not to mention the delay in complying given the short notice.
    WA need to transition by April 15 for ABC and have till July for SBS. The rest of the country have until August 1st. I wonder why the rush.

    Anyway, tried to line up said 172B Eutelsat today using existing 10700 LNB - nope, not happening. Obviously a new LNB is required, maybe a 11300.
    So, second option, receive from VAST. That's much more expensive than it sounds. There's the little matter or rebuilding the MUX and EPG and ensuring that the client has such hardware to do so.
    "the one with the sugar coating is the one that would otherwise taste worst".

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to beerman For This Useful Post:

    red star (11-04-24)



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Auckland NZ
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by beerman View Post
    Have you lined up ABC or SBS via 172B Eutelsat yet?

    So, both ABC and SBS recently sent rural communities that transmit TV from self help sites advice that they have to repoint their satellite dishes or move to VAST.
    They didn't mention that there is potentially significant expense in these options. Not to mention the delay in complying given the short notice.
    WA need to transition by April 15 for ABC and have till July for SBS. The rest of the country have until August 1st. I wonder why the rush.

    Anyway, tried to line up said 172B Eutelsat today using existing 10700 LNB - nope, not happening. Obviously a new LNB is required, maybe a 11300.
    So, second option, receive from VAST. That's much more expensive than it sounds. There's the little matter or rebuilding the MUX and EPG and ensuring that the client has such hardware to do so.
    A Universal LNB is required to received ABC and SBS from 172 Eutelsat as well as a mulit-stream STB. The ABC and SBS muxes are on 11044 V 45000.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to kiwiBill For This Useful Post:

    Mr 672A (09-05-24)

  • #3
    Premium Member beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Queensland - servicing rural Aust & Sth Pacific
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    210
    Thanked 172 Times in 95 Posts
    Rep Power
    200
    Reputation
    1300

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kiwiBill View Post
    A Universal LNB is required to received ABC and SBS from 172 Eutelsat as well as a mulit-stream STB. The ABC and SBS muxes are on 11044 V 45000.
    .

    We don't use STB's for retransmission sites. Is your LNB a 11300Ghz?
    "the one with the sugar coating is the one that would otherwise taste worst".

  • #4
    Senior Member
    B52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    832
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 402 Times in 224 Posts
    Rep Power
    369
    Reputation
    7116

    Default

    ABC/SBS on ..>> Require Universal LNB or LNB with LO 9750 and receiver which supports DVB S2X... Most newer model receivers support S2X. With an S2X receiver, you can also receive Ch9's on Intelsat 19, 12569 V
    Last edited by B52; 12-04-24 at 01:09 AM.

  • #5
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,393
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 987 Times in 505 Posts
    Rep Power
    508
    Reputation
    14801

    Default

    S2X is an extension to DVB-S2 it features tighter modulation systems amongst other things.

    However , multistream services don't require S2X, but the chipset and receiver software need to support 16 APSK mode and correctly understand the format

    A tbs 6983 tuner card for example has no issues with abc/sbs on D2, Eutelsat 172E, or Channel 9 mux on IS19. The specs for it do not list s2x

    Signals that truly use the S2X mode cannot be detected on the 6983. The rolloff and a few other things are different. We can check them with a 6903X which does support S2X modulations

  • The Following User Says Thank You to apsattv For This Useful Post:

    CONAXLE (13-04-24)

  • #6
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,393
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 987 Times in 505 Posts
    Rep Power
    508
    Reputation
    14801

    Default

    Here is the info if you haven't seen it already.


    Measat 3a is already on its way at 113E currently moving about 3 degrees per day..on its way to 160E

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to apsattv For This Useful Post:

    CONAXLE (13-04-24),Rentakill (15-04-24)

  • #7
    Senior Member
    Mr 672A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    The only Country in the English speaking World where you cannot sue your Solicitor or Barrister.
    Posts
    4,301
    Thanks
    1,173
    Thanked 1,173 Times in 677 Posts
    Rep Power
    725
    Reputation
    21825

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by apsattv View Post
    Here is the info if you haven't seen it already.


    Measat 3a is already on its way at 113E currently moving about 3 degrees per day..on its way to 160E
    Wonder what sat (D2 or Measat 3A @ 160 Deg) they will use for feeds only. also the skew. Anyhow I have a 2.4M and a 1.2M on 160 Deg waiting

  • #8
    Premium Member beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Queensland - servicing rural Aust & Sth Pacific
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    210
    Thanked 172 Times in 95 Posts
    Rep Power
    200
    Reputation
    1300

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by B52 View Post
    ABC/SBS on ..>> Require Universal LNB or LNB with LO 9750 and receiver which supports DVB S2X... Most newer model receivers support S2X. With an S2X receiver, you can also receive Ch9's on Intelsat 19, 12569 V
    Yes, all of the retransmission sites we build have S2X enabled receivers.
    "the one with the sugar coating is the one that would otherwise taste worst".

  • #9
    Premium Member beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Queensland - servicing rural Aust & Sth Pacific
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    210
    Thanked 172 Times in 95 Posts
    Rep Power
    200
    Reputation
    1300

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by apsattv View Post
    Here is the info if you haven't seen it already.


    Measat 3a is already on its way at 113E currently moving about 3 degrees per day..on its way to 160E
    Yep, I.ve got that. Received a while back.
    "the one with the sugar coating is the one that would otherwise taste worst".

  • #10
    Premium Member beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Queensland - servicing rural Aust & Sth Pacific
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    210
    Thanked 172 Times in 95 Posts
    Rep Power
    200
    Reputation
    1300

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by apsattv View Post
    S2X is an extension to DVB-S2 it features tighter modulation systems amongst other things.

    However , multistream services don't require S2X, but the chipset and receiver software need to support 16 APSK mode and correctly understand the format

    A tbs 6983 tuner card for example has no issues with abc/sbs on D2, Eutelsat 172E, or Channel 9 mux on IS19. The specs for it do not list s2x

    Signals that truly use the S2X mode cannot be detected on the 6983. The rolloff and a few other things are different. We can check them with a 6903X which does support S2X modulations
    We are using Promax Ranger HD and Promax Ranger Eco meters. Haven't been able to lock up to the new frequencies on Eutelsate using either 10700 or 11300 LNB's so far.
    "the one with the sugar coating is the one that would otherwise taste worst".

  • #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    eastern N Z
    Posts
    150
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 35 Times in 23 Posts
    Rep Power
    217
    Reputation
    680

    Default

    You need a 9750 or universal lnb

  • #12
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,393
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 987 Times in 505 Posts
    Rep Power
    508
    Reputation
    14801

    Default

    Measat3a is now at 160E and has a carrier on 12350 , now the fun part the skew is around 45 degrees different to Optus.

    If you peak the skew correctly for optus , the measat 3 signal will pretty much null itself out.. if you need the new abc/sbs mux when it appears you most likely will need a 2nd dish / lnbf to peak it correctly if you want other Optus Stuff such as abc radios.

    I've posted 2 side by side pics on my twitter

  • The Following User Says Thank You to apsattv For This Useful Post:

    Softek2 (08-05-24)

  • #13
    Senior Member
    Mr 672A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    The only Country in the English speaking World where you cannot sue your Solicitor or Barrister.
    Posts
    4,301
    Thanks
    1,173
    Thanked 1,173 Times in 677 Posts
    Rep Power
    725
    Reputation
    21825

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by apsattv View Post
    Measat3a is now at 160E and has a carrier on 12350 , now the fun part the skew is around 45 degrees different to Optus.

    If you peak the skew correctly for optus , the measat 3 signal will pretty much null itself out.. if you need the new abc/sbs mux when it appears you most likely will need a 2nd dish / lnbf to peak it correctly if you want other Optus Stuff such as abc radios.

    I've posted 2 side by side pics on my twitter
    Tell me do you know or take a guess what sat will be used for the Feeds Yes the good Feeds. I have two Dishes looking at 160 Deg 2.4M and 1.2M

  • #14
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,393
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 987 Times in 505 Posts
    Rep Power
    508
    Reputation
    14801

    Default

    I would expect Measat3a to only be active on 2 freqs and that feeds will remain 12630-12700 V via D2

    Measat 3A

    12356 Fec 5/6 8PSK 30000
    ABC NSW
    SBS NSW
    SBS TAS

    12436 Fec 4/5 16APSK 30000
    ABC SA
    ABC Vic
    SBS SA
    SBS Vic

  • #15
    Senior Member
    Mr 672A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    The only Country in the English speaking World where you cannot sue your Solicitor or Barrister.
    Posts
    4,301
    Thanks
    1,173
    Thanked 1,173 Times in 677 Posts
    Rep Power
    725
    Reputation
    21825

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by apsattv View Post
    I would expect Measat3a to only be active on 2 freqs and that feeds will remain 12630-12700 V via D2

    Measat 3A

    12356 Fec 5/6 8PSK 30000
    ABC NSW
    SBS NSW
    SBS TAS

    12436 Fec 4/5 16APSK 30000
    ABC SA
    ABC Vic
    SBS SA
    SBS Vic
    Yeah that good. The Best Encryption is Lack of Signal.

  • #16
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,393
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 987 Times in 505 Posts
    Rep Power
    508
    Reputation
    14801

    Default

    The vast site never said what polarity they would use , but the specs of measat3A says that H pol KU had beam over Indonesia and V pol was over Malaysia. The Malaysia KU was a boomerang shaped beam,



    Not sure how much they can be tweaked at a new location as often ku beam are fixed footprints not adjustable

  • #17
    Senior Member
    Mr 672A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    The only Country in the English speaking World where you cannot sue your Solicitor or Barrister.
    Posts
    4,301
    Thanks
    1,173
    Thanked 1,173 Times in 677 Posts
    Rep Power
    725
    Reputation
    21825

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by apsattv View Post
    The vast site never said what polarity they would use , but the specs of measat3A says that H pol KU had beam over Indonesia and V pol was over Malaysia. The Malaysia KU was a boomerang shaped beam,



    Not sure how much they can be tweaked at a new location as often ku beam are fixed footprints not adjustable
    Measat 3a when at 91.5 Deg and considering the ku beams wont stear much I say when on position 160 Deg East most of there beams will cover water and that a no go but they must be able to bring them closer to Indonesia and Malaysia otherwise its useless.
    Time will tell to what country will it suit for a older satellite that does not have much time in the Clark belt

  • #18
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,393
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 987 Times in 505 Posts
    Rep Power
    508
    Reputation
    14801

    Default

    They must be able to drop the footprint southwards in its new slot. The signal observed in Perth and Easter Australia around 12350 is very strong

  • #19
    Junior Member Rentakill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Downunder
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 59 Times in 35 Posts
    Rep Power
    221
    Reputation
    802

    Default

    Hi Guys.

    So Correct me if I'm Wrong.... Is the Polarity Configuration of Measat3A not able to be adjusted and aligned to match D2 ?.
    Surely this Parameter is Variable to Suit Location and desired EIRP ?.
    With the Current offset in Polarity - This could create issues.

    Flame me if I'm Batting outside the Grounds..

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •