Thread: setting up a twin wireless network

Thanks

Question setting up a twin wireless network

hello all, a newbie here.
    i have been charged with setting up a twin wireless network inside a multi room office complex.
    there are about 5 large rooms in a distance of maybe 70Mtrs. long ways
    i was thinking about a wireless unit each end there-abouts.
    both cabled back to a central adsl modem (already in use).
    My question is: anyone have a good idea about how to have 2 wireless units in use off of a single modem.
    if need i can purchase a new adsl modem to work in with the 2 wireless ones.
    any help on what brand modem - routers to use.
    i have a fairly good general knowledge about setting up and using std adsl modems and routers but have never used a combo setup before.

thanks in advance
    john

Look Here ->
    Thanks

if they are hard wired as you intend to then they will work without issues as long as they have separate ip's i would also disable their ability to do dhcp and let your modem do all that and have any laptop etc connecting to them have static ips set also make sure you set the wireless encryption

Thanks

Depends how many people you will have connecting ?
    Sounds like a few, remember there is limits.
    Sorry Fandtm, but i would do it the otherway around, turn off dhcp on the modem, set the APs with static and set them to give out ips, that is if they can work as a dhcp server.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by astro_boy View Post
    Depends how many people you will have connecting ?
    Sounds like a few, remember there is limits.
    255 available connections minus that of the modem and 2 x wireless leaves 252 so doubt that would be a problem

Sorry Fandtm, but i would do it the otherway around, turn off dhcp on the modem, set the APs with static and set them to give out ips, that is if they can work as a dhcp server.