Thread: Negating Hex Values??

Premium Lager

Thanks
    Thanked 2,711 Times in 1,230 Posts

Default Negating Hex Values??

Hi,

how does one negate hex values?

i have a problem that where, for example, the hex value CF is negated to 30 and i have never done anything like this before so am totally lost.

I actually have a lot of HEX nibbles that need to be negated one at at time
    and I wish to produce either a script or program that will do this automatically.

Any help, suggestions or advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks

porkop

Look Here ->
    Thanks

When I was young I was doing this manually .
    Just convert the hex number to a binary and do bit check with negating it.
    I am sure there is a bit operation available which can do it for you, depending which script language you need.

Premium Lager

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by fromaron View Post
    When I was young I was doing this manually .
    Just convert the hex number to a binary and do bit check with negating it.
    I am sure there is a bit operation available which can do it for you, depending which script language you need.

To behonest, I am in unfimilar ground. My limited programming experience was with qbasic way back when, and a tiny bit of C.

Basically I want to read out the hex values from of an eprom image and manipulate those values to a more human form. building up a mathematical forumla is not issue for me but understanding how to do this negating is.

hex number to a binary
    easy, have been playing with this today with the windows calculator.

and do bit check with negating it
    Now I fall over

porkop

Thanks
    Thanked 3,229 Times in 1,451 Posts

It's very easy Porkop.
    You know how a NOT gate works.

0 -> 1
    1 -> 0

Negating HEX is just the same. As mentioned, the simplest way is just to convert it to a binary number, invert all the bits and convert that back to a hex number.