Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: which way do satillites traverse the globe

Thanks

Default which way do satillites traverse the globe

This has always bugged me!

I've always thought that satillites always followed the same trajectory generally from west through to east or sw through to ne.

the other I saw two satellites traversing the sky frolm south to north? now I don't if this is out of the ordinary, but, can anyone giove a logical explaination?
    Democracy & Ignorance = A Winning Combination

Look Here ->
    Super Moderator
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,458 Times in 1,141 Posts

I'm no rocket scientist, but heres a laymans explanation anyway

It depends on what way it is launched & put into orbit
    A lot are geostationary & don't move at all

The secret is that all a satellite is doing is falling towards earth.
    As it drops, while moving forward, the earth under it drops away - so it never hits the ground. It just keeps 'falling'

Theres lots of maths involved in calculating the orbit. After all, if you spend millions putting something into space, you don't want it to hit anything, do you

So it all depends on the direction it was 'pushed out' from
    Reality is an invention of my imagination.
    ಠ_ಠ

Premium Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,467 Times in 958 Posts

Thanks Fernbay,

nicely put,

I bet someone else could put forward a lot of mathematical formula to explain it perfectly too,

& be very confusing !!

but I like your's
    Become a Premium Member and support the Austech Forum

I am NOT the Messiah!
    Thanks

Geo stationary satellites sit in what is known as the Clarke belt 22 thousand mile above the equator where they sit effectively stationary in respect to a point on the earth. Small amount of fuel is used to maintain an exact position as the effect of the Sun, Moon and other object tends to make them drift in a figure eight pattern.