Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: Installing XP

  1. #1
    Senior Member Biggun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Blue Mountains
    Posts
    573
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    146
    Reputation
    29

    Default Installing XP

    Hi Guys, I am trying to format my laptop. It is currently running Vista and I want to install XP. I have got it set to boot from cd, it goes through the process of installing until i get to the part where it says Install XP press enter, Repair press R etc.. So I press enter and get the message "Windows XP cannot install, because no hard drive is detected"
    Any Ideas anyone?

    Thanks in advance



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,841
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 232 Times in 118 Posts
    Rep Power
    793
    Reputation
    25287

    Default

    you need to reformat the drive first and remove the vista partition.

    get a copy of Hiren's.BootCD then select option 1 - option 1 and go from there

  • #3
    Senior Member
    ssrattus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,164
    Thanks
    515
    Thanked 821 Times in 490 Posts
    Rep Power
    383
    Reputation
    5922

    Default

    If it is an HP go to the bios, press F10 on start, and disable the native SATA support (or something like that) and the HD should be detected.

    Otherwise you need to get the SATA drivers for your laptop and when the XP disk is starting up press F6 (I think) when it asks along the bottom for HD SATA/RAID drivers. It is meant to be via a floppy (yeah most laptops don't have one, you could try a USB one) otherwise you will need to slipsteam these drivers into your XP CD. Have a look here

  • #4
    Senior Member
    ssrattus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,164
    Thanks
    515
    Thanked 821 Times in 490 Posts
    Rep Power
    383
    Reputation
    5922

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fandtm666 View Post
    you need to reformat the drive first and remove the vista partition.

    get a copy of Hiren's.BootCD then select option 1 - option 1 and go from there
    Didn't work on my HP laptop, repartitioned, reformated and still "no HD"... see my post above

  • #5
    Senior Member Biggun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Blue Mountains
    Posts
    573
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    146
    Reputation
    29

    Default

    Thanks Guys, will give it a go this afternoon when I have a little more time.

  • #6
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,841
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 232 Times in 118 Posts
    Rep Power
    793
    Reputation
    25287

    Default

    ssrattus aahh ok if the drive in the laptop is a sata then you have to either have the sata driver disc or just slipstream the drivers into an xp installation disc with nlite.This is what i have done to install xp on my acer that i received for that course sanity put us onto

  • #7
    Senior Member Biggun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Blue Mountains
    Posts
    573
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    146
    Reputation
    29

    Default

    Yes my Laptop just happens to be the same as yours fandtm666 lol
    Thanks again to Sanity !!!!

  • #8
    Senior Member
    BillyGoat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,039
    Thanks
    831
    Thanked 445 Times in 240 Posts
    Rep Power
    259
    Reputation
    3254

    Default

    I hate to be a Gimme but do you have all the drivers(Xp) required for the acer laptop.
    Wife got the same and is so slow running vista.

  • #9
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,841
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 232 Times in 118 Posts
    Rep Power
    793
    Reputation
    25287

    Default

    all the drivers can be found here



    SATA drivers i just uploaded here



    There are two ways to load the sata

    1: follow the instructions in the folder

    2: get a copy of nlite install it and then slipsteam the drivers burn the new disc and install

  • #10
    Senior Member Jaz808's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Hell
    Posts
    1,045
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 146 Times in 99 Posts
    Rep Power
    175
    Reputation
    742

    Default

    Go to bios and change ACHI (i think its called) to IDE
    Thats what i did for a mates Acer Aspire5315, and XP found the Hdd

  • #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    127
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    can sumone with 1a these gov tech lappys tell me which is the sata driver as waynes havin a hell of a time with nlite working out which to intergrate.

    Filename: iaAHCI.INF ???

    and the device plz.

  • #12
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,841
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 232 Times in 118 Posts
    Rep Power
    793
    Reputation
    25287

    Default

    hey quad good to see you back mate.

    When i slipped streamed my disc's i selected

    iaahci.inf

  • #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    127
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    i thnk were in
    prob is wen his splippin it, not sure wat file than it asks him wat device.
    its lookin now he only had to hit esc and continue?
    very hard over msn, his at format so may be right.

  • #14
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,841
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 232 Times in 118 Posts
    Rep Power
    793
    Reputation
    25287

    Default

    if he is at the format point his ok then

  • #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    127
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    his done

    horray for biggun

  • #16
    Senior Member Biggun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Blue Mountains
    Posts
    573
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    146
    Reputation
    29

    Default

    No, Hooray for Quadspeed !!!!

    Got it, no dirty old Vista for me lol

  • #17
    Senior Member Biggun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Blue Mountains
    Posts
    573
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    146
    Reputation
    29

    Default

    Thanks everyone, especially Quad and Fandt

  • #18
    Senior Member
    BillyGoat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,039
    Thanks
    831
    Thanked 445 Times in 240 Posts
    Rep Power
    259
    Reputation
    3254

    Default

    Way over my head.
    Slipstreaming?
    Usb floppy?

  • #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    127
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    slipstreaming is when you intergrate software like adding drivers\ service pack 2 or 3 to a xp copy.
    usb floppy is just a floppy that can be plugged in via usb.

  • #20
    Senior Member Jaz808's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Hell
    Posts
    1,045
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 146 Times in 99 Posts
    Rep Power
    175
    Reputation
    742

    Default

    Doesnt this work on these Acers

    Go to bios and change ACHI (i think its called) to IDE
    Thats what i did for a mates Acer Aspire5315, and XP found the Hdd

  • Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Installing Newcamd EMU into Dreambox 500
      By checkitout in forum Dreambox
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 02-05-09, 07:50 PM
    2. CRC Errors - Installing Programs
      By acejas in forum PC Hardware
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 07-01-08, 09:31 AM

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •