Thread: Making a Media Centre

Thanks

Default Making a Media Centre

Hey all. My uncle is planning to throw away his old computer. Its about 5 years old and it has some pretty good parts including a wireless card. Now I was thinking of setting his computer as a media centre. So like, having it stream xvid videos or music from the upstairs computer to this computer which will be attached to the tv using tv out downstairs. Got any recommended software for this procedure. I was recommended FreeVo by a mate but its linux based and i have limited knowledge of linux. But I would like an automated system where I turn on the computer and it loads up with no hassle.

Any ideas would be helpful.

Look Here ->
    Premium Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 10,460 Times in 5,194 Posts

Best Advice: Buy a Mediagate or Similar. Popcorn Hour even.

Unless you just want to tinker and piss fart about.
    Lots of people have been down that track you are going.
    Lots of people stopped before they got there too

The only good thing about a HTPC is you have a browser on your TV.
    My advice, buy a small unit that is built for the job

Premium Member

Thanks
    Thanked 4,171 Times in 1,771 Posts

Simple !
    Ask Google ... search for "converting pc to media centre"
    There are numerous articles on the www describing how to do this.

Premium Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,360 Times in 678 Posts

I have built a few HTPC's and wouldn't be without mine. I have used WinXP Media Centre Edition in the past and found it fairly capable, it will do everything most people want. Having said that, I never use the MCE front-end. We only ever use the normal windows desktop with a wireless keyboard/mouse and a few select programs and games.