Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Small Business Voip

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    B52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    606
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 247 Times in 139 Posts
    Rep Power
    242
    Reputation
    4016

    Default Small Business Voip

    80% of our phone bill is for Telstra lines rental.

    Currently use LG GDK34e PABX. I was told I can convert to voip by installing a few Linksys SPA3102 converters.
    Most important is the line hunt to handle up to 3 incoming calls on same number at the same time.

    I don't want to spend 5k buying new Viop phones. The LG PABX works OK for us.

    Any input suggestions appreciated.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    146
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Get a Talkswitch phone system with Voip then use Voip for all out going calls

  • #3
    Senior Member tagg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In a Tin Can
    Posts
    2,205
    Thanks
    872
    Thanked 378 Times in 221 Posts
    Rep Power
    252
    Reputation
    1897

    Default

    Dam it reg i was just about to reconmend you for the info needed.

    Tagg

  • #4
    Premium Member mal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    485
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 54 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    164
    Reputation
    347

    Default

    Have been installing VoIP on small business phone systems for about 5 years and have tried many ata's some units caused major headaches Linksys SPA3102 are not bad but the will only do a single line and the multi line units don't do what you want.

    The Lg 34e works well with VoIP, I use good price and it works very well with two calls at the same time.

    There is a 4 line unit for around $400 but I would need to know how many outgoing / incoming calls before I could suggest a configuration.

    If you need more help let me know

  • #5
    Banned ufo8mycow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Port Lincoln
    Age
    35
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    15

    Default

    just use a Billion 7404 Router which has two VoIP ports. Handles QOS very well.

    go straight from the billion directly into your PBX

  • #6
    Senior Member
    best4less's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7,690
    Thanks
    3,480
    Thanked 2,206 Times in 1,132 Posts
    Rep Power
    700
    Reputation
    15145

    Default

    What ufo8mycow said but i use a 7404VGPX as it has a 3G usb port so if your adsl goes down it automatically switches over to 3G, keeps your business / phone going in emergencies
    When you do things right, people won't be sure that you have done anything at all

  • #7
    Premium Member mal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    485
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 54 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    164
    Reputation
    347

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ufo8mycow View Post
    just use a Billion 7404 Router which has two VoIP ports. Handles QOS very well.

    go straight from the billion directly into your PBX
    Have used these in the past for business they are not suitable in my opinion, have 4 sitting around that I took out of jobs

    For business have found the only way to get a reliable service is to have a separate adsl service with a good ata such as the one I posted.
    You have to do your math's first but a client I insttalled a unit on his Samsung dcs 70 has saved over $2000 in the last 4 months
    Say you have 3 lines in a hunt group and 50% of your calls are incoming you could cancel one line install adsl on one of the lines and make outgoing calls on 2 VoIP lines.

  • #8
    Banned ufo8mycow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Port Lincoln
    Age
    35
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by best4less View Post
    What ufo8mycow said but i use a 7404VGPX as it has a 3G usb port so if your adsl goes down it automatically switches over to 3G, keeps your business / phone going in emergencies
    yes i have the same router.. i only said 7404 as they are the only models that have 2 VoIP ports.

  • #9
    Banned ufo8mycow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Port Lincoln
    Age
    35
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mal View Post
    Have used these in the past for business they are not suitable in my opinion, have 4 sitting around that I took out of jobs

    For business have found the only way to get a reliable service is to have a separate adsl service with a good ata such as the one I posted.
    You have to do your math's first but a client I insttalled a unit on his Samsung dcs 70 has saved over $2000 in the last 4 months
    Say you have 3 lines in a hunt group and 50% of your calls are incoming you could cancel one line install adsl on one of the lines and make outgoing calls on 2 VoIP lines.
    well i dont know how you have yours set up, but i have two Billion 7404's with 4 VoIP, one main PSTN. Line Hunt, also diversions set up. with MNF. On adsl2+ SOHO connection. Also the IP470 cordless phone, which allows another 2 calls with six handsets.

    all works really well

  • #10
    Premium Member mal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    485
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 54 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    164
    Reputation
    347

    Default

    Have you ever tried to use use two line at the same time? try it and you will see what I mean the linsys are even worse

  • #11
    Senior Member
    best4less's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7,690
    Thanks
    3,480
    Thanked 2,206 Times in 1,132 Posts
    Rep Power
    700
    Reputation
    15145

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mal View Post
    Have used these in the past for business they are not suitable in my opinion, have 4 sitting around that I took out of jobs
    If your going to chuck them out mal, I will pay for postage for them
    When you do things right, people won't be sure that you have done anything at all

  • #12
    Premium Member mal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    485
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 54 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    164
    Reputation
    347

    Default

    Posted my last post at the same time as UFO sounds like they have inproved will install new firmware and try them again
    They used to have real probs with the second line but it has been a few years since I used them

  • #13
    Senior Member
    B52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    606
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 247 Times in 139 Posts
    Rep Power
    242
    Reputation
    4016

    Default

    Thanks for the input. Line hunt seems to be an issue if you want to keep your main listed number without paying for call diversions to a Voip number.

    Optus / Telstra won't linehunt to a viop number.
    Go talk lets you keep listed number but unless you maintain a 1300 the won't linehunt so do many others.

    At this time the solution is to do away with all PSDN lines, pay Telstra $120 a year for a recorded massage => " The new number for xyz is ... 8xxx xxxx " .

    Most Voip providers offer linehunt within a Voip platform.

    On the other hand I heard that within 3 month existing number will be made fully portable to Voip.

    Anybody else heard this ?

  • #14
    Banned ufo8mycow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Port Lincoln
    Age
    35
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by best4less View Post
    If your going to chuck them out mal, I will pay for postage for them
    **Slaps Best4less**

    i saw them first... MINE.....

  • #15
    Banned ufo8mycow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Port Lincoln
    Age
    35
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by B52 View Post
    Thanks for the input. Line hunt seems to be an issue if you want to keep your main listed number without paying for call diversions to a Voip number.

    Optus / Telstra won't linehunt to a viop number.
    Go talk lets you keep listed number but unless you maintain a 1300 the won't linehunt so do many others.

    At this time the solution is to do away with all PSDN lines, pay Telstra $120 a year for a recorded massage => " The new number for xyz is ... 8xxx xxxx " .

    Most Voip providers offer linehunt within a Voip platform.

    On the other hand I heard that within 3 month existing number will be made fully portable to Voip.

    Anybody else heard this ?
    The way you connect your PSTN line into your billion allows your calls to come in like normal on that phone line. Just divert PSTN when busy to VoIP number. That will give you two incoming Lines. The diversion will only be a local call cost.

    How many times do you get two or more people calling in at a time??

    If so keep your main PSTN plus an extra line, and do the same as above and also have line hunt.

    That will give you 4 incoming lines.

    Depends on your requirements you haven't given much information.

  • #16
    Banned ufo8mycow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Port Lincoln
    Age
    35
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mal View Post
    Posted my last post at the same time as UFO sounds like they have inproved will install new firmware and try them again
    They used to have real probs with the second line but it has been a few years since I used them
    What billion models have you got.

    Yeah never have any problems with calls even run G7.11 on all my calls too...

    i have 7.8mbps connection with 1.3mbps upload. On Naked ADSL2+

    The new Billion 7404VGOX are even better, they give higher DSL connection old 7404VGP was only hitting 6mbps and less than 1mbps upload and yeah increase of DSL speeds with the new router and firmware that just came out.

    Got to try out the 3G fall over on the unit today, worked well. Internode connection died for 8 hrs today.. first time in like 3years since the last outage.

  • #17
    Senior Member
    B52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    606
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 247 Times in 139 Posts
    Rep Power
    242
    Reputation
    4016

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ufo8mycow View Post
    The way you connect your PSTN line into your billion allows your calls to come in like normal on that phone line. Just divert PSTN when busy to VoIP number. That will give you two incoming Lines. The diversion will only be a local call cost .
    You mean.

    To activate Call Forward Busy (variable diversion), simply follow these six easy steps:

    Lift handset
    Wait for dial tone
    Press *24
    Key in diversion number
    Press #
    Replace handset

    If it works with Optus home plan (100 free local call) worth considering

    Quote Originally Posted by ufo8mycow View Post
    How many times do you get two or more people calling in at a time??.
    Nowadays not so busy but Fridays can be up to 3 incoming calls at the same time.

  • #18
    Banned ufo8mycow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Port Lincoln
    Age
    35
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by B52 View Post
    You mean.

    To activate Call Forward Busy (variable diversion), simply follow these six easy steps:

    Lift handset
    Wait for dial tone
    Press *24
    Key in diversion number
    Press #
    Replace handset

    If it works with Optus home plan (100 free local call) worth considering





    Nowadays not so busy but Fridays can be up to 3 incoming calls at the same time.
    Yep that's the one! so just have two PSTN with that Enabled, with two Billion 7404VGOX and run the 4 lines into you PBX.

    Start telling people your new VoIP phone number or place a recording on your PBX on Auto Attend so each person hears it every time they call and then you can slowly cut one PSTN line off and just keep your main number.

  • #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    The rapidly maturing business VoIP phone system industry means that there are many manufacturers with feature-rich systems that may be enticing to small,

  • #20
    Senior Member
    B52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    606
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 247 Times in 139 Posts
    Rep Power
    242
    Reputation
    4016

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by B52 View Post
    You mean.

    To activate Call Forward Busy (variable diversion), simply follow these six easy steps:
    Lift handset
    Wait for dial tone
    Press *24
    Key in diversion number
    Press #
    Replace handset
    If it works with Optus home plan (100 free local call) worth considering
    .
    Unfortunately "Call Forward When Busy" is NOT available on Optus PSDN. Are there any other PSDN providers offering "Call forward when busy". Telstra line rental starts at $40.-.

  • Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •