Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: i got voip

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    138
    Reputation
    10

    Default i got voip

    finally got around to doing voip

    went with pennytel.com 2nd time round(dont use farkeltel) farkkk
    8c a call, 13c mobile, not bad

    got a logitech speakerphone from eway ($12.50!) the sucker $99 on logitech.

    stole some softphoneware from the net and presto.
    may need router ports allowed)



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member Globe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lost In The Matrix.
    Posts
    908
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 273 Times in 128 Posts
    Rep Power
    195
    Reputation
    1399

    Default

    What hardware you using quad? I'm sick of Skype ...... time for a change I think.

  • #3
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,053
    Thanks
    122
    Thanked 461 Times in 220 Posts
    Rep Power
    903
    Reputation
    29867

    Default

    easiest way get a billion 7402vgp

  • #4
    Junior Member TZB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 39 Times in 27 Posts
    Rep Power
    157
    Reputation
    585

    Default

    +1 for the Billion (7401 here)

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    138
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    im just using a usb speakerphone\mic and my billion 5200g modem\router

  • #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    355
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 405 Times in 50 Posts
    Rep Power
    195
    Reputation
    2330

    Default

    billion are the way to go i have configured these for other customers for voip and they work a treat

  • #7
    Senior Member toor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    812
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 44 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    169
    Reputation
    206

    Default

    another for billion here running the billion 6404VGP

  • #8
    Senior Member covert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    My Imagination
    Posts
    983
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 34 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    172
    Reputation
    131

    Default

    Just checked the prices out at pennytel and they look great. I stopped using them because they did not support G711a codec start to finish. Might give them a shot again and see what they sound like now.

  • #9
    Senior Member Adobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    683
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 105 Times in 61 Posts
    Rep Power
    170
    Reputation
    537

    Default

    Billion 7404 Running fine hear for over 12 months

    Adobe

  • #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Super Duper Secret Members Forum
    Posts
    374
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    21

    Default

    I bought a billion 7404 yesterday and I had internet up and running in 5 mins, and another 5 minutes I was signed up to pennytel and the settings were dialled into the router.

    Plugged my phone in and bingo, worked first time and the call was clear as it could get.

    Skype is a woftam, tried that with a USB ATA that emulates the mic and soundcard and it was crap. I bought that off ebay a year ago for about $30.

    Definately worth the money to buy something like the billion where you can dial in the settings and just plug your phone(s) in. Don't need a computer on all the time to make calls.

    Thumbs up !!!!

  • #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Skype may not be the ideal choice but it can depend on your setup.
    In August I bought a Philips VOIP841 Skype Cordless Dual-Mode Phone ( No PC required ).
    It consists of small black box base station running lynix (afaik no one has hacked this yet) which plugs into network port and PSTN so you can use both from the handset.(ie choose to call via VOIP or Landline). Receive calls with different ringtones for viop and PSTN.
    It's DECT6 and has a range of about 50m at my place each base station supports 4 handsets (I have only one). Other cordless phone stuff like calling between handsets etc.

    The biggest complaint i have with Skype is calling a mobile from skype 50% of the time the quality is crap. This may be their Viop - GSM gatway (not sure if thats the correct technical term) maybe they are saving on hardware and using high compression a codec to utilise bandwidth?

    Phone cost $235AUD from the US they are just available in Oz now @ $290 (single handset only). I have cable and a 4 port wireless router.

    The Billion looks very nice I knew such things existed but never went down that track. yes I'm probablely paying more for calls than I could be but it's still cheaper than optarse, who I'm currently with. Also things have to be easy for her indoors to use.
    I'm the Urban Spaceman, baby, here comes the twist.
    I don't exist.

  • #12
    Premium Member Timelord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    207
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 9 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    145
    Reputation
    69

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quadspeed View Post
    finally got around to doing voip

    went with pennytel.com 2nd time round(dont use farkeltel) farkkk
    8c a call, 13c mobile, not bad
    I like the sounds of that, I bought a Billion 7401vgp-m yesterday & will setup the VoIP today ...what is Pennytel support like?

    thanks

  • #13
    Senior Member Keepleft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Hunter Valley, 2325
    Posts
    941
    Thanks
    189
    Thanked 113 Times in 67 Posts
    Rep Power
    180
    Reputation
    566

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quadspeed View Post
    finally got around to doing voip

    went with pennytel.com 2nd time round(dont use farkeltel) farkkk
    8c a call, 13c mobile, not bad

    got a logitech speakerphone from eway ($12.50!) the sucker $99 on logitech.

    stole some softphoneware from the net and presto.
    may need router ports allowed)
    This mob accept BPay? (Lazy SOB aren't I)?
    I use Farktortellme too. 'reliable'.
    5th Wyking Panzer Division

  • #14
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,722
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 1,204 Times in 718 Posts
    Rep Power
    560
    Reputation
    14918

    Default

    # What payment methods do you accept?

    Pennytel accepts credit cards when recharging your account - Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Bankcard are all accepted.

    no bpay i don think
    service is over net chat, very good.
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • #15
    Junior Member martymoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    gold coast
    Posts
    167
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    143
    Reputation
    90

    Default

    +1 7404vgp here
    i use mynetfone sign up with whirlpool then join them use your username
    and get no rental, free dial in local phone number (DID) 10c untimed 15c min mobiles

    been with them 12 months great service

  • #16
    Member Pokedad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    146
    Reputation
    44

    Default

    Keep draytek in mind too. They do some good VOIP modems and routers.

    I love my Vigor2900vg router. Has not missed a beat since the day I installed it. Over two years ago.

    I got a Gotalk Unlimited account ( $15 ) on a Uniden cordless as the house phone.

    Then an old telstra phone hanging of port 2 as my office phone running on MNF.

  • #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    67
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    138
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    who sells the billion 7402vgp ive got the telstra 2wire with a pap2 and it shuts down after about 5 minuites.when i want to make a call i have to reboot every time.I was going to give it all away untill i read this. 2wire dont reply to any emails and pap2 says its a modem thing.
    anybody had trouble with 2wire.
    johna

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •