2.3m dish C Band Wire Mesh
    LNB
    Decoder Box
    Actuator box
    positioner for satellite
    polar mount
    coax cable
    power cable for positioner

Now I have only ever installed one fixed mount dish at my house with help, so im pretty new to this.

I am going to use to find out which direction to point the dish (true north obviously).

Any tips for a newbie out there? I dont have any cards, will just be picking up FTA channels.

Look Here ->
    Thanks

Tip no.1 just keep persevering. Very difficult the very first time as the cheap sat finders are useless in this situation.

Tip No.2 Need to remember to add the declination in Sth pole whereas you subtract in North pole and and most instruction tell you to subtract forgetting to mention which pole you're in. Took me a while to work this one out. Eg in Mel lat is approx 37 degree, and declination is 5 degrees, therefore need to set angle to 43 degrees or thereabouts not 32 etc.

Tip no. 3 Compasses are useless as it does point to true north. Of course you can approximate but if you stand near the metal upright pole where you want to determine North, your compass will be further out. What I did was work out the precise time the sun will be in due north and mark the shadow the sun makes for record, also take note of a marker you can aim at that is stationary directly below the sun at the time of due north.

Tip No4. Invest in a magnetic angle finder. I tried making my own for fun but for accuracy I ended up investing in one. I saw a reasonable unit at Bunnings recently for about $30.

Tip No 5. Good Luck

Thanks

Thanks. Sorry I have another noob question. How do I know what angle to point the dish at. I know the direction to point it at, but the angle?

Thanks