Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 29

Thread: Iinet Voip/adsl2

  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,490
    Thanks
    336
    Thanked 510 Times in 352 Posts
    Rep Power
    356
    Reputation
    6998

    Default Iinet Voip/adsl2

    I'm looking to change isp's and looking at Iinet plans which seem good value but a bit unsure about the voip side of things, my pc and modem is in another room to my phone and wasnt keen on moving things around so are there any other options for placement of modem/phone ? We recently bought a new 5.8ghz cordless phone and it would be easy to move but i dont want to change my modem, input from those who made the change are appreciated.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    fromaron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,860
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 437 Times in 244 Posts
    Rep Power
    298
    Reputation
    4865

    Default

    With iiNet you have two options:
    1. Naked - no conventional phone line, just VOIP phone service;
    2. ADSL2 + VOIP where you have your standard phone as well as VOIP phone service.
    In both cases to utilise the VOIP service you will need a special device to connect your phone to the Internet. The connection device can be in-built into your modem/router (since you don't want to change yours the option is not for you) or can be purchased separately - it's called ATA. ATA is not very expencive these days.
    You will need to connect the ATA device to your network and configure it according to your network as well as with settings provided by VOIP service provider (in this case iiNet). Once the ATA is configured correctly you can connect your 5.8Ghz cordless or any other phones to it and start making/receiving phone calls over network.
    I hope this simplified explanation will help you to decide where you want to position your phone/modem/ATA.

  • #3
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,490
    Thanks
    336
    Thanked 510 Times in 352 Posts
    Rep Power
    356
    Reputation
    6998

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fromaron View Post
    With iiNet you have two options:
    1. Naked - no conventional phone line, just VOIP phone service;
    2. ADSL2 + VOIP where you have your standard phone as well as VOIP phone service.
    In both cases to utilise the VOIP service you will need a special device to connect your phone to the Internet. The connection device can be in-built into your modem/router (since you don't want to change yours the option is not for you) or can be purchased separately - it's called ATA. ATA is not very expencive these days.
    You will need to connect the ATA device to your network and configure it according to your network as well as with settings provided by VOIP service provider (in this case iiNet). Once the ATA is configured correctly you can connect your 5.8Ghz cordless or any other phones to it and start making/receiving phone calls over network.
    I hope this simplified explanation will help you to decide where you want to position your phone/modem/ATA.
    I did some researching today and i understand how it works with an ATA etc, i was more after how iinet compare and voip in general having had no experience with it. So with iinet i can have a conventional phone service as well as voip ? I like the ideal of not having to pay line rental and replacing that cost with larger dl limit and faster speed.

  • #4
    Senior Member
    fromaron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,860
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 437 Times in 244 Posts
    Rep Power
    298
    Reputation
    4865

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loanrangiel View Post
    I did some researching today and i understand how it works with an ATA etc, i was more after how iinet compare and voip in general having had no experience with it. So with iinet i can have a conventional phone service as well as voip ? I like the ideal of not having to pay line rental and replacing that cost with larger dl limit and faster speed.
    I am on Naked adsl2 with iinet for more than a year and didn't regret my choice for a second. I don't pay any line fees and VOIP quality is no different to land phones.
    The way I set my phone network up I have no physical connection to the ADSL2 line. My phone network is plugged in straight to the ATA port and all phones in a house are working of VOIP network.
    If you do a search in this forum you will find more posts on the topic with more detailed explanations.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to fromaron For This Useful Post:

    loanrangiel (05-06-09)

  • #5
    Registered User mate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 162 Times in 118 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    -233

    Default

    adsl2+ with VOIP with iiNet here. Don't get the crappy Belkin router they offer. i like the fact i pay telstra nothing.
    iam a bogan

  • #6
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,490
    Thanks
    336
    Thanked 510 Times in 352 Posts
    Rep Power
    356
    Reputation
    6998

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mate View Post
    adsl2+ with VOIP with iiNet here. Don't get the crappy Belkin router they offer. i like the fact i pay telstra nothing.
    I saw what they charge for them, i will keep my router and just get an ATA adapter.

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) is a application layer control simple signalling protocol for VoIP implementations using the Redirect Mode.

  • #8
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,490
    Thanks
    336
    Thanked 510 Times in 352 Posts
    Rep Power
    356
    Reputation
    6998

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jrs.reign View Post
    Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) is a application layer control simple signalling protocol for VoIP implementations using the Redirect Mode.
    And you say this because ?................................................. ...................

  • #9
    Senior Member jamesv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    555
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 22 Times in 14 Posts
    Rep Power
    160
    Reputation
    141

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mate View Post
    adsl2+ with VOIP with iiNet here. Don't get the crappy Belkin router they offer. i like the fact i pay telstra nothing.
    My oldest son has recently set up wih Iinet naked with VOIP, no contract or problems so far and he likes the $59.95 per month all up cost.

    My other son is in the process of doing the same but wishes to use his own 4 port / wireless modem/router with no VOIP. Any suggestions for the VOIP ATA port or are they all much of a muchness?

    Thks in advance

  • #10
    Senior Member
    fromaron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,860
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 437 Times in 244 Posts
    Rep Power
    298
    Reputation
    4865

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesv View Post
    Any suggestions for the VOIP ATA port or are they all much of a muchness?

    Thks in advance
    I was very happy with my Linksys PAP2 ATA until I forgot it's password. It wouldn't be a problem to reset it at all for me but I wanted to have a backup unit. So I went and bought a Minitar little unit. And again couldn't be happier with it's performance.
    As I have and used both ATAs I can say that PAP2 is much more flexible in the way you can customise it to your needs with only one disadvantage - you need to know what you are doing.
    Minitar ATA from the other hand is extremely easy to setup and it has even iiNet configuration settings included in it's profile list. So it's realy matter of selecting iiNet from the drop down list, entering your phone number and password and start calling around .
    As I said before the performance (audio quality, calls stability etc) is very compatible to the standard PSTN line, at least I can't see a difference there.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to fromaron For This Useful Post:

    jamesv (13-06-09)

  • #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    12

    Default

    I am on naked DSL with iinet using a Belkin 4 port modem with 2 voip sockets (only using one) with a Linksys WRT54G wireless router to ensure QoS and port forwarding plus I can control the wireless with a timer (I'm not paranoid ).

  • The Following User Says Thank You to ntmobilerepairs For This Useful Post:

    jamesv (13-06-09)

  • #12
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,490
    Thanks
    336
    Thanked 510 Times in 352 Posts
    Rep Power
    356
    Reputation
    6998

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fromaron View Post
    I was very happy with my Linksys PAP2 ATA until I forgot it's password. It wouldn't be a problem to reset it at all for me but I wanted to have a backup unit. So I went and bought a Minitar little unit. And again couldn't be happier with it's performance.
    As I have and used both ATAs I can say that PAP2 is much more flexible in the way you can customise it to your needs with only one disadvantage - you need to know what you are doing.
    Minitar ATA from the other hand is extremely easy to setup and it has even iiNet configuration settings included in it's profile list. So it's realy matter of selecting iiNet from the drop down list, entering your phone number and password and start calling around .
    As I said before the performance (audio quality, calls stability etc) is very compatible to the standard PSTN line, at least I can't see a difference there.
    I'm still undecided if i should go voip or another phone/bb bundle, of the linksys and minitar which would you recommend for stability and ease of use ?

  • #13
    Senior Member
    fromaron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,860
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 437 Times in 244 Posts
    Rep Power
    298
    Reputation
    4865

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loanrangiel View Post
    I'm still undecided if i should go voip or another phone/bb bundle, of the linksys and minitar which would you recommend for stability and ease of use ?
    Maybe I didn't make my previous post clear. What I was trying to say the stability is the same for both when Minitar is definetely a winner from the ease of use point of view.

  • #14
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,490
    Thanks
    336
    Thanked 510 Times in 352 Posts
    Rep Power
    356
    Reputation
    6998

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fromaron View Post
    Maybe I didn't make my previous post clear. What I was trying to say the stability is the same for both when Minitar is definetely a winner from the ease of use point of view.
    Thanks again, i just bought a Zyxel 2302r for $20 so i now i just have to choose a new isp, Iinet is looking good its the downtime that is my only worry - not for me but the missus is home with 2 young kids and if she is without phone or internet my life wont be worth living.

  • #15
    Senior Member
    fromaron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,860
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 437 Times in 244 Posts
    Rep Power
    298
    Reputation
    4865

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loanrangiel View Post
    its the downtime that is my only worry - not for me but the missus is home with 2 young kids and if she is without phone or internet my life wont be worth living.
    Sure, it's a well known fact that if you have to rely on a phone for health or security reasons, then VOIP probably is not an option yet. From my experience I had my internet and obviously phone down twice for the last 14 or so months with iiNet. First time it happened last summer when half of the Melbourne suburbs had power blackouts - as I understand PSTN phones went down as well in a lot of places. Second time I had my house circuit breaker failure which left me without phones for a half a day. So it can happen. I always have my mobile phones (everyone in my household has one) as a backup communication device and so far it's all working well. We never've been in isolation.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to fromaron For This Useful Post:

    jamesv (13-06-09)

  • #16
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,490
    Thanks
    336
    Thanked 510 Times in 352 Posts
    Rep Power
    356
    Reputation
    6998

    Default

    Took the plunge for adsl2 plus phone and voip, this way i can get the missus used to using it and then later on may switch to a naked plan.

  • #17
    Senior Member jamesv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    555
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 22 Times in 14 Posts
    Rep Power
    160
    Reputation
    141

    Default

    Thks fromaron, bug*er iinet just got back to him and told no ports available for next 6 months or so !!

  • #18
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,490
    Thanks
    336
    Thanked 510 Times in 352 Posts
    Rep Power
    356
    Reputation
    6998

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesv View Post
    Thks fromaron, bug*er iinet just got back to him and told no ports available for next 6 months or so !!
    Thats why i changed from Iprimus to iinet as iprimus wanted an extra 27.95 for the plan i wanted because they had no adsl2 hardware in my exchange. I signed up on Saturday and getting churned today , and i must say it is refreshing to be able to talk to someone local and to be put thru immediately instead of waiting for 30mins plus before cracking it and hanging up.

  • #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    141
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    hi mate,
    i am getting naked dsl with voip from iinet.which voip router are u using?
    u tell me Belkin one is crap. i have decided to bring my own router then pay 199 dollar for belkin. please suggest me the best voip wireless router.or can i just use this zyxel 2302r voip adaptor with my sppedtouch modem/wirelss router ?please suggest me good setup.
    thanks
    Ram

    Quote Originally Posted by mate View Post
    adsl2+ with VOIP with iiNet here. Don't get the crappy Belkin router they offer. i like the fact i pay telstra nothing.
    Last edited by crappymate; 06-07-09 at 12:55 PM.

  • #20
    Registered User mate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 162 Times in 118 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    -233

    Default

    google the iinet Belkin, i am not the only one who thinks lowly of it. Get a Billion 7404. the ducks guts.
    iam a bogan

  • Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. e71 voip iinet setup problem
      By bigh in forum VoIP
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 29-12-09, 06:16 PM
    2. Voip to Voip different providers
      By B52 in forum VoIP
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 30-09-09, 08:38 PM
    3. Modem/Router/WiFi & VOIP 4 iinet ??
      By *fergs* in forum VoIP
      Replies: 13
      Last Post: 03-04-09, 08:44 AM
    4. iiNet vs TPG
      By Final Attack in forum Australian Internet and NBN
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 09-12-08, 12:48 AM
    5. iinet,going to court
      By dan22 in forum General Chat
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 24-11-08, 09:25 PM

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •