Thread: 500 Days of Summer

Thanks

Default 500 Days of Summer

I've never tried to write a movie review before so here goes....

In One Sentence
    This film is similar to Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind, but with a less confusing storyline.

Plot
    Boy meets Girl and thinks she is the one, Girl doesn't agree and makes this clear from Day 1, Boy continues to model his life around this belief despite the impending disaster which results from doing so.

Rating
    6/10 - Where 1 is There Will Be Blood and 10 is Donnie Darko or The Usual Suspects.

There are no spoilers for this film. The opening scenes of the film itself are spoilers to the story that is about to be presented. The term story is used loosely because all you ever see are selected scenes depicting the relationship between the protagonist character and the female he has selected as being is the one and only girl for him.

The film basically shows the fragmented demise of this relationship in a slightly numeric order. At the very start the viewer knows how this story ends but is left needing to fill in the void between where it started and how it ended. This void is only partially filled in by watching the entire film.

Technically this film should be labeled a comedy. To elaborate would be to say that this film is a love story mixed with a few numerous scenes and sprinkled with a commentary overtone symbolising an old documentary, mixed with random film joins that suggest the film is a lesser grade than it actually is.