Thread: DIY Foxtel IQ

Thanks

Default DIY Foxtel IQ

Hi All

I am very new to the whole satellite thing so sorry if this is newbie question. I have recently moved out of home and belive it or not right next door to the parents... has its pros and cons.
    While at the parents I had foxtel installed and had two iq boxes. My old man is a sparky and we cabled up my house including fitting a sat dish its 65cm dish and i have an acer dual lnb think its 10700, now i pointed the sat dish the same as the parents and tried out an IQ box but no signal is being detected according to the iq setup(zero signal strength) i have tested the lines and its all good, im guessing my lnb may be dead can i assume that even if it was pointing in slightly the wrong direction i would still get some form of signal?
    is there anyway to test the lnb? (if thats an issue)

any help would be greatly appreciated

Cheers

Look Here ->
    Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 13,731 Times in 5,823 Posts

You cant just roughly aim a dish , it is a very precise thing. Have you aligned it with a satellite meter ?

Thanks

no i was thinking of getting one if i cant work it out as that would definatly tell me if there is a signal wouldnt it?

Basically since our houses are next to each other i took a magnetic compass and took the reading of the dish on my parents then got the degrees elevation and the lnb degrees so i would think it would be pretty close at the very least get a week signal but the iq box under testing shows no signal what so ever and there should be a bar from red to green showing the signal strength. but as i said i am new to this so my assumtions could be totally off

Thanks

1 degree off left/ right/ up/ down and u get nuttin.

Thanks

best thing (or easiest) would be to put dual lnb on your dads dish and run a cable accross the yard to your place..... Might not be the best method but would get u outa trouble til you align your dish properly

Thanks