Thread: Custom LED circuitry design help

Thanks

Default Custom LED circuitry design help

I'm starting a project for a custom Light Board.
    I've decided to go with using LEDs under the panel, as they have low power consumption and can be quite bright
    and I've never worked with LEDs before, so why not give it a go? And it would be far less fragile and more portable.

Here is my current Panel plan:

LED Panel
    ---------
    Width & Height: 40cm x 30cm
    LED type: 5mm White Water/clear (possibly 3mm)

Now. This is where I need the help.
    How do I start designing my schematics and working out what I need in the circuit and where?
    Should the LEDs be placed in parallel? What resistors will I need?

If I was back in school when I was actually doing these basic ciruits I'd know how. But its been so long, I just cant remember how it goes. =(

Just so you know my level of expereince: I've recently put together some of the electronic 'project packs', so I understand how the basic components work (resistors / capacitors / diodes / transistors). This includes making a 'Fuzebox', which is an open source 8-bit gaming console. But those dont require me to design the circuit, its more or less just building it. I completed a physics course in college and understand electricity quite well.

Is there a standard method for working this out? or a process?

Please help me!

Warrenator
    Last edited by Warrenator; 20-11-09 at 10:37 AM.

Look Here ->
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,452 Times in 1,066 Posts

Wink Using LEDs.

Quote Originally Posted by Warrenator View Post
    I'm starting a project for a custom Light Board.
    I've decided to go with using LEDs under the panel, as they have low power consumption and can be quite bright
    and I've never worked with LEDs before, so why not give it a go? And it would be far less fragile and more portable.
    Here is my current Panel plan:
    LED Panel
    ---------
    Width & Height: 40cm x 30cm