Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Engin Voice Box 3102

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    best4less's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7,689
    Thanks
    3,480
    Thanked 2,206 Times in 1,132 Posts
    Rep Power
    696
    Reputation
    15145

    Default Engin Voice Box 3102

    Has anyone got any comments about these units
    and is this the way to go to get VOIP
    any feed back would be great

    cheers
    When you do things right, people won't be sure that you have done anything at all



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    best4less's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7,689
    Thanks
    3,480
    Thanked 2,206 Times in 1,132 Posts
    Rep Power
    696
    Reputation
    15145

    Default

    Or is gotalk any good
    You get free calls to mobiles (100)
    When you do things right, people won't be sure that you have done anything at all

  • #3
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    51
    Posts
    30,706
    Thanks
    2,128
    Thanked 13,024 Times in 5,577 Posts
    Rep Power
    4182
    Reputation
    151058

    Default

    I'm with Engin and use their Netgear Wireless Modem/Router so I cant comment on the model you are referring to. I have 2 lines and pay $14.95 on each for unlimited/untimed local and national calls.

    I have been with them for about a year and no real complaints other than some hardware failure which was quickly replaced.

  • #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    50
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    137
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    In general I think it's better to get an unlocked box that you can use with any internet and voip provider. Currently I'm using .

    The deal Sanity is on looks exceptional though!

  • #5
    Senior Member
    best4less's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7,689
    Thanks
    3,480
    Thanked 2,206 Times in 1,132 Posts
    Rep Power
    696
    Reputation
    15145

    Default

    Would there be any difference to the quality of voip if I....

    Used a analogue-telephone-adapter and just one of my old phones i have lying around?

    Or a router with voip built in,would this dedicate more bandwidth to the voip
    side of the router when I was making a call?

    Or a ip-phone (the one that looks like a normal phone) and just plug that into
    my router that i have now?

    The soft phones seem to use your computer resources would that be better than using a external device?

    So many options so much reading
    When you do things right, people won't be sure that you have done anything at all

  • #6
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,057
    Thanks
    5,216
    Thanked 3,912 Times in 1,647 Posts
    Rep Power
    1164
    Reputation
    44561

    Default

    I have used a variety of VOIP devices, with a variety of providors and all have given good results.
    As far as equipment is concerned, I think it's a matter of convenience of use and how much you are prepared to pay. I started out a few years ago simply with a $9.95 pair of headphones with boom microphone attached and connected to my P.C., which was running firstly, Skype software and then Freshtel. This worked well but meant that my computer had to be switched on in order to use VOIP.

    I currently use a Sipura SPA2000 ATA (aka Lynksys SPA2000, Engin Voicebox 1) with an old Telstra Touchfone 300 attached. The ATA is connected to my router which means that VOIP is no longer dependant on a computer. I am currently using Freecall as my VOIP providor.
    This works well for me. If I wanted portability I could attach a cordless telephone instead.
    Quality is good but does depend on which codec you use as this determines the sampling rate and consequently also the bandwidth.

    VOIP is certainly the way to go if you want to save money on telephone calls.

  • #7
    Senior Member
    best4less's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7,689
    Thanks
    3,480
    Thanked 2,206 Times in 1,132 Posts
    Rep Power
    696
    Reputation
    15145

    Default

    Thanks guys I am just about to go for a Linksys Wireless Router VOIP
    and see how that goes

    Cheers for all your feed back
    When you do things right, people won't be sure that you have done anything at all

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •