Thread: windows domains

Thanks

Default windows domains

Hi,
    im playing around with windows server 2003 and exchange server (2 laptops, one as the server, DC, exchange server and the other laptop as a workstation on the domain), with not many issues, but for the life of me, cant allow a user to change the system time? can anyone explain how i can allow this or make any computer that logs into the domain have the system time sync with the server? ive added the user to all the admin groups and even logged into the workstation as admin of the domain and local computer, with no luck.

Look Here ->
    Thanks

I am no expert but at work we are on a domain and I have admin rights and can change the time on the work station. Only couldn't when I was not an admin.

If you set up a time server on your domain you can get the remotes to sync with it. Have a look here for some ideas.

right at the end it says you need to disable windows time service to be able to adjust the time and have it stay at the new time... but I think your problem is you can't even adjust the time.

edit ... are you getting ""you do not have a proper privilege level to change the system time" or similar?

Thanks

Something to check...

Start
    Settings
    Here's where to control this on an XP box.

Control Panel
    Administrative Tools
    Local Security Policy
    Security Settings
    Local Policies
    User Rights Assignment
    Change the System Time
    Add or remove users as desired.

If you are running a 2000 box on an 2000 or 2003 domain, you can use global policies to define this. I don't think there's anywhere to control this on a 9x or stand-alone 2000 box.
    from

and have a look at the group policies..

Thanks