Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 1 or 3 phase power for new home

  1. #1
    Member Toohey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Here, There and Everywhere
    Age
    35
    Posts
    431
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
    Rep Power
    144
    Reputation
    97

    Default 1 or 3 phase power for new home

    We are running through variations with the builder at the moment for our new home and they mentioned to us that we should consider putting in 3 phase power if we are going to be running a ducted A/C unit.

    Is this true, anyone here running a large A/C unit on 1 phase power?

    If it makes any difference it is a single story house, would have an average home power consumption, only extras as i see it would be A/C and pool pump.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member autotuner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    I have no idea...
    Posts
    518
    Thanks
    93
    Thanked 209 Times in 134 Posts
    Rep Power
    163
    Reputation
    1279

    Default

    When I had ducted Air installed I was told that 3 phase would be better, but my budget didn't stretch to getting it run in, so I went with the largest Single phase model.
    In hindsight I should have sold a kidney to get the 3 phase, it struggles on really hot days, my house single story, and is not huge.

    My mate has the same brand as mine, but in 3 phase, it seems to get lots colder , quicker.

    If I was building again, I'd get 3 phase connected from the outset.
    I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy...

  • #3
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,685
    Thanks
    5,173
    Thanked 11,414 Times in 5,621 Posts
    Rep Power
    4005
    Reputation
    163971

    Default

    I went with 3 phase.

    Greater efficiency.

    Also divided up power and lighting circuits across all three phases.

    Often with power disruptions, only one phase goes down, so only part of the house is affected and if for example your fridge/freezer was going to be off for a while, you can run an extension cable to a power outlet in the house that is on a phase that's still working.

    The same with lighting.... the whole place isn't left in the dark.

  • #4
    Senior Member CONAXLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    767
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 223 Times in 123 Posts
    Rep Power
    223
    Reputation
    2879

    Default

    Also a 3 Phase is good if you are running an Air Compressor or electric welding, it doesn't disrupt while watching!

  • #5
    Senior Member
    beer4life's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Nether World.
    Age
    85
    Posts
    6,375
    Thanks
    1,351
    Thanked 1,452 Times in 1,066 Posts
    Rep Power
    502
    Reputation
    7552

    Default Inverter Air Conditioners.

    G'day Cobbers,
    I realise this is only a side issue, but I was unaware of the exact difference.
    There is another thread where posters are talking about cycling of their units and I could not find that mine was behaving that way. So here is the explanation for greater efficiency.

    Quote Originally Posted by panasonic
    What is Inverter technology? Why should you choose an Inverter Air Conditioner?
    An Inverter Air Conditioning unit constantly adjusts compressor rotation speed to provide optimum performance at all times. This extremely precise operation enables quick cooling while reducing power consumption compared to conventional non-inverter units. Inverter Air Conditioning units are able to maintain a set temperature much more efficiently than a fixed speed unit.
    I'm aware that there is a defrost cycle in very cold weather and that this may be what is being referred to.
    Most certainly worth bearing in mind.
    Kindest Regards, " The Druid ".

    Last edited by beer4life; 04-03-10 at 02:11 PM.

  • #6
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    76
    Posts
    13,824
    Thanks
    1,242
    Thanked 3,803 Times in 2,523 Posts
    Rep Power
    1739
    Reputation
    56926

    Default

    When my daughter moved to her new home, the power bloke came to turn on the power and he told her to hang onto the 3 phase system installed, Ducted A/C, as the companies were discouraging 3 phase installations.
    This was Intergal, in the Gosford Area.
    I thought that was a bit odd but he was adamant that the company did not want 3 phase domestic connections.
    I thought these 'new' Invertor systems were to 'cheat' the A/C into thinking it has a 3 phase supply and designed for locations where 3 phase might not be immediately available.
    Thats what one salesman told me anyway.
    Untill the supplier moved a transformer to the pole at my fence, I didnt have 3 phase nor did the other houses on that same line.
    By that I mean there were only a Pair of wires passing me from the transformer end.
    Last edited by gordon_s1942; 04-03-10 at 04:19 PM.

  • #7
    Senior Member
    freakee1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    somewhere warmer
    Posts
    1,357
    Thanks
    185
    Thanked 651 Times in 355 Posts
    Rep Power
    323
    Reputation
    6874

    Default

    a 3 phase ducted A/C unit is the way to go. Most new units have "soft" start to remove the "dip" when the compressor starts. 1 phase A/C units tend to be modular (wall, floor, window etc) and the inverter units convert the indoor unit from AC to DC to control the fan speed better with soft start control on the compressor

    The advantage of a 3 phase unit is the a/c unit is typically alot larger in capacity and the 3 phases equally share the load and again have less impact on the power grid and again no dip

    for a salesman to insist on 1 phase is probably for profit margin only - very easy to install

    go for the 3 phase unit if you have 3 phases available



    f

  • #8
    Senior Member
    iwacelect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,581
    Thanks
    858
    Thanked 663 Times in 434 Posts
    Rep Power
    310
    Reputation
    4190

    Default

    when i biult my place i DEMANDED all 3 phases to the meter box

    just the same as mtv spilt it across the system, 1 phase lights, 1 power, 1 cooktop oven ac, also got 15amp socket in the garage!
    When I explained to the guy what avatar I wanted, that wasn't what I meant!

  • #9
    Senior Member
    Godzilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    55
    Posts
    12,639
    Thanks
    15,892
    Thanked 6,988 Times in 3,571 Posts
    Rep Power
    2053
    Reputation
    74853

    Default

    At my last house i was planning to install some industrial machines in my garage and wanted to convert over to 3 phase.

    The sparky quoted around $1500 (15 years ago) to run the underground cable from the street to my fusebox and divide the 3 phases across the house.

    At this house i had a single phase 8.3Kw cooling, 9Kw heating inverter fitted to cool just the rear of the house but the honest truth is it had no problems cooling the whole house during Melbournes hot summer.

    Its just a mid sized 3 bedroom home, about 16 squares in size with 2 living areas, no problems cooling the whole thing.

  • #10
    Member Toohey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Here, There and Everywhere
    Age
    35
    Posts
    431
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
    Rep Power
    144
    Reputation
    97

    Default

    Thanks all, you lot have been a great help

  • Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 2
      Last Post: 13-07-09, 10:27 AM
    2. EOI: Eaton Powerware PW9355 3-Phase 15kVA UPS
      By zei20l in forum Buy Sell and Trade
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 02-06-09, 05:01 PM
    3. 3 Phase power
      By Ma_Baker in forum General Chat
      Replies: 14
      Last Post: 31-01-09, 10:14 PM
    4. Try This At Home
      By GranDad in forum Mobile Phones
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 27-07-08, 12:41 PM
    5. Aurora Ir1 phase out.
      By z80 in forum Satellite TV General
      Replies: 39
      Last Post: 29-04-08, 06:19 PM

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •