Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Telstra line rental

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    113
    Reputation
    20

    Question Telstra line rental

    Just hooked up voip with Engin gave great help in setup
    i now want to down grade my phone plane with telstra ,i have kept telstra as my home line and also for my internet provider ,if i use the budget plane at $20.95 will i get charged for the time iam on the net with bigpond



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    76
    Posts
    13,824
    Thanks
    1,242
    Thanked 3,803 Times in 2,523 Posts
    Rep Power
    1738
    Reputation
    56926

    Default

    I thought line rental was a fixed cost per month and Internet plans go by the amount of Data on each plan.
    Your internet plan may have charges if you exceed your limits but again thats not done on a Time basis but by per Mbyte used.
    The only 'Time' charge I know of is either making a call to a Mobile or STD/Overseas.
    Go read the FINE print or failing that, take a Headache tablet and ring BigPond.
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!

  • #3
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    51
    Posts
    30,718
    Thanks
    2,133
    Thanked 13,049 Times in 5,587 Posts
    Rep Power
    4194
    Reputation
    151558

    Default

    If you are using voip, I am presuming you are using ADSL. Your outgoing calls are billed by Engin. You need to explain your question a bit more clearly.

  • #4
    Member GavinSV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    430
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked 114 Times in 59 Posts
    Rep Power
    176
    Reputation
    1124

    Default

    I'm guessing you're refering to the fine print in Telstras HomeLine Budget Plan

    HomeLine Budget customers agree not to acquire services from other carriage service providers by dialing their access override code and must not acquire a broadband service from another service provider which is provided using line sharing technology.
    But then you said you've kept Telstra/bigpond as your ISP (FOOL ), so I guess this doesn't apply to you.
    “There are 10 types of people in this world, those who understand binary – and those who don’t”

  • #5
    Senior Member urban_s0ulja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South East Asia
    Posts
    4,065
    Thanks
    380
    Thanked 509 Times in 329 Posts
    Rep Power
    320
    Reputation
    2256

    Default

    im on homeline budget + TPG.

    Plenty of others are as well...

  • #6
    Senior Member porkchops's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mt Gambier
    Age
    43
    Posts
    536
    Thanks
    168
    Thanked 95 Times in 81 Posts
    Rep Power
    145
    Reputation
    543

    Default

    I gather that david has his internet and home phone bundled into one package, so you would need to check with Telstra if you can reduce your line rental to Homeline Budget (as may be some caveat that prevents this!)

    As advised, ring up the Telstra hotline.
    We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them - Albert Einstein

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •