Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Vic Smart Meter Hacked ??

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 121 Times in 75 Posts
    Rep Power
    174
    Reputation
    575

    Default Vic Smart Meter Hacked ??

    Got your attention

    Any one taking bets on a hacked date . ???



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    415
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 37 Times in 19 Posts
    Rep Power
    158
    Reputation
    255

    Default

    Already done!

  • #3
    Junior Member Gregathome's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
    Rep Power
    140
    Reputation
    125

    Default

    Please share

  • #4
    Senior Member joezep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    SE Melbourne
    Posts
    847
    Thanks
    456
    Thanked 229 Times in 161 Posts
    Rep Power
    216
    Reputation
    2428

    Default

    I would like to know too

  • #5
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    126
    Reputation
    75

    Default

    Me Three
    dreamax 600,strong 4663

  • #6
    Junior Member Gregathome's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
    Rep Power
    140
    Reputation
    125

    Default

    Hmm please tell

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 26 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    141
    Reputation
    131

    Default

    So exactly what do you get when you hack a smart meter? Potentially you could run your house from a cheaper tarriff, but different tarriffs aren't available yet.

    The other thing you could is activate the disconnect relay. Something you could do perhaps to an annoying neighbour

  • #8
    Junior Member Gregathome's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
    Rep Power
    140
    Reputation
    125

    Default

    Or edit the the ansi script to report 1 unit = 10Kw instead of 1 unit = 1Kw as the meter only reports back consumed units via wimax network.

  • #9
    Senior Member
    Learjet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Queensland
    Age
    56
    Posts
    1,407
    Thanks
    613
    Thanked 1,085 Times in 356 Posts
    Rep Power
    457
    Reputation
    13585

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy Chee View Post
    So exactly what do you get when you hack a smart meter?
    Jail?

  • The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Learjet For This Useful Post:

    Coldamus (03-12-10),Crafty (20-07-10),i7 920 (01-09-10),Ramjet (19-07-10)

  • #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    I've done a bit of research on this. From what I can tell the model used in vic is the EDMI MK7C. Found 3 manuals and docs that might be helpful.
    One file even has a RS232 port info for connecting it to a PC com port...






    Someone may be able to make some further development with this.
    EDMI also makes 3 types of software to connect to the meters they are called.
    MultiDrive
    EziView
    EziSetup (probably the most useful)
    Probably very highly guarded software so if someone can get their hands on it it would open up a whole lot of possibilities.
    Hope this helps.
    Last edited by scam; 27-08-10 at 10:43 PM.

  • #11
    Junior Member Gregathome's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
    Rep Power
    140
    Reputation
    125

    Default

    Tellnet via RS232 all is in ANSI ..

  • #12
    Premium Member
    oceanboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,166
    Thanks
    7,278
    Thanked 8,787 Times in 4,486 Posts
    Rep Power
    3694
    Reputation
    150812

    Default

    How funny.... All this Tech Talk on how to hack a Smart Meter....
    Sometimes the old ways still work just as well.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to oceanboy For This Useful Post:

    Gregathome (28-08-10)

  • #13
    Member roosta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    494
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    -101

    Default

    Ah...sharing JK?

  • #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default smart meter hack

    well i think the easiest smart meter hack is to bypass the meter. you get a wire connect it to the incoming wire were it meets the meter and wire it to a circuit in your house . easy as pie.

  • #15
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Aus
    Posts
    354
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked 64 Times in 26 Posts
    Rep Power
    153
    Reputation
    342

    Default

    HA!!!!!!!!!! grouse what a pissa hacked already Heee! I love this web site

  • The Following User Says Thank You to thatslife For This Useful Post:

    roosta (06-12-10)

  • #16
    Senior Member Min's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,150
    Thanks
    197
    Thanked 60 Times in 46 Posts
    Rep Power
    184
    Reputation
    301

    Default

    Has anyone made any progress on this yet?
    Blown Humax 5400Z, Strong SRT 4658X, Strong 4663X and DM 518.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •