Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Getting rid of dual boot XP

  1. #1
    Member kotd1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    295
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    140
    Reputation
    21

    Default Getting rid of dual boot XP

    Wondering if someone can help me out here. I had an 80gb drive with two seperate partitions (C and D). D: had XP on it.

    I wanted to reinstall windows and I chose to install it on C:. Once installed, I had a copy on each drive. I formatted D: but still everytime I start the computer, it asks me which XP OS I want to boot, even though the only working one is on C. Is there anyway to remove this?

    I want to remove the dual boot so it only boots from C without asking. I've tried formatting D: multiple times and even reinstalling XP on C: but I still get the dual boot screen on startup. Grrr

    Any help appreciated



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,915
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 328 Times in 158 Posts
    Rep Power
    838
    Reputation
    27207

    Default

    edit the boot.ini file

    it will look something like below but will have 2 entries change the name in both so they are different and when you reboot try one and if it boots windows go back to the boot ini and delete the other one


    it is a hidden operating file so you will need to allow the view of them and you will find it in the root of the C: drive


    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Main xp install" /fastdetect
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Main xp install" /fastdetect

    so change

    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Main xp install" /fastdetect
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="other_install" /fastdetect

  • #3
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    2,055
    Thanked 12,629 Times in 5,443 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    143158

    Default

    You could also go to control panel , Device Manager , System , System Properties , Adavanced , Startup and Recovery.

    Set time to display list of operating systems as zero.

  • #4
    Senior Member ben10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    644
    Thanks
    148
    Thanked 302 Times in 107 Posts
    Rep Power
    193
    Reputation
    2091

    Default

    don't think u can set it to 0, i think 3 seconds would be the minimum.

  • #5
    Member kotd1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    295
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    140
    Reputation
    21

    Default

    Thanks fatman, exactly what I needed. Deleted that bit and all good now

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •