Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Wheres the cricket in HD?

  1. #1
    Premium Member iTockz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Unknown
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 34 Times in 17 Posts
    Rep Power
    141
    Reputation
    237

    Default Wheres the cricket in HD?

    I was watching the cricket here in Sydney on GEM HD, come back at 6:30~ to watch the second innings and not being broadcast, whats goin on? Im able to pickup both Sydney and WIN(Wollongong) and they not showing it either in HD. Not complainin too much, watchin it on Nine (SD) but they advertised it pretty heavy that it was being broadcast in HD.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member cro69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    melb(vic)
    Posts
    903
    Thanks
    135
    Thanked 105 Times in 79 Posts
    Rep Power
    165
    Reputation
    650

    Default

    mabe you should be asking whats happened to the HD feeds for terrestial tv all together!!! im just HD tv's if the only true HD tv feed is ONESPORT????

  • #3
    Premium Member iTockz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Unknown
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 34 Times in 17 Posts
    Rep Power
    141
    Reputation
    237

    Default

    yeah thats a whole arguement on its own, but how can u have a HD feed, then pull it half way through the game? only to show a re-run of Friends in upscaled HD? got me fu**... confused.

  • #4
    Premium Member
    LeroyPatrol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N.E. Vic
    Posts
    15,963
    Thanks
    3,356
    Thanked 4,501 Times in 2,700 Posts
    Rep Power
    1526
    Reputation
    42371

    Default

    ah we got 2.5 men here some cricket stuff on gem but not the game.

    Leroy
    Last edited by LeroyPatrol; 07-11-10 at 08:06 PM.
    XCRUISER HDSR600HD twin sat and terrestrial receiver $OOS *
    XCRUISER HDSR385 Avant - sold out$OOS UltraPlus DVB-T and DVB-S2 tuners $49 Remotes $OOS

  • #5
    Premium Member iTockz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Unknown
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 34 Times in 17 Posts
    Rep Power
    141
    Reputation
    237

    Default

    bet ya they had a uninterrupted HD feed on Christmas Island.

  • #6
    Member Lomax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    43
    Posts
    356
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 151 Times in 48 Posts
    Rep Power
    171
    Reputation
    785

    Default

    Yeah I was a bit confused too. The EPG said Cricket on Channel 9 and on GEM (in HD). But I had cricket on Channel 9 and some other junk on GEM. It's one thing to provide no EPG data, but another to supply MISLEADING EPG data.

    I'm going to contact Freeview because this is just bullshit.

  • #7
    Senior Member cro69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    melb(vic)
    Posts
    903
    Thanks
    135
    Thanked 105 Times in 79 Posts
    Rep Power
    165
    Reputation
    650

    Default

    i think you will find it finished very early and thats why 2.5 men are on!!!going back to the cricket tho where were starc and mckay before this one dayer??

  • #8
    Junior Member Aurora8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lomax View Post
    Yeah I was a bit confused too. The EPG said Cricket on Channel 9 and on GEM (in HD). But I had cricket on Channel 9 and some other junk on GEM. It's one thing to provide no EPG data, but another to supply MISLEADING EPG data.

    I'm going to contact Freeview because this is just bullshit.
    Well the original plan was to broadcast the second session on GEM too, however the network decided against this, probably due to the match already being almost finished (it ended up lasting another hour before it was finished) and perhaps wanting to keep the schedule as simple as possible in timing for GEM throughout the night (though this point is speculation as you'd have to ask whoever made that decision to know for sure). It's not like it was the network's intention the whole time to purposely mislead in this situation. Though I do understand the frustration of not getting the second session in high definition via GEM, especially considering the first session was simulcast on GEM.
    "What is the use of living, if it be not to strive for noble causes and to make this muddled world a better place for those who will live in it after we are gone?".

    Member 23402 - an asset of NSW.

  • #9
    Junior Member Aurora8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cro69 View Post
    i think you will find it finished very early and thats why 2.5 men are on!!!
    Yes, however the poster was actually referring to GEM which resumed normal programming from 6pm rather than continuing with the high definition simulcast of the main channel till the match's completion at around 7.30.
    "What is the use of living, if it be not to strive for noble causes and to make this muddled world a better place for those who will live in it after we are gone?".

    Member 23402 - an asset of NSW.

  • #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
    Rep Power
    155
    Reputation
    122

    Default

    Where was the HD cricket today? 1st Test only on the SD channel.

  • #11
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    52
    Posts
    30,883
    Thanks
    2,202
    Thanked 13,333 Times in 5,677 Posts
    Rep Power
    4332
    Reputation
    157845

    Default

    I am watching yesterdays play on Fox Sports HD and its enough to make you cry. I think I would near rather watch it on replay than watch it live.

    Anyone else noticed that Foxtel's HD seems to be far superior in quality than the FTA's offerings ? I realise that its hard to make a comparison when I dream of jeannie is always on , but if I compared both on say cricket, Foxtel looks much better.

  • #12
    Senior Member
    mickstv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Age
    47
    Posts
    4,152
    Thanks
    2,156
    Thanked 2,368 Times in 1,381 Posts
    Rep Power
    615
    Reputation
    17706

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sanity View Post
    I am watching yesterdays play on Fox Sports HD and its enough to make you cry. I think I would near rather watch it on replay than watch it live.

    Anyone else noticed that Foxtel's HD seems to be far superior in quality than the FTA's offerings ? I realise that its hard to make a comparison when I dream of jeannie is always on , but if I compared both on say cricket, Foxtel looks much better.


    I guess when FTA is just Mpeg 2 and they have too many channels for the allowed bandwidth.

    Austar/Foxtel is always going to be better when they are using Dvb-S2 with Mpeg 4. Better compression and more bandwidth to play with. (mpeg 4 isn't used on all channels)


    It also depends on the Quality of the source.


    Mickstv
    Last edited by mickstv; 26-11-10 at 10:08 AM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mickstv For This Useful Post:


  • #13
    Senior Member cro69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    melb(vic)
    Posts
    903
    Thanks
    135
    Thanked 105 Times in 79 Posts
    Rep Power
    165
    Reputation
    650

    Default

    mabe thats the reason packers bought into the 10 network to steal the cricket from 9 and put in on onesportHD!!!lol

  • #14
    Senior Member allstarnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,207
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 107 Times in 63 Posts
    Rep Power
    196
    Reputation
    545

    Default

    why the fook aren't they showing the 1st Ashes test live on Gem? It's madness. It's being filmed in HD, cos we get that feed here on Sky NZ

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •