Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: switching to naked dsl

  1. #1
    Senior Member osiris777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In Dreams
    Posts
    897
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 159 Times in 85 Posts
    Rep Power
    186
    Reputation
    973

    Default switching to naked dsl

    gday guys
    in a few weeks i am switching to naked dsl with Internode
    i know they have nodephone for whatever per month, but the dude told me i needed a special handset that plugs into the modem?
    that would set me back about $200, i figured id be able to ebay a far cheaper one if i wanted.
    the only other option i know of is skype.
    can someone give me a run down on my options please?
    basically all i ever do is call pizza, taxi or mum every once in a while.
    dont reckon id even use 2 bucks worth of calls a month as it is now.
    local calls and interstate once in a while is all id do, but i do want to know about mobiles also.
    any info would be awesome
    ...In Somnis Veritas...



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member porkchops's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mt Gambier
    Age
    43
    Posts
    536
    Thanks
    168
    Thanked 95 Times in 81 Posts
    Rep Power
    143
    Reputation
    543

    Default

    With the same ISP this way and have a Billion 7404VGP router for years that was originally acquired through Internode. The reason being is it has 2 voip lines in the beast, that allows you to plug in an ordinary analogue or cordless phone that you would usually use on the copper network (if you weren't naked!)

    Am wondering if below device was the suggested?

    Billion 6404VGP - Ethernet Router with 2 VoIP ports, 3 Ethernet ports and 802.11g Wireless (note: router is not an ADSL modem, does not come pre-configured) $199.00
    Edit: noticed this does not contain an ADSL modem, at this price point hopefully better options about.



    Seriously unsure what router you have, but if it does NOT have capabilities for VOIP, then suggest looking to upgrade the router with this built-in. If you have kudos with any particular brand, then sugggest searching further with that brand in mind.

    Personally our Billion has been great - as use it for all outgoing home calls and has progressed through several plan changes - including recent upgrade to ADSL2+ and still chugs along
    Last edited by porkchops; 15-11-10 at 04:14 PM.
    We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them - Albert Einstein

  • #3
    Senior Member osiris777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In Dreams
    Posts
    897
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 159 Times in 85 Posts
    Rep Power
    186
    Reputation
    973

    Default

    um so i think from what your saying there i need a modem with some sort of voip connection?
    they didnt actually say any model or anything like that, from what i gathered he was talking about a phone you plug into the modem i already have. could be wrong though.
    ...In Somnis Veritas...

  • #4
    Senior Member osiris777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In Dreams
    Posts
    897
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 159 Times in 85 Posts
    Rep Power
    186
    Reputation
    973

    Default

    one thing i should add, i dont give a shit about incoming calls.
    ...In Somnis Veritas...

  • #5
    Senior Member
    fromaron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,856
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 433 Times in 241 Posts
    Rep Power
    293
    Reputation
    4785

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by osiris777 View Post
    one thing i should add, i dont give a shit about incoming calls.
    With amount of calls you are making and not giving a shit about incoming calls you probably better off using a softphone (voip program on your computer) using a microphone and speakers/headphones.

  • #6
    Senior Member osiris777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In Dreams
    Posts
    897
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 159 Times in 85 Posts
    Rep Power
    186
    Reputation
    973

    Default

    skype you mean right?
    i mentioned that before and i guess thats what ill firstly try and see how it goes
    any alternatives to skype?
    ...In Somnis Veritas...

  • #7
    Senior Member
    fromaron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,856
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 433 Times in 241 Posts
    Rep Power
    293
    Reputation
    4785

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by osiris777 View Post
    skype you mean right?
    i mentioned that before and i guess thats what ill firstly try and see how it goes
    any alternatives to skype?
    Not Skype at all. I mean something like X-Lite or millions of other free programs. You will configure your Node VOIP server and credentials and get it running. Alternative if you don't get VOIP account with node you can always setup one with few voip providers who offer good value for money.

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    136
    Reputation
    15

    Default

    Dude,

    All you need is a billion which supports a voip (FX Port thats where you'll be plugging in your normal PSTN phone into). Then you will need a ported number binded to your Voip, approx $10 per month but shop around you might find it cheaper, the reason for this is how are ppl going to call you if you don't have a number. There are stacks of Voip plans about just look around... And thats about it
    Good Luck and Cheers


    Freezz

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •