Thread: Dreambox PVR question

Thanks

Default Dreambox PVR question

Hi All,

Apologies first up if I'm raising a question that I should know (or be able to find) the information for. I'm pretty new to this whole satellite game, and gradually getting my head around the information out there before making any purchases.

I was first looking at the Strong boxes and came across the 4890 PVR before I stumbled onto the Dreambox 500S. It seems like a pretty worthwhile receiver, but doesn't have PVR capabilities. Until I found the 600 and 7020. Only problem is, there is very little information about them compared to the 500S. And on Austech I can't find a single reference to either.

Is it worthwhile following them up, or is there a very good reason that they are not spoken of?

Look Here ->
    Thanks

500s

great little unit and can pvr with a hard drive attached to a computer within the local lan.

great units though best with a laptop hdd and converter as the standard hdd draw to much power and it does not like it or the heat produced
    dont say linux if i wanted it id install it

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by froop View Post
    Is it worthwhile following them up, or is there a very good reason that they are not spoken of?
    Due to the system crash on here I suspect, it will all be back later.

I love the 600, 7020 and 500. But I prefer the 7020 for PVR and other stuff it has as it just works and works ..

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by fandtm666 View Post
    7020 great units though best with a laptop hdd and converter as the standard hdd draw to much power and it does not like it or the heat produced
    Horses for courses, and with the WD drives up to 1tb they work a ripper without heat or current overload and remember our average room temp is about 32 degrees all year round, so we know heat when we feel it.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by jonc View Post