Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: How to Monitor the traffic between Card and STB ?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Question How to Monitor the traffic between Card and STB ?

    Hi
    I've got a new Irdeto2 card with its own decoder , the card shows ACS 6 and can't run even under the newest OSCam version , so I think if I could monitor the traffic between the card and the receiver I might find something useful , or develop an Idea of sharing from inside the STB - even if that only clears one channel - .
    The point is that I made a simple interface by connecting the card I/O Pin to MAX232 RX Pin And its TX Pin to my PCs RX , I disabled all the hardware and software flow controls and tried deferent baudRates and deferent Parity options , all went to a series of continuous symbols and characters that I couldn't make any use from !!

    Any ides here ? what am I missing ? and how to find out more about the smartcard communication protocol ??



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,134
    Thanks
    145
    Thanked 599 Times in 263 Posts
    Rep Power
    969
    Reputation
    32627

    Default

    need to use a season logger with the relevant software

  • #3
    Premium Member
    Onefella's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Top End
    Posts
    2,007
    Thanks
    994
    Thanked 1,260 Times in 637 Posts
    Rep Power
    544
    Reputation
    16622

    Default

    Yep. A season logger is a pcb that slots in to your receiver and has a serial cable to monitor the data stream to your card, that either plugs into a socket on the end of the logger board, or a card reader plugged into your PC.

    has a few pointers to get you started.

    If you search for 'irdeto logging' or even just 'logging' there are quite a few informative threads on the subject.

    There are a few progs around to log with, Mlog, Wallbanger, IRD_LogExtract to name a few.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Onefella For This Useful Post:

    mr.natrix (05-01-11)

  • #4
    Premium Member agarol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    A state of constant denial
    Posts
    331
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 52 Times in 23 Posts
    Rep Power
    163
    Reputation
    331

    Default

    I suspect there is more to this than simply not being able to log the cam. It sounds like he has bought a UEC with card for VAST, and has found that he can't get pix in a dream or similar.
    Even when he is able to log the cam, it won't help.
    The VAST stream has new descriptors that are not used previously and this may be one of the reasons that existing cams don't work.
    Ag
    Energy is the father of creation

  • #5
    Premium Member
    Onefella's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Top End
    Posts
    2,007
    Thanks
    994
    Thanked 1,260 Times in 637 Posts
    Rep Power
    544
    Reputation
    16622

    Default

    Re-read the OP; sorry didn't realise you have Oscam running. If you're using a softcam, then it's just a matter of software to log card traffic.

  • #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Thank you all for your very useful replies.

    I am now reading the ISO7816 Specifications - with a paper and pin -
    Looks like a long rough road , but challenging and interesting - I guess :P -

    And no I am not doing that for the provider mentioned above , I even may do it for any card even an already shared one , because I need basics if I want to do anything .. right ??


    Regards to all
    Last edited by mr.natrix; 05-01-11 at 04:05 AM.

  • #7
    Premium Member agarol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    A state of constant denial
    Posts
    331
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 52 Times in 23 Posts
    Rep Power
    163
    Reputation
    331

    Default

    Yes, read the specs and understand.
    My experience is that the season interfaces often aren't reliable. There are several options to make logging more reliable. The best is to make an interface and attach it internally to the card reader, put a db9 connector on the back of the box. This is ok if you own the box, but probably unwise if you have a sub box. There is info here how to do it.
    Also be aware that many boxes use a clock of 6MHz, so you will need to log at 9600 baud.
    Ag
    Energy is the father of creation

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    I'm done reading . and understood the allot but " I guess I need practice to get everything understood" .
    I do have a subscription box, and I already opened it.
    Shall I go for this " in-box " logging method ?
    or it's better to try season-if first ?

  • #9
    Premium Member
    LeroyPatrol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N.E. Vic
    Posts
    15,896
    Thanks
    3,313
    Thanked 4,437 Times in 2,669 Posts
    Rep Power
    1496
    Reputation
    41091

    Default

    I would try the less invasive method of using a season logger where the card plugs into it and then the season logger into the receivers slot. It has an RS232 port that you then connect to your PC.

    Leroy
    XCRUISER HDSR600HD twin sat and terrestrial receiver $OOS *
    XCRUISER HDSR385 Avant - sold out$OOS UltraPlus DVB-T and DVB-S2 tuners $49 Remotes $OOS

  • #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Hay it's me again
    at last I received my Season Interface Logger ( after a month of waiting ! ).
    I tried it with an Old NDS box + Cutecom on linux PC and it worked fine.
    The strange thing is that when I insert the card in it and connect it to the STB the decoder keeps tilling (UNKNOWN SMART CARD) and the logger shows that the STB doesn't even try to inetialize the card !
    I guess the STB somehow finds out that there is something in the middle between it and the card !

    What do you think ?!

  • #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Port Lincoln
    Posts
    657
    Thanks
    145
    Thanked 362 Times in 179 Posts
    Rep Power
    211
    Reputation
    2205

    Default

    what logger interface are you using and does your particular season logger take its power from the card slot or is it externally powered - the decoder will power the card depending on its ATR - 5v 3.3v 1.8v etc, and it'll usually supply enough mA to power the smartcard only...

  • #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Yes you were right . my bad "I reversed the polarity of the dc supply thank god max232 is not destroyed"
    I am using season 2 interface.
    It is now logging. but sure my data is garbage. since I don't know on what baud Rate shall I log.
    I'll try to use a professional multimeter to find the card clock frequency ( by connecting it to clock pin ) maybe that will help to determine data baud rate.

    one final thing ... is it good enough to log using Cutecom as PC software ?
    or is there any more suitable software ?

    best regards

  • #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    100
    Reputation
    45

    Default wallbanger

    can someone please upload a copy of wallbanger ?

  • #14
    Senior Member
    weirdo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,458
    Thanks
    4,638
    Thanked 3,135 Times in 1,633 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    29602

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by samnewman View Post
    can someone please upload a copy of wallbanger ?
    get it here > then click the little globe at the right hand top

    Here how to use it >
    Last edited by weirdo; 13-01-12 at 02:49 PM. Reason: further explanariations

  • The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to weirdo For This Useful Post:

    AJM (20-03-12),lee (09-02-12),samnewman (16-01-12),stuballs (13-01-12)

  • #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    hi mates,
    please i need to buy a serial seasons interface for irdeto
    whats the latest now,and where to buy?
    thanks in advance

  • #16
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,149
    Thanks
    5,448
    Thanked 4,001 Times in 1,691 Posts
    Rep Power
    1210
    Reputation
    46341

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by esuo2 View Post
    hi mates,
    please i need to buy a serial seasons interface for irdeto
    whats the latest now,and where to buy?
    thanks in advance
    Simple ! Search for "season interface" on eBay and you will a supplier.

  • #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    I know i will get a supplier,but what am asking for is the one to look out for,not just anyone but the best for now

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •