Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: Run it inside Windows XP the New Ubuntu Hoary Heron Due Very Soon...

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    ssrattus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,164
    Thanks
    515
    Thanked 821 Times in 490 Posts
    Rep Power
    384
    Reputation
    5922

    Default Run it inside Windows XP the New Ubuntu Hoary Heron Due Very Soon...

    Ubuntu 8.04s Hoary Heron is due out Thursday....





    Essentially this means there are 3 ways of running Ubuntu Hardy Heron...

    1) Live CD... boot from the CD and just run it, basically it is used for trialling and nothing is written to the HD.

    2) Normal Install.

    3) Wubi: It installs as a windows application! Creating a single file that emulates the Ubuntu "hard drive" and modifies the boot loader to allow for dual booting.

    Wubi offers a remarkable new way of trying out Ubuntu, making it even more of a risk-free proposition than ever before. Anyone currently running Microsoft Windows XP most probably has all the computer hardware working as they expect, be it video cards, scanners, the afore-mentioned wireless network adapters and so on.
    Wubi’s goals are to assist a Windows user unacquainted with Linux in trying Ubuntu out without risking any loss of information, because although the hard disk will be written to there is no disk partitioning or formatting involved. The existing hard drive configurations, and Windows installation, are not affected in any way.
    Wubi runs straight from within Windows and will install Ubuntu onto a disk image – that is, a single disk file which emulates a stand-alone hard drive. Using Wubi, Windows users can try Ubuntu out without any complex installation.

    They can see if all their hardware works or if something is not right. They can try out the applications like Open Office and Firefox. At worst, if you don’t like it, uninstallation is a snap and your computer is left as it.

    On rebooting I’m greeted with a boot loader menu asking which operating system I wish to use; choosing Ubuntu fires up the new operating system without hitch and with just a few more questions on the way. I have to remind myself I’m booting the computer from an operating system stored on a hard drive completely contained within a disk file recorded on a Windows partition!

    My laptop panel displays in full glorious 1680x1050 resolution. The keyboard works, as does the touchpad and mouse buttons. My built-in webcam is operational. I can insert USB sticks and SD memory cards with Ubuntu kindly asking me what I wish to do with the files contained on them. I plug an Ethernet cable into my laptop and an IP address is picked up and I’m online. I check for wireless networks and my home SSID is listed; yes – my wireless adapter is working right off the bat.

    As best as I can see my laptop is working right away. I can play music and hear it. I can play videos. I can browse the Web. I can fire up The GIMP and Open Office.
    Last edited by ssrattus; 25-04-08 at 08:14 AM.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    49
    Posts
    3,622
    Thanks
    174
    Thanked 1,133 Times in 675 Posts
    Rep Power
    517
    Reputation
    13498

    Default

    if you use it as boot from cd
    are you able to modify\fix xp files from it?
    as in fixing xp bott problems ext.
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • #3
    Senior Member cwispy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In bed sleeping
    Posts
    1,090
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 296 Times in 114 Posts
    Rep Power
    195
    Reputation
    1581

    Default

    You can access ntfs partitions from the live/install disk if thats what your asking, allowing you to get to the boot.ini etc files.
    What would you do if your server was stolen or failed beyond repair?
    http://www.2000cn.com.au/shadowprotect.html

  • #4
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    49
    Posts
    3,622
    Thanks
    174
    Thanked 1,133 Times in 675 Posts
    Rep Power
    517
    Reputation
    13498

    Default

    yea like say a xp os has corrupt ntdetect or ntldr
    i can boot to ubuntu and copy new files over from elsewhere?
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • #5
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    50
    Posts
    29,844
    Thanks
    2,016
    Thanked 12,431 Times in 5,362 Posts
    Rep Power
    3905
    Reputation
    139198

    Default

    Sounds interesting. It might be time for me to have an indepth look at it instead of putting it on the gunna list because I cant find the time. This sounds too easy

  • #6
    Senior Member cwispy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In bed sleeping
    Posts
    1,090
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 296 Times in 114 Posts
    Rep Power
    195
    Reputation
    1581

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PhillTheQuad View Post
    yea like say a xp os has corrupt ntdetect or ntldr
    i can boot to ubuntu and copy new files over from elsewhere?
    Yes you could do that from a live cd. You can also fix problems like that from the xp recovery prompt with the fixmbr commands etc too. Once at the dos prompt type help for all the options available, but the live cd is a handy tool to have around too.
    What would you do if your server was stolen or failed beyond repair?
    http://www.2000cn.com.au/shadowprotect.html

  • #7
    Senior Member
    ssrattus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,164
    Thanks
    515
    Thanked 821 Times in 490 Posts
    Rep Power
    384
    Reputation
    5922

    Default

    It's available now

  • #8
    Senior Member
    best4less's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7,689
    Thanks
    3,479
    Thanked 2,204 Times in 1,132 Posts
    Rep Power
    686
    Reputation
    15105

    Default

    Thanks ssrattus I just registered with them
    and they are going to post one out for free
    When you do things right, people won't be sure that you have done anything at all

  • #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    132
    Reputation
    22

    Default

    I would go on the limb and suggest there is more than 3 ways to run a linux distro, such as the use of Vmware.

  • #10
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    54
    Posts
    5,116
    Thanks
    193
    Thanked 3,117 Times in 1,344 Posts
    Rep Power
    1079
    Reputation
    39070

    Default

    downloading it now @ 650kbps....

    see how it goes with vista...

    sorry, kbps.........

    wish it was mbps, think of the porn i would have....



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • #11
    Senior Member
    best4less's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7,689
    Thanks
    3,479
    Thanked 2,204 Times in 1,132 Posts
    Rep Power
    686
    Reputation
    15105

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hoe View Post
    downloading it now @ 650mbps....

    see how it goes with vista...


    LOL at that speed it should take what, 1.3 seconds
    When you do things right, people won't be sure that you have done anything at all

  • #12
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    54
    Posts
    5,116
    Thanks
    193
    Thanked 3,117 Times in 1,344 Posts
    Rep Power
    1079
    Reputation
    39070

    Default

    just downloaded it, installed it twice (just to make sure the first time was not a fluke.) from a virtual drive within vista.....

    running perfectly from a dual boot vista environment. only niggle seems to be with the resoulution on the 19" widescreen dell monitor (which needs windows drivers..)

    very impressive, works straight up, net connection and all. netgear lan hdd needs drivers though.



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • #13
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    54
    Posts
    5,116
    Thanks
    193
    Thanked 3,117 Times in 1,344 Posts
    Rep Power
    1079
    Reputation
    39070

    Default

    i am running it in a dual boot environment (within vista), i can access all ntfs drives apart from c: (vista o.s.) drive. will reboot and run from live cd, let you know in a few minutes......

    edit : booting it as a live cd I can access all folders except 'documents' on vista..... probably a way round that though..

    yep, with live cd can copy from/write to root/vista folders..........

    you can boot up with the live cd and backup your xp/vista drive to any internal drive (or thumb drive/external drive), i'm doing it as i type this..........

    if windows crashes, just boot with live disk (or ubuntu, if you have installed it to the h.d.) and copy files back to windows partition. who needs system restore ?

    you can't copy 'documents' folder in vista this way, but just move it to another partition within windows (beforehand) and it will work.....

    just made a backup of my 'restore' partition (dell oem) and windows partition to an external drive, an internal ntfs drive and burnt it to 2 dvd's, all with the live disk option ..

    yep, linux is coming a long way. just have to try myob with wine, and find a driver for the netgear san hd caddy and it's bye bye vista.
    Last edited by hoe; 25-04-08 at 05:02 AM.



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • #14
    Senior Member
    ssrattus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,164
    Thanks
    515
    Thanked 821 Times in 490 Posts
    Rep Power
    384
    Reputation
    5922

    Default

    Having troubles here with the wubi install from CD, getting "Can't access CD etc" part way through the install. The Ubuntu forums are very busy but did catch the following tip.

    Copy wubi.exe from the CD and the iso to a windows folder and install from there. No need to mount the iso.

  • #15
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    49
    Posts
    3,622
    Thanks
    174
    Thanked 1,133 Times in 675 Posts
    Rep Power
    517
    Reputation
    13498

    Default

    do i get the standard or the 64 bit edition?
    im running xp 32 bit.
    am2 dual core
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • #16
    Senior Member
    ssrattus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,164
    Thanks
    515
    Thanked 821 Times in 490 Posts
    Rep Power
    384
    Reputation
    5922

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PhillTheQuad View Post
    do i get the standard or the 64 bit edition?
    im running xp 32 bit.
    am2 dual core
    Dunno mate, try both!

    Found my HD in file explorer under the host folder so have access to all my windows files.

    Installed wine within my wubi install and can run radmin (my windows network remote control of choice) without a problem.

  • #17
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    54
    Posts
    5,116
    Thanks
    193
    Thanked 3,117 Times in 1,344 Posts
    Rep Power
    1079
    Reputation
    39070

    Default

    yep, running myob11 with wine. working fine, it's the only windows app i really have to use......



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • #18
    Senior Member
    ssrattus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,164
    Thanks
    515
    Thanked 821 Times in 490 Posts
    Rep Power
    384
    Reputation
    5922

    Default

    hmmm.... getting po'd with it very fast, wireless wpa worked ok first time I set it up, hasn't worked since. Spent a day messing around with it with no joy. The forums say that their "Network Manager" is a heap of sh!t and I agree.

  • #19
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    54
    Posts
    5,116
    Thanks
    193
    Thanked 3,117 Times in 1,344 Posts
    Rep Power
    1079
    Reputation
    39070

    Default

    only thing i can't get working is my konica/minolta 2500w printer.....



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • #20
    Senior Member Woodstock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Mt Gambier
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,728
    Thanks
    74
    Thanked 82 Times in 57 Posts
    Rep Power
    191
    Reputation
    336

    Default

    heh Linux ... :P stick to real OS Windows .. in 50 yrs time Linux might be useable OS ... in my life time I doubt it ..
    Trust thyself only, and another shall not betray thee.

    http://s18.postimage.org/h9xu3rrhx/fb_sevapers.jpg

  • Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •