Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Make iGO8 start in Map Screen

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Gosford - Australia
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    152
    Reputation
    10

    Default Make iGO8 start in Map Screen

    Hi all,

    I'm trying to get iGO8 (8.3.4) to start in the Map Screen and not the navigation menu screen. I've done some searching and noted there seems to be 3 ways to make this work:-

    1. Use a skin with this function.
    2. add
    [interface]
    start_state="st_NavigateMap"
    to sys.txt
    3. Change the line
    else_run 'run sc_GoToStartState'
    to
    else_run 'STATE st_NavigateMap'
    in the start.ui file in data.zip

    (2) & (3) seems the easiest as I just want this one function so another skin would be an over kill.

    However (2) does in fact work and iGO does start in the map screen but once you try and go into the Menu it crashes with an error unable to find ico_map.bmp.

    (3) crashes during the boot process with an FFUIERROR.

    I just want iGO to start in the Map screen but it's not co-operating.

    Any ideas appreciated.

    TIA

    Greg



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,087
    Thanks
    100
    Thanked 722 Times in 348 Posts
    Rep Power
    297
    Reputation
    5103

    Default

    I always load the gj6.18 skin and extension folder.

    Bazzle

  • #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    15

    Default

    Post deleted - sorry, it wouldn't let me link you to the answer.
    Last edited by chas521; 19-03-11 at 02:55 PM.

  • #4
    Junior Member testxp28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Location
    Polska
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Hi all,


    I'm trying to get iGO8 (8.3.4) to start in the Map Screen and not the navigation menu screen.


    I am having the same problem with my sys.txt


    [interface]
    start_state="st_NavigateMap"


    does in fact work and iGO does start in the map screen but once you try and go into the Menu it crashes with an error unable to find ico_map.bmp.


    PLEASE HELP PLEASE HELP
    Last edited by testxp28; 07-11-22 at 07:03 AM.
    testxp28

  • #5
    Shut your dog up!!
    Jma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Somewhere in the darkness...
    Posts
    465
    Thanks
    412
    Thanked 405 Times in 201 Posts
    Rep Power
    295
    Reputation
    8020

    Default

    That usually means the ico_map.bmp file is missing from the data.zip\ui_igo8\yourresolution folder.
    What resolution is your device?
    Do you use a skin?

    EDIT:
    Try using a skin that has the settings to make this happen.

    Dimka skin -->

    It goes in the folder content\skin of your iGO8 folder on the device.

    If you can't set the skin in settings because it now crashes, comment out or remove the line:
    start_state="st_NavigateMap"

    Comment it out like so:
    ;start_state="st_NavigateMap"
    Save the sys.txt file.

    Then once iGO8 is running go into Menu > Settings > Right Arrow (bottom) Menu > Skin to set the skin.
    Once it restarts with the Dimka skin go Menu > Settings > Right Arrow (bottom) > Menu and below the Skin setting there's 2 settings.
    Start: No Route: set it to Cockpit
    With Route: set it to Cockpit.

    It should always start on the map screen in the Cockpit after that.

    My sys.txt files do not have the line start_state="st_NavigateMap" anywhere in them and it starts up on the map screen fine.
    Last edited by Jma; 07-11-22 at 05:05 PM. Reason: More Info
    Always try to offend at least one person a day!

  • #6
    Junior Member testxp28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Location
    Polska
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Thank you for your response
    I have little knowledge of NAVIGATION, I can ask you to see my IGO navigation


    I really like the ZENEC skin and would not want to change it


    testxp28

  • #7
    Shut your dog up!!
    Jma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Somewhere in the darkness...
    Posts
    465
    Thanks
    412
    Thanked 405 Times in 201 Posts
    Rep Power
    295
    Reputation
    8020

    Default

    You're welcome for the reply, I have your Igo, it's version 8.3.5.193799
    It might take me a while to get this right as I'm short on time for the next week or two.
    I have it partially working by adding the missing ico_map.bmp the error message was referring to, but haven't had time to research what else I need to do to make it work right, I think it needs the start.ui file edited...maybe.

    At present it opens on the map screen and tapping Menu it does not crash but the Settings no longer appear, it only goes to the Navigation Menu.
    It may not even be possible to get this right with the Zenec skin, but when I get time I will look into it some more and see if I can get it working correctly.

    Just a 'for your information', the Dimka skin has many more options than the Zenec skin, and it makes better usage of the screen real estate on the map screen.
    Perhaps give it a try, you might even get to like it
    Always try to offend at least one person a day!

  • #8
    Junior Member testxp28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Location
    Polska
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Dimka skin is ok but there are errors on my device:


    -the map freezes when playing music queue
    -no night mode
    -no keyboard


    That's why I want the skin ZENEC I will be very grateful to you if you help me do it again, thank you for your time and I'm waiting impatiently
    testxp28

  • #9
    Junior Member testxp28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Location
    Polska
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    how did it go?? I am waiting impatiently
    testxp28

  • #10
    Shut your dog up!!
    Jma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Somewhere in the darkness...
    Posts
    465
    Thanks
    412
    Thanked 405 Times in 201 Posts
    Rep Power
    295
    Reputation
    8020

    Default

    I haven't had time, it will probably be weeks before I get the time to look at it again.
    Until then, or unless someone else knows how to get it working how you want in the meantime, you'll just have to tap the Map button get it onto the map screen after the device has started.

    Map freeze with the Dimka skin when playing music is quite possibly from lack of device RAM.
    400x234 is an older resolution that hasn't been used for some time, I'm guessing your device is also an old one?
    How much RAM does it have?
    64MB?

    The Dimka skin has night mode in all resolutions, I don't know why it won't work on your device.
    Same with the keyboard, I don't know why it doesn't work on your device, any other device I've used it on it works.
    Always try to offend at least one person a day!

  • #11
    Junior Member testxp28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Location
    Polska
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    My device is a ZENEC 2040 Windows CE car radio, year of manufacture 2010, I don't know how much ram it has


    I will wait until you find the time because I really care about it


    greetings
    testxp28

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •