Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: UEC improvement or new gear timelines?

Thanks

Default UEC improvement or new gear timelines?

Hi Folks,

I'm a satellite newbie, as those who have seen my thread in the newbies forum I'm sure realise.

I'm looking at setting up my own Sat TV service, mainly to recieve VAST, and I'd really like a PVR option. My timeline is to get my 2 existing unused antenna points converted ti a Satellite setup, and attached to a dish over the next 4 - 6 weeks.

Given this timeline, and the rumours I've seen here and elsewhere that UEC may be releasing a PVR firmware update, and other rumours that other manufactures may be coming out with a new model "soon", I'm wondering whether I should hold out as long as possible in deciding on an STB, or whether its likely that the UEC will still be the only choice for at least 2 months, in which case I'd bite the bullet and get the UEC anyway.

Given I have 2 points to connect, I could go with the UEC as a starter and live with one live point for now, then hopefully checkout anything new before we want to use the second point.

I know no one probably has a hard answer on this, but even opinions will do as to what likely timelines I'm looking at before anything changes from the current status quo.

Thanks. Russell.

Look Here ->
    Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 15,074 Times in 6,765 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by 8DashP View Post
    Hi Folks,

I'm a satellite newbie, as those who have seen my thread in the newbies forum I'm sure realise.

I'm looking at setting up my own Sat TV service, mainly to recieve VAST, and I'd really like a PVR option. My timeline is to get my 2 existing unused antenna points converted ti a Satellite setup, and attached to a dish over the next 4 - 6 weeks.