Thread: Measure reflectance of red and NIR

Thanks

Default Measure reflectance of red and NIR

I am new to electronics but have a project that I would ultimately like to build if it is at all possible. I have no real experience or knowledge except I built a few guitar pedials from designs I downloaded off the internet. I never modified these so never really understood how they worked but learnt enough to know that with a little initiative you can save alot of money and be very satisfied with something you made yourself.

My ultimate aim:
    To make a device that measure reflectance of NIR (~780nm) and Red (~670nm) and is able to log this to a computer in real time (I could sort the computer part of this out OK once I have a signal going in I think). The sensors would be active so have their own light source. The object would be about 20cm to 1m from the sesnors.

Could this be made a reality without an electric engineering degree? Is there a simple way to do this?

At the moment I am just researching to see whether it is possible and am happy to be told to stop wasting my time and go buy an ....... for thousands of dollars.

Amoungst my reading I came across Phototransistors:
    "Phototransistors are solid-state light detectors with internal gain that are used to provide analog or digital signals. They detect visible, ultraviolet and near-infrared light from a variety of sources and are more sensitive than photodiodes, semiconductor devices that require a pre-amplifier."

Are phototransistors what I would use as my sesnors? If so these seem to be quite cheap.
    I also came across PICAXE. Would this technology simplify my task at all? In relation to sending a signal to a computer?

I study agriculture but have a strong interest in computers and would like to extend that to electronics.

Anyway, I am interested in any comments.
    Thanks for your valuable time,
    Ben

Look Here ->
    Thanks

Wellcome to the forum, Ben.