Thread: New to Garmin a few questions.

Thanks

Default New to Garmin a few questions.

I'm new to Garmin navigators so have a few questions before I plunge into updating and installing maps, cameras and poi's on my new 1450T.

I read in some cases that loading/installing a map can cause the lifetime traffic to stop working when loading the smaller map IMG, and its better to install the new map using the larger mapsource installer. Is his the case or should I not be worried about this when updating the maps with the smaller unlocked img file update?

What's the best source for custom POI files? Especially school zones etc. I downloaded the available ones from POIDB.COM. Also found Trapster. Not sure which one is the better site for these.

Also is there any particular brand of speed of microSD card I need to look for when buying? Going to use it to install Garmin toppo, judging from the download size assume it will need to be installed to SD memory card.
    Last edited by Greg; 11-03-12 at 03:45 PM.

Look Here ->
    Crazy Diamond
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,436 Times in 2,651 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by Greg View Post
    I'm new to Garmin navigators so have a few questions before I plunge into updating and installing maps, cameras and poi's on my new 1450T.

Welcome.

I read in some cases that loading/installing a map can cause the lifetime traffic to stop working when loading the smaller map IMG, and its better to install the new map using the larger mapsource installer. Is his the case or should I not be worried about this when updating the maps with the smaller unlocked img file update?

Never had a problem with my lifetime traffic updates after updating City Nav on the unit as per my Tutorial. If someone had a problem they probably deleted something they shouldn't have. Where did you read that?
    I use the .img files update along with some other files appropriate for my 1490T.
    Suggest thoroughly reading my tutorial