Thread: PAS8 and ASIASAT 2 - Need two dishes?

Thanks

Question PAS8 and ASIASAT 2 - Need two dishes?

Hi all,

I'm a total newbie and apologise in advance if my questions are totally inept.

Having used cable for a while, we wish to move to satellite TV, since cable is too inflexible/expensive for us.

We want to receive from PAS8 (for SelecTV) and also to get the Italian "RAI" channel from Asiasat 2 ("RAI" is FTA on this satellite).

It would also be nice if we could get the standard Australian FTA channels, but this is not such a big deal since we could just use a terrestrial antenna for that.

After spending some time reading forums and looking at the lyngsat website, I believe that the solution for us is to get two dishes (one for each satellite) and an STB with dual satellite inputs.

I was just wondering if this is correct, or if I have totally missed the mark. I don't want to start spending money on the wrong setup!

Can anyone suggest what size these dishes should be? SelecTV offers to install a 65cm dish, all cabling etc except STB for ~$95 if we take a 2 year contract. My location is in northern suburban Sydney.

I'm also unsure which STB brand to focus on, am not afraid to spend a reasonable amount of money on a quality/decent box, but don't really know much about the available brands. Any tips on this would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Ross..

Look Here ->
    Thanks

You will need two dishes, one for SelecTV which is on 'Ku band', its the same size dish as say that used for Foxtel/Austar etc. (65 - 85cm diam, I do suggest an 85cm).

The other, for RAI is on C Band, - this will require a dish size of say 2.4 - 3.0m diameter. Again, I'd suggest a 3.0m dish.

This C Band dish can be mounted on a mast in the yard, orm against a wall etc. Ensure a clear as possible view West-North-East (as few trees as possible).

A C Band dish is a work of fine art, typically of a see-through, fine black mesh design.