Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Tutorial - Using The UEC VAST PVR Dish Alignment Feature

  1. #1
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,935
    Thanks
    5,245
    Thanked 11,638 Times in 5,738 Posts
    Rep Power
    4108
    Reputation
    168451

    Default Tutorial - Using The UEC VAST PVR Dish Alignment Feature

    For those who have the UEC VAST PVR decoder.....

    Here's how to use the Dish Alignment & Tuning Feature.

    When you power up the decoder, press the Help button on the remote when you see the tuning screen appear when the decoder is booting up.

    You will then see the location screen, showing a map of Australia.




    Using the direction arrows on the remote, position the crosshairs over your approximate location on the map and press enter.

    You will then see the Alignment Screen, indicating approximate azimuth, elevation and skew settings for your dish and LNB.





    Press enter and you will see the LNB Selection Screen.





    Select the LNB you are using (I recommend a 10700) then press enter.

    You will then see the Signal Scale Screen.




    Use this screen to make fine adjustments to your dish/LNB to obtain the highest reading.

    You may need to 'sweep' the dish east/west and adjust elevation slightly to locate the signal.

    Once you have the best signal... press OK to start the tuning scan... and you're done.

    **Note** AFAIK, this feature is only available on the PVR version of the UEC VAST box at this time, as the non-PVR uses different firmware.

  2. The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    + Show/Hide list of the thanked

    beerman (08-05-12),Bob&Chrissy (06-05-12),gordon_s1942 (02-05-12),heith1 (29-08-12),irritant (07-02-17),Jims Brother (25-04-12),K&FT (24-06-12),LeroyPatrol (24-04-12),OSIRUS (24-04-12),Smacca (25-04-12),Tiny (25-04-12),toyboy11 (24-04-12)



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    OSIRUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    3,384
    Thanks
    7,961
    Thanked 1,322 Times in 786 Posts
    Rep Power
    554
    Reputation
    15101

    Default

    Thanks mtv

    The caravan & campers will love this "Dish Installation Assistant"..... I think

    Yes it is only on the UEC PVR Vast STB's with the latest Firmware, (ATM)

    (It may come to the UEC Standard Vast STB's if the OTA firmware upgrade ever "happens")

    nice tutorial, great screenshots,

    how did you get your screenshots ? (may I ask)

    cheers
    Last edited by OSIRUS; 24-04-12 at 07:02 PM.
    Become a Premium Member and support the Austech Forum

  • #3
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,935
    Thanks
    5,245
    Thanked 11,638 Times in 5,738 Posts
    Rep Power
    4108
    Reputation
    168451

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OSIRUS View Post
    how did you get your screenshots ?
    Very conventional method.... camera.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (24-04-12)

  • #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    WA
    Age
    83
    Posts
    1,302
    Thanks
    334
    Thanked 288 Times in 159 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    1990

    Default

    I hope UEC reads this very helpful.

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    57

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtv View Post
    For those who have the UEC VAST PVR decoder.....

    Here's how to use the Dish Alignment & Tuning Feature.

    When you power up the decoder, press the Help button on the remote when you see the tuning screen appear when the decoder is booting up.

    You will then see the location screen, showing a map of Australia.




    Using the direction arrows on the remote, position the crosshairs over your approximate location on the map and press enter.

    You will then see the Alignment Screen, indicating approximate azimuth, elevation and skew settings for your dish and LNB.





    Press enter and you will see the LNB Selection Screen.





    Select the LNB you are using (I recommend a 10700) then press enter.

    You will then see the Signal Scale Screen.




    Use this screen to make fine adjustments to your dish/LNB to obtain the highest reading.

    You may need to 'sweep' the dish east/west and adjust elevation slightly to locate the signal.

    Once you have the best signal... press OK to start the tuning scan... and you're done.

    **Note** AFAIK, this feature is only available on the PVR version of the UEC VAST box at this time, as the non-PVR uses different firmware.
    Is there anyway you can incorporate 801 D3 tuning channel to assist caravaners to actually find the satellite? It used to be sooooo easy on Aurora as it didnt do a rescan at every stop. The huge problem for most RVers is we cant see the screen whilst tuning so we need the "noise" the tuning channel makes. Its also more foolproof than using a simple sat finder. Thanks for the brilliant (for all us oldies!) instructions!

    Thanks
    Last edited by Bob&Chrissy; 06-05-12 at 01:55 PM.

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Bob&Chrissy For This Useful Post:

    beerman (08-05-12),irritant (07-02-17),OSIRUS (06-12-14)

  • #6
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,935
    Thanks
    5,245
    Thanked 11,638 Times in 5,738 Posts
    Rep Power
    4108
    Reputation
    168451

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob&Chrissy View Post
    Is there anyway you can incorporate 801 D3 tuning channel to assist caravaners to actually find the satellite? It used to be sooooo easy on Aurora as it didnt do a rescan at every stop. The huge problem for most RVers is we cant see the screen whilst tuning so we need the "noise" the tuning channel makes. Its also more foolproof than using a simple sat finder. Thanks for the brilliant (for all us oldies!) instructions!

    Thanks
    Pleased you found the tutorial useful.

    Obviously, the Dish Alignment Assistant is available now on the non-PVR box too.

    Unfortunately the VAST decoders don't have pre-set memories stored, unlike how other decoders worked with Aurora.

    Every time power is disconnected to the VAST decoder, it goes through a self-check procedure, then when signal is found, it rescans, meaning you can't tune/display anything until you have your dish & LNB aligned correctly.

    The best solution I've found to that is to use one of these tuning meters.



    They are so much more than just a simple satfinder, as they show signal strength amd signal quality for the desired VAST frequency, so you know when you are on the right satellite and can optimise the signal quality looking at the meter. It also has a tone indicating you are on the correct signal for VAST.

    Simple tone/moving needle/LED scale type meters cannot display signal quality and can't even tell which satellite you are receiving.

  • The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    beerman (08-05-12),irritant (07-02-17),Jims Brother (06-05-12),OSIRUS (06-05-12)

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    North coast, NSW
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    94
    Reputation
    55

    Default

    I have successfully set up my VAST system and it works well. I put a dual LNB in my Austar dish, orienting the new LNB to mimic the position of the old one.
    The signal screen indicates 100%, but the quality is only between 75 and 81%: is it worth bothering to try and better this? The Austar and VAST displays are both perfect as far as I can tell.

  • #8
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,935
    Thanks
    5,245
    Thanked 11,638 Times in 5,738 Posts
    Rep Power
    4108
    Reputation
    168451

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Guppy View Post
    I have successfully set up my VAST system and it works well. I put a dual LNB in my Austar dish, orienting the new LNB to mimic the position of the old one.
    The signal screen indicates 100%, but the quality is only between 75 and 81%: is it worth bothering to try and better this? The Austar and VAST displays are both perfect as far as I can tell.
    Signal quality of 75% - 80%+ is fine.

    I doubt you'd do better.

    Well done!

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    irritant (07-02-17),Mr Guppy (15-06-12),OSIRUS (15-06-12)

  • #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    North coast, NSW
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    94
    Reputation
    55

    Default

    Thanks mtv, and thanks to all for this great website and all the help.

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Mr Guppy For This Useful Post:

    irritant (07-02-17),mtv (15-06-12),OSIRUS (15-06-12)

  • #10
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 25 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    137
    Reputation
    305

    Post Optus C1 sat finder feature on my box

    My standard UEC STB has the sat finder feature installed from an auto download last month.
    Travelling around OZ I bought a UEC non pvr box at Mt Isa. When put on air an auto download appeared and the sat find feature was included.
    If I cant lock on to the sat I press HELP on the remote control and the the feature is enabled as described before/above.
    I only use a cheapo analogue meter and dont have any trouble finding C1.
    Important: YOU MUST GIVE THE DISH CLEAR SKY WITH NO TREES ECT ANYWHERE IN FRONT. TREES GIVE OFF ELECTRICAL NOISE AT THESE HIGH FREQUENCIES.
    Gone half way around OZ anticlockwise so far no problems yet. Will keep you posted.

  • #11
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,935
    Thanks
    5,245
    Thanked 11,638 Times in 5,738 Posts
    Rep Power
    4108
    Reputation
    168451

    Default

    Yes, since the firmware upgrade, the non PVR VAST boxes also have the dish alignment assistant... which is very helpful.

    As with any satellite reception, any obstruction in the signal path will interfere, but as for trees giving off electrical noise at Ku frequencies???

  • #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    113
    Reputation
    45

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtv View Post
    When you power up the decoder, press the Help button on the remote when you see the tuning screen appear when the decoder is booting up.
    Can you include a photo of the "tuning screen"?

  • #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Remote NT
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    15

    Default Polarity

    With the VAST dish alignment feature there is one floor. It is the Polarity of the LNBf as if not done correctly the Horizontal channels on Optus D3 will over ride the signal from C1. Some LNBf's are aligned at 90 degrees vertical on the East Coast while are others vary up to about 60 degrees clockwise, looking from in front of the dish. This is where the signal quality comes in to tweak it which is easy. It must be remembered the polarity changes the further west one goes.

  • #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Toowoomba, Qld
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 145 Times in 76 Posts
    Rep Power
    138
    Reputation
    1095

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gaois View Post
    With the VAST dish alignment feature there is one floor. It is the Polarity of the LNBf as if not done correctly the Horizontal channels on Optus D3 will over ride the signal from C1. Some LNBf's are aligned at 90 degrees vertical on the East Coast while are others vary up to about 60 degrees clockwise, looking from in front of the dish. This is where the signal quality comes in to tweak it which is easy. It must be remembered the polarity changes the further west one goes.
    Can you clarify this. What do you mean by polarity Are you talking about skew angle

  • #15
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    WA
    Age
    83
    Posts
    1,302
    Thanks
    334
    Thanked 288 Times in 159 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    1990

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jimboo View Post
    Can you include a photo of the "tuning screen"?
    If understand what you want look at the thread 5 above or 1 at the top .

  • #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Remote NT
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rodnic View Post
    Can you clarify this. What do you mean by polarity Are you talking about skew angle
    Yes the skew for Vertical polarity.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to gaois For This Useful Post:

    Rodnic (07-07-12)

  • #17
    Premium Member
    OSIRUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    3,384
    Thanks
    7,961
    Thanked 1,322 Times in 786 Posts
    Rep Power
    554
    Reputation
    15101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jimboo View Post
    Can you include a photo of the "tuning screen"?
    To enter the Dish Alignment Assistant, You press the Help button if you get the below screen for about 30 seconds (indicating that the STB cannot find a signal)



    it is just before you get this screen



    If you have enough signal strength & signal quality, it will not stop, but will scan in the Vast Bouquets, & TV Services & Radio Services, & Transport streams (all the Vast channels)
    Last edited by OSIRUS; 07-07-12 at 07:53 PM.
    Become a Premium Member and support the Austech Forum

  • #18
    Premium Member
    OSIRUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    3,384
    Thanks
    7,961
    Thanked 1,322 Times in 786 Posts
    Rep Power
    554
    Reputation
    15101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gaois View Post
    Yes the skew for Vertical polarity.
    The Dish Alignment Assistant gives LNB skew angles to suit most "popular LNB's".......

    But some LNB's do have odd markings, & odd LNB cable out positions.... I guess in these situations, you may need to experiment with your LNB to know the position of your LNB polarity... (maybe mark a point on the LNB, that you can then use the Dish alignment Assistant skew angles with)
    Last edited by OSIRUS; 07-07-12 at 08:35 PM.
    Become a Premium Member and support the Austech Forum

  • The Following User Says Thank You to OSIRUS For This Useful Post:

    tristen (08-12-14)

  • #19
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    132
    Reputation
    75

    Default

    I use cam and card in dreamax and the more beer i drink the harder it gets to align. android phone app
    dreamax 600,strong 4663

  • #20
    Member transit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    near Wilmot, TASMANIA
    Age
    64
    Posts
    271
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 95 Times in 58 Posts
    Rep Power
    121
    Reputation
    955

    Default

    I used this the other day to help a friend do an install and found that the degrees azimuth figure is TRUE and not MAGNETIC. And it doesn't even say on the screen whether it is true or magnetic. Magnetic declination in Tassie is over 13 degrees so it is not trivial. Better to use the dishpointer website.

  • Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •