Thread: Basic Instruction for newbie

Thanks

Smile **==Basic Instruction for newbie==**

Hi Guys:

Special thanks to Phobius, beer4life.

I just put everyone's work together.

I am a newbie and have no idea about satellite tv. I read through the forum. It sounds like people can get pay tv for free if they have a dish, decoder, smartcard, dreambox and etc.

Need more help
    ================================================== ====
    Q9: What is a cam or CA module?

I am really appreciate any help. I am sure there are lots of newbies like me will appreciate your help too.

ANSWERED
    Q1: What sort of equipments do I need in order to receive pay tv?
    A1: In order to receive pay-tv, you need either a cable-tv STB for cable tv or a satellite DVB-S STB for satellite TV. I'm assuming you want satellite, because that's the category of the post. The dish size is dependent on the distance between you and the satellite from which you wish to receive signals. The further away the satellite, the larger the dish.

Q2: How these equipments are connected together?
    A2: A dish is a concave reflector that concentrates signals onto an LNB. The LNB has an RG-6 or RG-59(cheaper) cable running from it to the back of the STB. This is all the connectivity required for a basic setup.

Q3: For different Pay TV provider, do I need different equipments or smartcard???
    A3: Different pay TV providers encrypt their signalling differently, therefore requiring you to have both a subscription card with the correct, valid authentication tokens and a CAM module inside your STB which interfaces with this card to decipher the stream. The CAM and smart-card work togeather and must be of a compatible nature (ie. same crypto-system).

Q4: What is that strong xxxxx box???
    A4: Sounds like a stronger, more potent variant of XXXX. In all seriousness though, a strong-box is a type of STB.

Q5: What is the dreambox mentioned in this forum? It that a STB?