Thread: Have i fingered my Mobo or processor?

Thanks

Default Have i fingered my Mobo or processor?

Righto,
    Before i start i would like to confirm that i'm not a complete novice when it comes to upgrading or building computers.This upgrade would be around the 8th or 9th i have done(although my first intel 775) and i normally upgrade or build new every 12-18 months.(pre-amble out of the way)

My recent upgrade has really gone pear shaped.The upgrade consisted of the following bits.
    *Asus P5N-E SLi motherboard
    *Intel E8400 processor
    *Geil F2-600CL6D -2gigs x2
    *8800GT- Will be upgrading the Vid card at a later date

I always assemble the new config outside the box,normally using the yellow pages as a base with the new mobo sitting on the anti static bag.I took my time,didn't rush with any part of the install.i took particular care when installing the processor and HSF.I made sure everything was grounded before installing the mobo to the case,installed and fixed into place as normal,clipped all the wiring in place.After satisfying myself everything was in place,went to fire it up and nothing happend....nada.....jackshit.
    Righto i think, been here before, can't be anything too serious, i'll just start fault finding...............see list below

So far this is the fault finding conducted.

*removed mobo,disassembled and reinstalled all parts(no luck)
    *Inspected case for any out of place motherboard raisers or any other points where shorting could occur (all good)
    *Reinstalled old mobo and config to confirm power supply(worked fine)
    *changed to larger power supply-500w (no luck)
    *stripped mobo back to bare bones.ie. processor,HSF,1xmemory,Graphics card and changed memory into different slots ,removed graphics card and alternated memory (no luck)
    *cleared cmos and removed battery (no luck)
    *installed in different case and powersuppy(too eliminate shorting of some kind)(No luck)