Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Problem with Octagon SF918

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Problem with Octagon SF918

    Hi !

    I have an Octagon Sf918, and use that for a dreambox. My satellites Thor 0.8w and Sirius 4.8e. The problem is to receive channels that are located on the HD frequenses, this is not all the HD channels itīs the channels that have symbolrate 30000 on their transponder. So channels like nat geo hd, nat geo wild hd, BBC HD, Eurosport HD, Eurosport 2 HD, Discovery HD, History channel HD is not working. Iīve tried to figure out this problem, but without any results. We have a forest infront of the antenna, but we can still get around 70% quality on the other channels. What can the problem be? Why canīt i get any signal on transponder (Thor 12015 H 30000 and 11785 H 30000)? Best Regards Pekka



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    weirdo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,458
    Thanks
    4,638
    Thanked 3,135 Times in 1,633 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    29602

    Default

    Time to get the chainsaw out Pekka (or move your dish).
    You might find the HD transponders carry a bit more signal than the SD ones.
    There's probably just enough quality there to watch the SD channels.
    Are you sure your lnb is fine tuned? Could be worth a try
    Good luck

  • #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Thanks for answering weirdo. The lnb is tuned and another thing that's happens is that the hd channels signal jumps from 0 to 66% and then back to 0. Isn't it the box that causes this issue? Thanks for the answers/ Pekka

  • #4
    Senior Member Kavakid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    655
    Thanks
    99
    Thanked 105 Times in 73 Posts
    Rep Power
    183
    Reputation
    602

    Default

    When you manually input the frequency along with all the correct parameters do you get any quality level at all.
    It could be the way the octagon is set up.
    Do you get other Hd channels on the octagon ok?
    Can you get them ok with another receiver?

    No means its your dish signal level or you need a wideband LNB
    Its Hell in the Tropics

  • #5
    Senior Member
    weirdo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,458
    Thanks
    4,638
    Thanked 3,135 Times in 1,633 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    29602

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pekka View Post
    Thanks for answering weirdo. The lnb is tuned and another thing that's happens is that the hd channels signal jumps from 0 to 66% and then back to 0. Isn't it the box that causes this issue? Thanks for the answers/ Pekka
    I've had that exact same behaviour with borderline signals here

  • The Following User Says Thank You to weirdo For This Useful Post:

    LeroyPatrol (11-07-12)

  • #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Ok guys should I replace the dish and see ? As I said kavakid It's only the HD channels that have symbolrate 30000
    Last edited by Pekka; 11-07-12 at 07:52 PM.

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Oh i forgot i am using a MegaSAT Diavolo Single LNB 0.1 HD
    Last edited by Pekka; 11-07-12 at 09:26 PM.

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Any fix ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Pekka View Post
    Oh i forgot i am using a MegaSAT Diavolo Single LNB 0.1 HD
    Did you find your problem ? I have similar with CanalSat Caledonie and Octagon SF1008, was working perfectly for 2 years then suddently a TP with symbol rate 45000 cannot watch and few weeks later was the other TP SR45000... The signal is not stable, 86% and suddenly 0% then go back to 86%. The other TP on different SR (around 25800) is working. I replaced dish, LNB, cable and even try with spare Octagon SF1008 (SE+), same thing happened. Any clue ? Note with original decoder it is working ok...
    If someone has idea will be welcome. Maybe SAT provider find a way to block third party decoders ?

    Pascal.

  • #9
    Premium Member
    LeroyPatrol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N.E. Vic
    Posts
    16,013
    Thanks
    3,404
    Thanked 4,557 Times in 2,721 Posts
    Rep Power
    1552
    Reputation
    43491

    Default

    When did happen? Also the 918 is a different box.

    Leroy
    XCRUISER HDSR600HD twin sat and terrestrial receiver $OOS *
    XCRUISER HDSR385 Avant - sold out$OOS UltraPlus DVB-T and DVB-S2 tuners $49 Remotes $OOS

  • Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •