Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: Newbie C-Band satellite install & Setup help.

Thanks

Default Newbie C-Band satellite install & Setup help.

Hi, my name is Phillip. I'm new to all this, so I have a lot to learn and I want to setup a Motorised C-Band Dish, Most important to me is to pick up the Rai Italy channel on the Asiasat 5 satellite.

I've done some reading for the past week on this forum, so I have a better understanding now, but still confused in a few area's. I'm going to try to setup what I can on my own.

I've purchased a UltraPlus X-9200 from Leroy last week, with a Terrestrial Tuner in one of the twin tuner slots. I've got my Austar Card in the PVR now. All is working, most of the time, I'm having some scramble issues at times. But that's another story, I'll get back to that latter. Right now, I want to concentrate on setting up a Dish, Have not purchased any of the Sat dishes or parts needed thus far, I'm not sure what to purchase, So some advice there would be greatly appreciated. At this stage I'm looking at one of the Dishes from Joysat in Brisbane, as I live at Bundaberg in QLD.

I'm not sure how where to put the Sat Dish, I've got some neighbours trees that are a bit of an issue for me in regards to the Asiasat 5 satellite.
    I've purchased a App for my Android Phone that show's where the Sats are, I've included some images below of the trees in question. The image you see here is from ground level, so I would imagine from up higher it should be a lot clearer. I read a forum post last night on someone suggesting to bolt the pole onto the side of the house going through the eaves and roof. I think this would be the perfect solution for me.

I've included a few images below to show where I'm looking at installing the Pole.
    The wall is 3 metres high from ground level and apx 30cm between eaves and top of roof. I have apx 3.3m from ground level to to roof. How many metres extra in the pole I'll need to fit a 2.3m mesh dish?