Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HELP !!!! Dish Install for SelecTV

Thanks

Default HELP !!!! Dish Install for SelecTV

Hi all, newbie here so please be gentle. I just installed a Ku Dish for SelecTV but for some strange reason I have 60% Signal Strength but 0% Quality. Obviously the decoder doesn't pick up either any TV or Radio channels. ANY IDEAS??? I have checked all the leads and connections and they seem to be ok. I'm lost and would appreciate knowing what is wrong....

Look Here ->
    Thanks

You are most likely not pointing the dish directly to Pas 8. With satellite, even a degree out on dish angle can mean you lose picture. What is your location?

Thanks

Hi there, I am in Adelaide. What I found strange was if that was the case why would I be receiving 60% signal strength and wouldn't that be enough to pick up the channels? Could it be anything else? I appreciate any advice. Thanks!!!!!

Thanks

Its not the strength that matters, its the signal quality. You could have the dish pointed just about anywhere and you would register a signal reading.

A couple of things to rule out first- What type of LNB do you have - is it a universal, 11300 or 10700? Are your antenna settings in the box reflecting this? Secondly, on the manual settings page (OR EQUIVALENT), have you entered in a valid frequency, SR, FEC etc.

If that is all good your dish needs to be pointing at an azimuth of 42 deg and elevation ~40 deg. You may need to move the dish backward/forward, up/down in this general direction until you register quality on your stb.

Can you confirm your lnb/stb settings so far?

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by JK200SX View Post
    Its not the strength that matters, its the signal quality. You could have the dish pointed just about anywhere and you would register a signal reading.