Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Bricked Cisco 7961

  1. #1
    Junior Member brotherbear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Queensland
    Posts
    156
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
    Rep Power
    105
    Reputation
    185

    Default Bricked Cisco 7961

    I was trying to update my Cisco 7961 to remove the Call Manager and upload the SIP firmware. I set-up the TFTP server and got the phone to connect prior to resetting the phone but something went wrong and now the phone is in an endless turn-on and turn-off loop.

    What can I do? Is the phone dead?
    "I can't believe you totaled a mammoth"



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member stuballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    4d:6f:72:6f:6e
    Posts
    544
    Thanks
    628
    Thanked 329 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    162
    Reputation
    2086

    Default

    Hi mate. I have never used a 7961 before but hopefully this will help you out

    We use the 7945 and 7965s, I have seen a few do this.

    Unplug the power and hold the # Key, Plug the power in. You should see all your line

    buttons on the right hand side flash in sequence. At this stage release the # key and dial

    123456789*0# This performs a "Full" factory reset.

    Hopefully it all works out for you
    Last edited by stuballs; 21-08-12 at 01:06 AM.

  • #3
    Junior Member brotherbear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Queensland
    Posts
    156
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
    Rep Power
    105
    Reputation
    185

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stuballs View Post
    Hi mate. I have never used a 7961 before but hopefully this will help you out

    We use the 7945 and 7965s, I have seen a few do this.

    Unplug the power and hold the # Key, Plug the power in. You should see all your line

    buttons on the right hand side flash in sequence. At this stage release the # key and dial

    123456789*0# This performs a "Full" factory reset.

    Hopefully it all works out for you
    That's what I did to start the upgrade and upon trying it again (as per your suggestion) still nadda. So I tried to enter an alternative code from the cisco website 3491672850*# and after entering the line keys change colour and began to do a red sequence and now (about 4 minutes later) everything appears dead.
    Last edited by brotherbear; 21-08-12 at 09:38 AM.
    "I can't believe you totaled a mammoth"

  • #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Your'er on the right track

    Quote Originally Posted by brotherbear View Post
    That's what I did to start the upgrade and upon trying it again (as per your suggestion) still nadda. So I tried to enter an alternative code from the cisco website 3491672850*# and after entering the line keys change colour and began to do a red sequence and now (about 4 minutes later) everything appears dead.
    Your phone is not a brick (yet).

    The boot sequence of powering on is correct. You do, however need the following.
    1 The phone connected with a router with DHCP and defines a tftp server. i use tftpd32 on my pC as it has bot DHCP server and also TFTP server. and is free.

    Turn the firewall off on your pc, and set the LAn port to the default gateway address
    You connect the phone to the PC and apply power while holding down the # key and completing the 1-# sequence.

    2. The correct factory versions of the software. Cisco phones boot and use a file called in this case term61.default.loads
    This details the versions of s/w it will ask the tftp server for.

    i dont have an example for the 7961 put here is an edited one off a 7975.

    jar75sip.8-5-2TH1-9.sbn
    cnu75.8-5-2TH1-9.sbn
    apps75.8-5-2TH1-9.sbn
    dsp75.8-5-2TH1-9.sbn
    cvm75sip.8-5-2TH1-9.sbn

    these files must be in the tftp load directory.
    using the log facility in tftpd32 you can see what it is requesting.
    You will possibly need to d/l this from Cisco.

    This is the only way you will get it out.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •