Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Netflix supported devices

  1. #1
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    52
    Posts
    30,771
    Thanks
    2,156
    Thanked 13,205 Times in 5,628 Posts
    Rep Power
    4273
    Reputation
    155285

    Default Netflix supported devices

    As Netflix is probably the most popular internet TV service out there at the moment, here is a list of devices that you can access their services on. If you are in Australia or a country that Netflix does not service, you will need to subscribe to a service like or

    • Apple TV set-top box, iPad, iPhone, iPod
    • Barnes and Noble Nook Tablet (preinstalled) and Nook Color (optional app)
    • D-Link Boxee Box set-top box (Only supports Netflix USA and Netflix Canada, according to the company it will never support Netflix in other countries.)
    • Insignia Blu-ray Disc players and home theater systems
    • LG Electronics Blu-ray Disc players, TVs (LH50 series LCD and PS80 plasma), and home theater systems
    • Logitech Revue Google TV Buddy Box
    • Microsoft Xbox 360, (Xbox Live Gold Subscription Required)
    • Nintendo Wii and Nintendo 3DS (Wii U support also confirmed)
    • Panasonic Some Blu-ray Disc players, televisions and home theater systems
    • Philips Some Blu-ray Disc players and TVs
    • Popbox set-top box (announced)
    • Roku set-top box
    • Samsung Some Blu-ray Disc players, televisions and home theater systems
    • Seagate FreeAgent Theater+ HD Media Players
    • Sharp Some LED/LCD TVs and Blu-ray Disc players
    • Sony Blu-ray Disc players, TVs, Google TV devices, PlayStation 3, and PlayStation Vita
    • TiVo DVRs (HD, HD XL, Series3, Premiere and Premiere XL boxes)
    • Viewsonic VMP75
    • Vizio Some Blu-ray Disc players and TVs
    • Western Digital WD Live plus Media Player

  2. The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to admin For This Useful Post:

    best4less (06-11-12),billy t (25-02-13),gulliver (09-09-19),LaniB (06-01-13),LeroyPatrol (31-03-15),OSIRUS (06-11-12),stenkir (22-12-12),tristen (10-11-12),weirdo (07-01-13)



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    myf360f1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,487
    Thanks
    529
    Thanked 584 Times in 267 Posts
    Rep Power
    298
    Reputation
    3652

    Default

    Nice List Sanity

    For what its worth having now used Boxee (at a mates) Roku and WD, i would rank them in that order.

  • #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sanity View Post
    [*]Western Digital WD Live plus Media Player[/LIST]
    Can anyone confirm that these are the same as the WD TV Live Streaming? I can't seem to find any reference to Plus at Australian retailers but they seem to look the same as the Streaming and have a similar feature list.

    Any info appreciated

  • #4
    Senior Member
    myf360f1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,487
    Thanks
    529
    Thanked 584 Times in 267 Posts
    Rep Power
    298
    Reputation
    3652

    Default

    @Grofaz, read post 41 and following of this thread check the model numbers.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to myf360f1 For This Useful Post:

    Grofaz (10-01-13)

  • #5
    Senior Member
    Godzilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    55
    Posts
    12,650
    Thanks
    15,902
    Thanked 7,008 Times in 3,580 Posts
    Rep Power
    2063
    Reputation
    75253

    Default

    Delete Boxee off the list, new firmware update took care of it, automatically updates after a reset and locks itself off Netflix.

    Point being i use Uno in the units, not in the modem, so the moment you go to reconfigure after a reset the unit wants to update before you get a chance to put the details for Uno in.

    Only way around it ive read is to instal a older firmware Via USB and stop access to automatic updates via blocking a few sites though the modem that it uses for updates.

    My WD is fine, all working.....not happy Jan with the Boxee, loved they way the unit worked when it was working.

  • #6
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    52
    Posts
    30,771
    Thanks
    2,156
    Thanked 13,205 Times in 5,628 Posts
    Rep Power
    4273
    Reputation
    155285

    Default

    What happens if you change the DNS in the modem ?

  • #7
    Senior Member
    Godzilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    55
    Posts
    12,650
    Thanks
    15,902
    Thanked 7,008 Times in 3,580 Posts
    Rep Power
    2063
    Reputation
    75253

    Default

    Point being for me i cannot get into my modem (to my knowledge) easily.

    Ive been relying on Units that i can put my DNS into, Boxee took away that ability now, might spend some more time investigating my modem, its a Telstra Supplied Technicolor TG582N.

  • #8
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    52
    Posts
    30,771
    Thanks
    2,156
    Thanked 13,205 Times in 5,628 Posts
    Rep Power
    4273
    Reputation
    155285

    Default

    Yikes, I'd be taking a hammer to that modem after a quick google read

  • The Following User Says Thank You to admin For This Useful Post:

    Godzilla (26-02-13)

  • #9
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    55
    Posts
    5,445
    Thanks
    222
    Thanked 3,448 Times in 1,502 Posts
    Rep Power
    1275
    Reputation
    47568

    Default

    the sony blu ray players work quite well on netflix etc.

    you need to add the dns settings before plugging in network cable.

    then do a firmware upgrade from the sony USA site.

    .



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • #10
    Senior Member
    Godzilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    55
    Posts
    12,650
    Thanks
    15,902
    Thanked 7,008 Times in 3,580 Posts
    Rep Power
    2063
    Reputation
    75253

    Default

    My Boxee is working again, solution was to instal a modem that can take the Uno telly DNS settings.

    WD live TV did not need this as it can take the settings in the unit, everything is working again.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Godzilla For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (11-03-13)

  • #11
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    52
    Posts
    30,771
    Thanks
    2,156
    Thanked 13,205 Times in 5,628 Posts
    Rep Power
    4273
    Reputation
    155285

    Default

    Good stuff, nothing worse than a locked down provider modem

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to admin For This Useful Post:

    Godzilla (12-03-13),OSIRUS (12-03-13)

  • #12
    Senior Member
    jonc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    2,130
    Thanks
    401
    Thanked 836 Times in 335 Posts
    Rep Power
    373
    Reputation
    7951

    Default

    Add to the list;

    Android MX
    Android MyBox MX
    Android MiBox
    Android My Media Box

    all have native apps and work well
    It is a hobby so mileage varies
    Loving IPTV with XBMC and android M8
    Join in the XBMCHUB community and visit me at http://tvaddons.ag/

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jonc For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (29-06-13),tristen (13-07-13)

  • #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    143
    Reputation
    15

    Default

    not only that but but any android tv box is fine ,rooted or not prefer rooted gives you more flexibility

  • #14
    Premium Member
    mkhannah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    2,516
    Thanks
    3,503
    Thanked 1,538 Times in 779 Posts
    Rep Power
    633
    Reputation
    20382

    Default

    Works well on Ouya.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mkhannah For This Useful Post:

    Chieflets (08-04-14)

  • #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Elizabeth North, South Australia
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
    Rep Power
    111
    Reputation
    65

    Default

    Had the STRONG rep in this arvo showing me their new rockbox2 which is netflix enabled

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jonnyath For This Useful Post:

    marty 17 (30-07-14),mkhannah (15-05-14)

  • #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 147 Times in 67 Posts
    Rep Power
    140
    Reputation
    2940

    Default

    Amazon Fire TV Excellent...with a DNS,

  • #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 147 Times in 67 Posts
    Rep Power
    140
    Reputation
    2940

    Default

    Also the Intel Z3537F/D MINI PC, PIPO, VOYO, and AINOL with Win8.1 and the Win8 app also excellent. bit sluggish using using Chrome or FireFox with silverlight.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to o-I-c For This Useful Post:

    LeroyPatrol (31-03-15)

  • #18
    Senior Member
    B52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    620
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 259 Times in 147 Posts
    Rep Power
    248
    Reputation
    4256

    Default

    Nowadays most devices will support Netflix... most Android boxes on ebay will do NF at 480p some at 1080p but only fully NF certified will do UHD 4k which I consider important as the 4K content increases and good NBN connectivity become more available.

    • Apple TV 4K
    • Xbox One X
    • PS4 Pro
    • Now TV 4K Smart Box
    • Nvidia Shield
    • Amazon Fire TV Stick 4K
    • Xfinity
    • Virgin
    • Chromecast Ultra
    • Xiaomi's Mi Box

  • The Following User Says Thank You to B52 For This Useful Post:

    gulliver (09-09-19)

  • #19
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    55
    Posts
    5,445
    Thanks
    222
    Thanked 3,448 Times in 1,502 Posts
    Rep Power
    1275
    Reputation
    47568

    Default

    also LG and Samsung 4k smart tvs support 4k netflix.
    the high end models also support HDR and Dolby vision via netflix.
    A lot of netflix 4k is dolby vision.



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • The Following User Says Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    gulliver (09-09-19)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •