Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: have engin voip but have trouble now with modem etc it looks like

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    newcastle nsw
    Posts
    758
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    77

    Unhappy have engin voip but have trouble now with modem etc it looks like

    hi everyone, i have an engin voicebox 3 by netgear i have 2 voip lines and 1 telstra line.my modem is a netgear with the 2 voip phone sockets and 1 pstn phone setting .2 days ago we had a minor power surge, ive been with engin for 2 years this year never had no trouble ,the trouble im having is only 1 voip line is working now and the other is dead ,also there is a loud noise in my engin line and there wernt before .also when i use my telstra phone i can hear the voip people but they cannot here me ,also on my engin line im getting a high pitched squeel through my first line of my engin voice box 3 which wasnt there before ,can anyone tell me if the modem is totalled or could there be a fix for this .the modem model is a netgear dg834gv-1 also has a 4 port router modem ,if the modem is stuffed can anyone reccomend what type of modem to get to replace this .thanks hamguy2 nsw



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    51
    Posts
    30,718
    Thanks
    2,133
    Thanked 13,049 Times in 5,587 Posts
    Rep Power
    4194
    Reputation
    151558

    Default

    Have you tried rebooting it from the menu@192.168.0.1 ?

    I am on my third unit in 12 months , the quality and reliability of these units is very disappointing compared to my old Netgear unit which hasnt missed a beat but doesnt have voip.

    You could also try a factory reset by pushing something pointy in the hole in thr back for 10 seconds or so , but remember you will have to re add your isp details and password.

    Ironically , I also have one line that keeps going down at the moment Luckily , I was able to fix my second unit as Netgear didnt want it back so I might put that one back on.

  • Similar Threads

    1. i got voip
      By quadspeed in forum VoIP
      Replies: 16
      Last Post: 28-02-08, 07:55 PM
    2. Cables Modem + Switch = Joy?
      By urban_s0ulja in forum Networking - Wireless and Cabled
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 19-01-08, 02:31 AM
    3. Replies: 0
      Last Post: 08-01-08, 12:17 PM
    4. WTB: Wirless Gateway Modem/Router
      By troyboy in forum Buy Sell and Trade
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 08-01-08, 12:42 AM

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •