Thread: Extracting data from website

Thanks
    Thanked 3,229 Times in 1,451 Posts

Default Extracting data from website

I'm wondering if anybody knows of the best or simplest way to extract data from a web site and then take that data and say send it to a serial port.
    Obviously there's a lot of applications for mining real time data from websites and using it to control various things.

An example is to look at the BOM website and look at the various weather stations looking for approaching wind gust and then controlling an external device by either
    sending values to an external microcontroller to make the decision and control the hardware or the PC making the decision and sending the immediate command to the device.
    The other thought was to reassemble the data and then send it to another third party web page.

It's not just the BOM, that's just one example. There are quite a few pages I'd like to mine real time data from.
    Yes I am an agent of Satan, but my duties are largely ceremonial.

Look Here ->
    Premium Member

Thanks
    Thanked 4,171 Times in 1,771 Posts

Interesting project, trash.

I had thought of doing much the same thing at one stage but decided to leave it for more pressing tasks at the time.

I believe that the term for monitoring such data on websites is "web scraping". See .

One way would be to write an application that examines the html code for a particular web page (web site) and to search for and list any changed variables. (The source html code for a web page can be readily examined in most popular web browsers).

All or a particular piece of data (variable) could be monitored in this way.

Out of interest, I'll compare html code for a page on the BOM website over several days to see what happens.

A quick Google for "Web-scraping software" found . It looks like possible starting point.

Thanks