Page 3 of 16 FirstFirst 12345678910111213 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 303

Thread: Humax HDR-1003S Problems thread

  1. #41
    Member Tassie Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Northern Tasmania
    Age
    84
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 246 Times in 106 Posts
    Rep Power
    166
    Reputation
    2315

    Default

    And there is something I have not got to the bottom of yet - how to quickly stop a recording. We chase play sometimes and then decide the recording is not of interest so wish to stop it and then delete it. This is a simple process on most PVRs but does not appear easy on the Humax VAST. Am I missing something as the "STOP" does not stop the recording?
    Having trouble configuring the remote to control the cat



  • #42
    Junior Member Sunshine Coast's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    89
    Reputation
    330

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tassie Devil View Post
    And there is something I have not got to the bottom of yet - how to quickly stop a recording. We chase play sometimes and then decide the recording is not of interest so wish to stop it and then delete it. This is a simple process on most PVRs but does not appear easy on the Humax VAST. Am I missing something as the "STOP" does not stop the recording?
    On the manual, page 16: Press the STOP button to stop a scheduled recording. (If you say it does not work, this is another bug).

  • #43
    Junior Member Sunshine Coast's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    89
    Reputation
    330

    Default

    Response from Humax regarding the inability to watch and record multiple channels:

    HDR-1003s has 2 turners.
    This means you can do followings;

    record 2 different channels and watch a recorded program
    Record 1 channel and watch a different channel
    Record 2 different channels and watch a sister channel of the channel you are recording

    Thus, I am sorry to let you know that you won't be record channels A and B and watch channel C.

    Thank you

    Best regards,
    Jay Lee

  • #44
    Junior Member Sunshine Coast's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    89
    Reputation
    330

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tassie Devil View Post
    Apart from this issue, how do you find it?
    Inferior to my 2 year old Panasonic terrestrial recorder, to be frank.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiny View Post
    yeah, I agree with you there, it should do something like my Austar HD twin tuner & give you a choice.

    A recording is about to start.
    1: Stop watching channel X & Tune to a recording
    2: Cancel Recording A
    3: Stop Recording B
    Funny thing is the manual says it will do that, i.e. pop up a warning that a scheduled recording is about to start and then change over. Does not do it. See page 16.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Sunshine Coast For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (10-06-13)

  • #45
    Member transit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    near Wilmot, TASMANIA
    Age
    64
    Posts
    271
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 95 Times in 58 Posts
    Rep Power
    121
    Reputation
    955

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sunshine Coast View Post
    Response from Humax regarding the inability to watch and record multiple channels:
    HDR-1003s has 2 turners.
    This means you can do followings;

    record 2 different channels and watch a recorded program
    Record 1 channel and watch a different channel
    Record 2 different channels and watch a sister channel of the channel you are recording

    Thus, I am sorry to let you know that you won't be record channels A and B and watch channel C.

    Thank you

    Best regards,
    Jay Lee
    Unless channel C is a sister channel to A or B.

  • #46
    Member Tassie Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Northern Tasmania
    Age
    84
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 246 Times in 106 Posts
    Rep Power
    166
    Reputation
    2315

    Default

    I was wrong about the Austar LNB/dish causing a problem when viewing. Looks like there is a bug in the software, something I had trouble explaining to Jay on the phone this morning although he said he would check it out.

    The problem: A program is set by the timer to record say from 8 to 8.30. At 8.10 we start to view it, i.e. chase play - look at it before the recording is finished. After 20 minutes at 8.30 the timer fires to stop the recording BUT this stops the file playing and takes viewing back to live. It is then necessary to go to the Media Play to resume play.

    I had not been chase playing for a bit so this misled me to blame the problem on the Austar connection, now obviously a red herring. The interruption does not occur if the recording has finished. I had trouble convincing Jay that this does not happen on other PVRs, or at least not on any I've owned and cannot recall it ever happened on the Humax 7500T.

    Anyone else experienced this?
    Having trouble configuring the remote to control the cat

  • #47
    Member transit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    near Wilmot, TASMANIA
    Age
    64
    Posts
    271
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 95 Times in 58 Posts
    Rep Power
    121
    Reputation
    955

    Default

    Doesn't sound too bad with such an easy work-around.

  • #48
    Junior Member Sunshine Coast's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    89
    Reputation
    330

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tassie Devil View Post
    Anyone else experienced this?
    Have not tried chase play yet.

    This unit seems to have had minimal testing.

  • #49
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 64 Times in 44 Posts
    Rep Power
    169
    Reputation
    620

    Default

    My VU+ seems to do the same thing, sometimes. If I'm watching a feed and a recording starts it will go live. Maybe something to do with the EPG and/or manual timers.

  • #50
    Member Tassie Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Northern Tasmania
    Age
    84
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 246 Times in 106 Posts
    Rep Power
    166
    Reputation
    2315

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sunshine Coast View Post
    Have not tried chase play yet.

    This unit seems to have had minimal testing.
    The terrestrial 7500T does not have the problems of this VAST unit so I guess you are right. The rotten Freeview and other restrictions imposed by Optus have generated more difficulties than envisaged. But this sort of situation is common these days. I cannot think of one PVR, the first in a series, that has been on sale without bugs. Consumers are effectively given items with beta software. Shades of many computer programs. I guess we have to expect this as, wanting the software to do so much means it is complex so unforeseen bugs are inevitable. Such is digital life these days.
    Having trouble configuring the remote to control the cat

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Tassie Devil For This Useful Post:

    Sunshine Coast (11-06-13)

  • #51
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    60
    Posts
    5,935
    Thanks
    9,886
    Thanked 4,650 Times in 2,380 Posts
    Rep Power
    1772
    Reputation
    73337

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tassie Devil View Post
    I was wrong about the Austar LNB/dish causing a problem when viewing. Looks like there is a bug in the software, something I had trouble explaining to Jay on the phone this morning although he said he would check it out.

    The problem: A program is set by the timer to record say from 8 to 8.30. At 8.10 we start to view it, i.e. chase play - look at it before the recording is finished. After 20 minutes at 8.30 the timer fires to stop the recording BUT this stops the file playing and takes viewing back to live. It is then necessary to go to the Media Play to resume play.

    I had not been chase playing for a bit so this misled me to blame the problem on the Austar connection, now obviously a red herring. The interruption does not occur if the recording has finished. I had trouble convincing Jay that this does not happen on other PVRs, or at least not on any I've owned and cannot recall it ever happened on the Humax 7500T.

    Anyone else experienced this?
    This is not good, it is a major bug in my opinion.
    Neither my Vast UEC 4121with PVR upgrade or Mystar HD box have this problem, neither did my old Sony Digital hard drive recorder.
    The UEC 4121 shows a short corner onscreen display saying Record stop or Start depending on timer settings, the Mystar box you wouldn't know except the recording light is on or off on the box depending on timers.

    I use chase play/time slip quite a bit with weekend motor racing & so it would be a pain to end up live at the end of the race while expecting to watch the beginning or middle.
    I absolutely do not want to know the result before I get there watching the whole program.
    You may say the program has finished so that wouldn't happen, however live sports events quite often run over time & so I record the next program or 3 as well to make sure I get the end, the UEC 4121 is great in this respect as when you reach the end of a recorded program it goes straight to the playback menu so you instantly select the next inline.

    Quote Originally Posted by transit View Post
    Doesn't sound too bad with such an easy work-around.
    Big problem to me see above, my easy work around if this is a common problem will be to purchase the UEC 4639 that has uninterrupted chase play/time slip.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • #52
    Junior Member Sunshine Coast's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    89
    Reputation
    330

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sunshine Coast View Post
    record 2 different channels and watch a recorded program
    Record 1 channel and watch a different channel
    Record 2 different channels and watch a sister channel of the channel you are recording

    Thus, I am sorry to let you know that you won't be record channels A and B and watch channel C.
    Unfortunately, I have just found that I get the "cannot track" error on recordings made while watching a recording. So this means I am getting this error with one tuner set to record, and simply watching a recording, the other tuner idle.

    Another error: using the Fast Forward or Fast Rewind at the basic 2x speed, I am unable to locate the end of the adverts. If you press Stop as soon as you see the end of the ads, the play starts up to a minute later.

    Really, I have to rate this unit as a 3/10. It's not ready for sale.
    Last edited by Sunshine Coast; 12-06-13 at 06:42 PM.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Sunshine Coast For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (13-06-13),toyboy11 (13-06-13)

  • #53
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    60
    Posts
    5,935
    Thanks
    9,886
    Thanked 4,650 Times in 2,380 Posts
    Rep Power
    1772
    Reputation
    73337

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sunshine Coast View Post
    Unfortunately, I have just found that I get the "cannot track" error on recordings made while watching a recording. So this means I am getting this error with one tuner set to record, and simply watching a recording, the other tuner idle.

    Another error: using the Fast Forward or Fast Rewind at the basic 2x speed, I am unable to locate the end of the adverts. If you press Stop as soon as you see the end of the ads, the play starts up to a minute later.

    Really, I have to rate this unit as a 3/10. It's not ready for sale.
    This is really making the UEC look good, we bagged the crap out of the UEC4121 for what were compared to this very minor issues.

    It will be interesting to see how long it takes Humax to admit to the problems & lack of field testing prior to release.

    Also will be interesting to see how long before Humax fix the problems & give you an updated firmware OTA.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Tiny For This Useful Post:

    toyboy11 (13-06-13)

  • #54
    Premium Member
    Smacca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,128
    Thanks
    626
    Thanked 1,024 Times in 406 Posts
    Rep Power
    412
    Reputation
    11547

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiny View Post
    This is really making the UEC look good, we bagged the crap out of the UEC4121 for what were compared to this very minor issues.

    It will be interesting to see how long it takes Humax to admit to the problems & lack of field testing prior to release.
    I reckon. If you ask me, the UEC 4121 field trials were very successful. There were hundreds of suggestions and bugs brought to UEC's attention all at the cost of a dozen or so boxes. Should be a necessity for manufacturers given the strict nature of VAST certification.

    | www.SatTVGuide.com.au |

    Volunteer, non-profit online TV guides for VAST viewers.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Smacca For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (21-06-13),toyboy11 (13-06-13)

  • #55
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts
    Rep Power
    133
    Reputation
    155

    Default

    This is really making the UEC look good, we bagged the crap out of the UEC4121 for what were compared to this very minor issues.
    Yes "minor issues" like an inferior power supply that had massive failure rates. Most of the issues people are complaining about are PVR or Freeview restriction issues, the basic 4121 was not a PVR and had all sorts of problems when it was released. It had one of the largest warranty return rates of any Satellite Receiver in Australia. Version 1.0 of any product will have some bugs, we should judge Humax on how quickly they are prepared to fix any software issues.


    As for recording of 2 channels and watching a third, it is better to explain it like this:

    You can record 2 channels (A,B) and record a 3rd (C) if the the 3rd channel shares the same TP (Frequency) as either A or B. In the 3 WA VAST bouquets, the 12369V TP has ALL the commercial channels on it, so 90% of the time this will be possible. Exactly the same as the 4639 or any Twin Tuner Satellite Receiver.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to therealyuriboy For This Useful Post:

    dixons (15-06-13)

  • #56
    Premium Member
    Smacca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,128
    Thanks
    626
    Thanked 1,024 Times in 406 Posts
    Rep Power
    412
    Reputation
    11547

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by therealyuriboy View Post
    You can record 2 channels (A,B) and record a 3rd (C) if the the 3rd channel shares the same TP (Frequency) as either A or B. In the 3 WA VAST bouquets, the 12369V TP has ALL the commercial channels on it, so 90% of the time this will be possible. Exactly the same as the 4639 or any Twin Tuner Satellite Receiver.
    It gets a bit more complicated with the Remote Central & Eastern commercial channels. Especially with 7mate Central being on a separate transponder to SCTV Central and 7TWO Central.

    I think a list is needed to make it easier for the hardcore recorders out there. Might knock one up now.

    | www.SatTVGuide.com.au |

    Volunteer, non-profit online TV guides for VAST viewers.

  • The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Smacca For This Useful Post:

    maudandken (16-06-13),mtv (17-06-13),OSIRUS (17-06-13),therealyuriboy (15-06-13)

  • #57
    Junior Member Sunshine Coast's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    89
    Reputation
    330

    Default

    So, here is how the "cannot track" error occurs.



    Notice how the unit is not recording as instructed. This will end up with the error I have shown above.

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Sunshine Coast For This Useful Post:

    mtv (17-06-13),OSIRUS (17-06-13),Tiny (17-06-13)

  • #58
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    60
    Posts
    5,935
    Thanks
    9,886
    Thanked 4,650 Times in 2,380 Posts
    Rep Power
    1772
    Reputation
    73337

    Default

    Hi Sunshine Coast, have you been in touch with Humax about this for an explanation of why their twin tuner PVR has trouble recording one program?
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • #59
    Junior Member Sunshine Coast's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 29 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    89
    Reputation
    330

    Default

    No, the unit belongs to the landlord who has kindly allowed us to use it from new before she moves in here herself. I won't have this unit for long. I suspect firmware updates will sort most of the problems out eventually.

  • #60
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,935
    Thanks
    5,245
    Thanked 11,638 Times in 5,738 Posts
    Rep Power
    4108
    Reputation
    168451

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sunshine Coast View Post
    ...I suspect firmware updates will sort most of the problems out eventually.
    Quite likely, but with each firmware update, Optus gets a $20K fee to re-accredit the box, you'd think Humax would have thoroughly tested functions before release.

    To their credit, UEC did extensive lab and field tests before releasing any firmware, but like any new design, we expect some teething problems.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    OSIRUS (17-06-13),Tiny (17-06-13)

  • Page 3 of 16 FirstFirst 12345678910111213 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •