Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: inherited a solution alarm system - is it safe to default?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default inherited a solution alarm system - is it safe to default?

    I have moved homes, and have inherited an EDM Solution 8 alarm system. I want to edit some of the zone settings (for "STAY" mode), and perhaps add another sensor.

    Unfortunately I do not have the installer code. I had a look at the box, and there is a default jumper on the circuit board. Is it safe to use it?

    I would assume the procedure would be to disconnect the mains/battery, place a jumper over the pins, and then reconnect the mains for a few seconds. Am I correct that this will reset the installer code to 1234 and user code to 2580?

    I understand I would have to reprogram all the zones; I do have the installer manual, and it seems straightforward to do from the keypad. I also have the Alink software (but no direct link cable). Does anyone know where I could get the cable?

    Finally, the zone configurations in location 164-195 have an option to be "isolated in home mode". Assuming it is safe to default the system, does isolate mean that the corresponding sensor is ignored when i use "STAY" or home mode?

    Thanks in advance!



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    44
    Posts
    211
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Sounds like a tech in the making

    You dont need the cable, set it up fromt he codepad should take about 1 to 2 mins, 5 max or your going to have to get a tech in..

    Maybe try 1234 and see if that gets you anywhere, without defaulting?


    It cant hurt anything to default and reprogram it as long as your satisfied to test the system,

    Good luck.

  • #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Security-Tech View Post
    Sounds like a tech in the making

    You dont need the cable, set it up fromt he codepad should take about 1 to 2 mins, 5 max or your going to have to get a tech in..

    Maybe try 1234 and see if that gets you anywhere, without defaulting?


    It cant hurt anything to default and reprogram it as long as your satisfied to test the system,

    Good luck.
    Thanks - I tried the 1234 installer code, but it has been changed. I'll have a go using the default jumper, and hopefully that will reset everything to factory. I guess the worst I can do is screw the system up, and then have to ask the tech to come in and change my zones.

    Re: the direct link cable - I thought of trying to work out the pinouts, it probably is just Tx and Rx on two of the pins, with the rest ground. But I guess it's easy enough to try using the keypad IF I can successfully reset the system to default.

    Would I be correct in thinking that programming a sensor to "isolate whilst home" means it's ignored when I set it to STAY mode?

  • #4
    Banned
    watchdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,966
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 869 Times in 514 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    8320

    Default

    that would be correct

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by watchdog View Post
    that would be correct
    Thank you. I have reset the system to default, and successfully reprogrammed all the zones. The other threads about EDM/Bosch Solution alarm systems have been very helpful.

    Would setting the "siren" zone to 24 hour monitoring (as I have done for the reed switch for zone 8 = panel) be the correct way to go?

    On a completely different note, I have successfully programmed the domestic dialing to work over VOIP. I couldn't do this previously, but I changed the default dialing format from "Australian Decadic" to "Australian DTMF", Handshake tone to "No Handshake Requested" and Transmission format to "Domestic" and my VOIP phone calls my mobile when the alarm goes off.

    I thought early 90s alarm systems wouldn't work with VOIP, but this one does. (And before anyone points out that VOIP is no substitute to using PTSN, it's still better than having no dialer, especially when you only have Naked ADSL and no traditional phone line).

  • #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sydney :P~~~
    Posts
    1,051
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 74 Times in 54 Posts
    Rep Power
    187
    Reputation
    657

    Default

    Awesome

    Personally i dont use 24 hour audible tamper's, but for a local system should be ok

  • #7
    Senior Member
    intelliGEORGE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sydney, AUSTRALIA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,106
    Thanks
    884
    Thanked 1,484 Times in 691 Posts
    Rep Power
    419
    Reputation
    7236

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by keef82 View Post
    Awesome

    Personally i dont use 24 hour audible tamper's
    LOL. I rest my case.

  • #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    44
    Posts
    211
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Unless it has SWINGER shut down, (cuts off siren after so many activations)

    Break glass's (GB's most people call them) are the best in the middle of the day when some fool programmed it to be active during b/h's and staff drop a glass.

    Can I ask who your vOip providor is, we use faktortel at work and they are the best 9c calls flat rate..
    We have a epigy pbx which also works well,
    Intersting, Ill give the vOip a test one day soon, Just didnt trust the relability unless you have a decent ups on everything and...

    good feedback, glad to help a simple soul..

  • #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sydney :P~~~
    Posts
    1,051
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 74 Times in 54 Posts
    Rep Power
    187
    Reputation
    657

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by intelliGEORGE View Post
    LOL. I rest my case.
    Rest what case ?

    How about i repeat what i said in a different manner.

    I don't programme panel's with audible tampers if they are back to base.
    If they are local, i programme audible.

    Who are you to mock / ridicule me because of the way i programme my panels ?

  • #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Security-Tech View Post
    Can I ask who your vOip providor is, we use faktortel at work and they are the best 9c calls flat rate..
    We have a epigy pbx which also works well,
    Intersting, Ill give the vOip a test one day soon, Just didnt trust the relability unless you have a decent ups on everything and...

    good feedback, glad to help a simple soul..
    I am with Internode for Naked ADSL2+, and using their Nodephone product for VOIP. I do not have a PTSN. I was told that the system wouldn't work with a VOIP phone by the alarm company, but I have gotten it to dial my mobile. Maybe they meant it won't transmit the proper codes down the line to a monitoring company. My modem is a Billion 7404. I can even fax over the VOIP line, as it supports T.38 Fax Relay mode (limited to 14.4k).

    I know it's not a reliable monitoring setup, as I don't have a UPS. I just want the system to call my mobile, as I'm probably more likely to have a false alarm, and need to turn the car around and turn the alarm off, than a burglar come in the home. I set the alarm to only ring for 5 mins - there's nothing more annoying than being away for the weekend and the neighbours having to put up with an alarm going all night!

  • #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    44
    Posts
    211
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by keef82 View Post
    Rest what case ?
    How about i repeat what i said in a different manner.
    I don't programme panel's with audible tampers if they are back to base.
    If they are local, i programme audible.
    Who are you to mock / ridicule me because of the way i programme my panels ?
    Hey bro, have you taken that pill ye?? You need to, have 3 and drink plenty of water

    I think you need a holiday, its getting to you, and it shows

  • #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    141
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Whats getting to him I think is the attitude of some people on this forum.

    There are a handfull of decent guys on here that dont seem to contribute much anymore.

    Everytime advice or opinion is given you have to face the "know it all's" trying to include you in their own personal pissing contest.

    Its a shame.

  • #13
    Senior Member bss904's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    NOT in Thailand
    Posts
    1,101
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 248 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    230
    Reputation
    2772

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redstorm View Post
    Whats getting to him I think is the attitude of some people on this forum.

    There are a handfull of decent guys on here that dont seem to contribute much anymore.

    Everytime advice or opinion is given you have to face the "know it all's" trying to include you in their own personal pissing contest.

    Its a shame.
    Well put Red.

  • #14
    Senior Member bss904's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    NOT in Thailand
    Posts
    1,101
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 248 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    230
    Reputation
    2772

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by intelliGEORGE View Post
    LOL. I rest my case.
    What case would you be resting george. please explain.

  • #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sydney :P~~~
    Posts
    1,051
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 74 Times in 54 Posts
    Rep Power
    187
    Reputation
    657

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redstorm View Post
    Whats getting to him I think is the attitude of some people on this forum.

    There are a handfull of decent guys on here that dont seem to contribute much anymore.

    Everytime advice or opinion is given you have to face the "know it all's" trying to include you in their own personal pissing contest.

    Its a shame.
    Mate, i could not have worded it better myself. Thankyou.

  • #16
    Senior Member bss904's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    NOT in Thailand
    Posts
    1,101
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 248 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    230
    Reputation
    2772

    Default

    I think the silence says it all. Just another one trying to write his name in the sand.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •